or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
I’d like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

White Coat [Paperback]

Ellen Lerner Rothman
3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
RRP: £9.03
Price: £8.53 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10. Details
You Save: £0.50 (6%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Saturday, 20 Sep.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback £8.53  

Book Description

July 2000
"White Coat" is Dr. Ellen Lerner Rothman's vivid account of her four years at Harvard Medical School. Describing the grueling hours and emotional hurdles she underwent to earn the degree of M.D., Dr. Rothman tells the story of one woman's transformation from a terrified first-year medical studen into a confident, competent doctor. Touching on the most relevant issues in medicine today--such as HMOs, aIDS, and assisted suicide--Dr. Rothman recounts her despair and exhilaration as a medical student, from the stress of exams to th hard-won rewards that came from treating patients. The anecdotes in "White Coat" are funny, heartbreaking, and at times horrifying. Each chapter taes us deeper into Dr. Rothman's medical school experience, illuminating her struggle to walk the line between too much and not enough intimacy with her patients. For readers of Perri Klass and Richard Selzer, Dr. Rothman looks candidly at medicine and presents an unvarnished perspective on a subject that matters to us all. "White Coat" opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor in a book that will change the way we look at our medical establishment.In "White Coat," Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives. With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range ofexperiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat. For readers of Perri Klass, Richard Selzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world. In "White Coat," Ellen Rothman offers a vivid account of her four years at one of the best medical schools in the country, and opens the infamously closed door between patient and doctor. Touching on today's most important medical issues -- such as HMOs, AIDS, and assisted suicide -- the author navigates her way through despair, exhilaration, and a lot of exhaustion in Harvard's classrooms and Boston's hospitals to earn the indisputable title to which we entrust our lives. With a thoughtful, candid voice, Rothman writes about a wide range of experiences -- from a dream about holding the hand of a cadaver she had dissected to the acute embarrassment she felt when asking patients about their sexual histories. She shares her horror at treating a patient with a flesh-eating skin infection, the anxiety of being "pimped" by doctors for information (when doctors quiz students on anatomy and medicine), as well as the ultimate reward of making the transformation and of earning a doctor's white coat. For readers of Perri Klass, RichardSelzer, and the millions of fans of "ER," "White Coat" is a fascinating account of one woman's journey through school and into the high-stakes drama of the medical world.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; Second Printing edition (July 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0688175899
  • ISBN-13: 978-0688175894
  • Product Dimensions: 2.1 x 13.1 x 19.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,619,046 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
You'll never ever guess what I did," Roy said over the phone. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so so 2 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
The first few chapters of this book left me wondering how Lerner Rothman ever got the go-ahead to write this book; her writing is distractingly poor. Double adjectives, often redundant, litter her narrative. When she's not over-explaining, she's vague and uses constructions so convoluted I had to read them several times to understand them. But she seems to warm up to the task as she moves through her studies, and I found myself warming up to her. Still, she's so PC, she leaves out a lot--ask anyone who's been to Harvard about the dramatic egotists who call themselves healers there. Also, having worked in hospitals for years, I'd have to say that if she thought watching ER was giving her a taste for the real thing, she's wrong. I can list at least 20 descrepancies between what ER, the tv show and ERs in real life. That doctors and EDs behave as in real life as they do on ER is WISHFUL thinking. Looking forward to Ellen growing up a little, and also hearing about the proving ground of her residency.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
This was a realistic, well told account and for the most part I enjoyed reading it. However, it really bothered me that there was an entire chapter about the television show, ER, and a little review blurb from an ER producer on the back cover! This is shameless hype and it doesn't belong in a good book like this. Is there no end to the media hype for ER, a soap opera that's now 99% romance and 1% medicine? That said, this is a good, honest book and I recommend it. Also, Perri Klass's books are wonderful and if you like this kind of book, you shouldn't miss them.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear account 15 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
I have been following Dr. Rothman's column "on becoming a doctor," in the Harvard newsletter for the last two years; the book is essentially a collection of those columns, which gives some sense of disjointedness. However, her story is true to what most medical students go through -- ER and pop culture influences high school and college students to go into medicine; her maturation from this viewpoint is clear. Good read and accurate account of med education.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading for every Med-Student 13 April 1999
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
I started reading this book merely to get an account of the life of an American Med-student. <I'm an Irish Med-student>. After five minutes of reading I had an eerie feeling that I had written this book. Lerner manages to eloquently portray every hope, dream, fear and anxiety I as a Med- student have ever experienced. This book is a bible for Med students everywhere and for anyone who has ever wondered about the foreign world of medicine. An amazing read!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining! 12 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
This is a great book for someone who is interested in med school and wants to hear about it from someone who just finished. Rothman seems frank about the medical profession and med school. I suggest to anyone with a curiosity in this career to read this book. It easily held my attention, and I look forward to her next book.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback