Start reading Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower? on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower?: A Treasury of Unbearable Office Jargon
 
 

Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower?: A Treasury of Unbearable Office Jargon [Kindle Edition]

Steven Poole
4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £8.99
Kindle Price: £3.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £5.00 (56%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.99  
Hardcover £8.69  
Paperback £8.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: Up to 70% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Book Description

A hilarious compendium, for fans of The Office and Eats, Shoots and Leaves, that rails against something that drives us all utterly mad: office jargon.

Product Description

Do you hate going forward? Do you shudder when a colleague wants to reach out? Are you disgusted by low-hanging fruit, sick of being on the team, and reluctant to open the kimono?

Does the phrase blue-sky thinking make you see red?

Do you really want to drill down or take a helicopter view?

Are you past caring whether the key drivers are going to move the needle? Should anyone really punch a puppy?

And can you bear to hear about a big hairy audacious goal?

If modern office jargon makes you want to throw up, this book is for you. Taking a hilarious and scathing deep dive into the most hated and absurd examples of corporate-speak it is a come to Jesus moment for verbally downtrodden workers everywhere.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 580 KB
  • Print Length: 224 pages
  • Publisher: Sceptre (31 Oct 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444781847
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444781847
  • ASIN: B00DS9G0X6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (32 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #39,753 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Steven Poole is the author of Unspeak, Trigger Happy, and You Aren't What You Eat. He was born in London, and writes for various publications including the Guardian, the New Statesman, the Times Literary Supplement, and Edge. More information at http://stevenpoole.net

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
By Red on Black TOP 50 REVIEWER VINE VOICE
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Steven Poole has performed a valuable function here. Ever since the invention of "bullsxxt bingo" there has been encouraging signs of a fight back against the utterly nonsensical language spoken by modern managers who make David Brent look like an intellectual giant. Your reviewer was once genuinely told by a senior colleague to "bottom out your thinking, and get those ideas up on the table and run with them". Having pointed out that this could be physically dangerous he muttered something about "inherent black thought negativity". What is surprising is how normally intelligent people think that spouting this verbal diarrhoea somehow makes them more sophisticated and managerially "cutting edge". Stephen Poole takes a very big needle and bursts this bubble in this humorous book "Who Touched Base in my Thought Shower?: A Treasury of Unbearable Office Jargon". It is essentially a trove of the spirit sapping indignities of modern office life and its stultifying vocabulary. Indeed the growing problem is that this type of language is starting to seep out of the office into everyday life with phrases from the pseudoscience of management theory littering broadcasting, charity funding and even sport. Ironically much of the source material for this guff is picked from these settings in the first place particularly the military. Thus " Strategy", "on my radar" and , "push the envelope". Others like "close of play" or the increasingly used "Deep Dive" are taken from sport where of course they specific meaning that made sense in that context. Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious 9 May 2014
By CJman
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I spent 25 years working as a manager in one of the larger companies in the UK and as I got older I became increasingly irritated by people who felt compelled to use the latest buzz words or jargon without actually making sense. As time went on I found myself playing conference lingo bingo instead of 'getting on message'. If you find people who are always on a 'journey' 'going forward' incredibly annoying you'll love this compendium of management bollocks.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally I understand my work mates 2 Feb 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I love this book and keep it in my desk drawer to have it at hand.
Helps me to understand better my work mates who believe that using plenty of jargon makes them sound more professional.
For me the effect is opposite.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well, more accurately my boss loved it 25 Jan 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
A present for the office Secret Santa that went down a treat - my manager kept asking everyone who got it for her until they told her, apparently she loved it! One for people who use office jargon and have a sense of humour about it :D
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Raised a smile 10 Dec 2013
By Craig
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Not laugh out loud funny but certainly raises a smile especially when your manager next speaks or sends an email!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Most Amusing 2 Sep 2014
Format:Paperback
This book is for all those who have had to sit through a meeting where some management whizz kid is spouting forth the latest acronyms and buzz words and not only do you have no idea what he is talking about, but you are not sure if he is even referring the the same things that you are.

Poole has taken the brave step of listing these words, and trying to make some sense of their meaning, which frankly in some cases there isn't any sense behind them. A number of them are borrowed from military vernacular, and as you can imagine make the transfer to the language of a middle ranking executive dealing with stationary...

He has written it with a healthy dollop of cynicism, and really does not hold back on the sarcasm either! There are some laugh out loud moments too.

Next time a road warrior gives you a cold eye view and asks you to hit the ground running you might, just might, know what he is talking about.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Therapy 20 Feb 2014
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Actually seems quite well researched as well as funny (alarming how long some of these words have been in circulation).
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book has brightened up my commute, with hilarious examples of the random things your hear at work. I've had to stop myself laughing out loud too many times whilst reading it on the train, in fear of looking mental.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Was this review helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
reminds me of why I am self-employed.
Published 6 days ago by leeson antrobus
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
A really good dictionary of office jargon, with short stories explaining the origin of the phrases, excellent and funny.
Published 6 days ago by Mazda2
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be on the Christmas list for everyone who wants ...
Should be on the Christmas list for everyone who wants to reach out to me. Usually they just get slapped!
Published 1 month ago by Jackie Lee-Mahoney
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Very funny book if you have worked in offices etc
Published 1 month ago by Robert Franklin
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
cleared up office/management waffle
Published 1 month ago by Mrs. M. S. Smith
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
A must for every office geek.
Published 2 months ago by Mikey Collings
1.0 out of 5 stars More like a dictionary
not what i thought at all, i thought it would be witty stories rather than a quick description of each daft buzz word
Published 2 months ago by Daniel McKee
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly Funny
A book that explains the Office Jargon in a both slightly factual and humerous way. It's not a book youll want to read cover-to-cover but delve in to every now and then. Read more
Published 2 months ago by Neil Willis
3.0 out of 5 stars Office jargon
Plenty of opportunity to play bull***t bingo at work, and trounce your colleagues!
Keep it by your desktop.
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Michael Broadbent
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good read
Published 3 months ago by Valerie Nicholls
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category