Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars61
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 September 2010
I've never read Jack London's book, but it's certainly on my wishlist. And after seeing this film I think I might finally get around to buying it.

Ethan Hawke plays Jack Conroy a young gold prospector in Canada/Alaska during the gold rush of the late 19th century. His story is without considerable peril and seems to take a backseat to the more intimate story of a young wolf cub who loses his mother and ventures out into the world on his own. Many people (kind, cruel and indifferent) interact and encounter the wolf before Jack adopts him as "White Fang".

The scenes of the cub hugging his dying mother are heartbreaking, and the training the filmmakers did with the animals is really impressive. A disclaimer pops up before the film begins to explain that although all the animal cruelty looks realistic is was done safely.

The scenery is wonderful, but I am puzzled as to why director Randall Kleiser didn't shoot it in anamorphic Panavision. When filming in breathtaking parts of the world it's kinda dumb to not take full advantage. The resulting picture looks a bit TV-ish. But it's a minor quibble.

Basil Poledouris' score is also great. I am convinced Hans Zimmer might have also contributed as there are a couple of tracks that have the early 90s Zimmer sound. But it's definitely Poledouris' show, and it's a shame that a definitive score CD was never released.

For those of you who love wolf, adventure and great outdoors movies, this one is a must.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2003
Perhaps not that well-known, but a really nice film- really heartwarming. Typical Disney in many ways, White Fang sets its own pace and gently eases you into what is a lovely story about a young man's adventure into the unknown. A great story, well acted, superbly shot- all in all a nice film. I'd definitely recommend it. Just be aware of some hairy dog-fights though!
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
The whole family love this film and has now watched it several times. It's a great story that is beautifully filmed although it would be too long, and perhaps too distressing, for very young children. (My children are aged 9 and 13).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2010
Ethan Hawke plays a teenager in search of making it rich in the gold area of Alaska in the 1800's following the death of his father. Two stories run parallel here, one of Ethan (gold seachcer) and one of White Fang (an alskian half wolf half husky dog). Where cleverly their paths constanly cross, and yet drift apart as quickly, and yet despite it all they finally are united, where the dog proves the boundries between man and beast are really crossable, where loyalty and devotion are second to none. Great little film for all the family that will really play on the heart strings. Great scenery, plots and the dog is just amazing.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2004
I remember watching cartoons of White Fang when I was a little younger and when this film came out I couldn't wait to see it. Remember Lassie? Well if you liked that, I can gurantee you will like this film, especially if you have the seen the cartoons. This is a typical family film based around a boys love of a very tame White Wolf. This film has it all, action, adventure and emotion.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2016
Very entertaining film. The young hero was a fine model for youth to follow. The sound quality and technology of the film was excellent. The photography was wonderful. The film had a interesting storyline. I was satisfied enough to research the web on the life of Jack London on Wikipedia.
I gathered that Jack London excelled in his short story writing and was master of this genre. He was a vital man who loved adventure and
nature and this is reflected in his work. He said of his lifestyle that he would "rather be ashes than dust".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
THIS FILM IS THE BEST ANIMAL FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN, ALTHOUGH SOME OF
THE FILM CONTAINS A FEW DOG FIGHTS, THAT IF YOU ARE A DOG LOVER YOU
WOULD CRINGE AT THE SIGHT OF DOG'S GETTING RIPPED AND SLASHED, IT ONLY
GOES ON FOR A FEW MINUITES, THEN YOU SEE THE REST OF THE FILM, I LIKED
THE SHOW OF LOVE AND AFFECTION BETWEEN THE MAN AND THE DOG, IT WAS WELL
WORTH WATCHING, FOR THE WHOLE FAMILY.......
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
We have had the fortunate experience of travelling in Alaska and also following the old Gold rush trail in a look alike old train up to White Pass. Seeing the journey these men had to take with their pack horses, mules and provisions will remain with us always. Therefore this film reminds us of the fantastic scenery we saw from Fairbanks down to Anchorage. I can't wait to show it to our grandchildren for whom we have bought all the other DVD's which they have enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
White Fang is a 1991 American adventure film directed by Randal Kleiser, starring Ethan Hawke, Klaus Maria Brandauer and Seymour Cassel. Based on Jack London's novel White Fang, it tells the story of the friendship between a Yukon gold hunter and a wolfdog.

White Fang is portrayed by a wolfdog, Jed, who also appeared in such films as The Thing (1982) and The Journey of Natty Gann (
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
White Fang was on the tv a couple of months ago and this made me buy the dvd as i only saw half the movie. The reason i give four stars is due to the dog fight in film but it doesnt last to long but may upset some. The film is shot beautifully and Ethan hawke is very good as the young man who searches for gold and adores white fang, A Really enjoyable classic for young and old.worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)