Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2013
The first 20 minutes of this film are as good an opening to any film as I've seen. The basketball skills and particularly the banter are first-rate. Woody Harrelson and Wesley Snipes just hit it off brilliantly and the verbal sparring beats even the basketball match-ups.

I find the film slows down whenever Rosie Perez is on - nothing against her, but it's a basketball film so that's where the action is.

2 other main sections which make the film worth watching are the one-on-one tournament and the back-lot single shot required to earn the missus a place on her show: "You get the Sudan! And a hook shot!" "Can I use my right arm?!" Excellent!

Ultimately, Harrelson's character is flawed and is hugely frustrating to watch when not playing basketball, and the slam-dunk episode makes you shout at the screen with annoyance, but the action on the court is great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 February 2004
Back in '92, people were well into basketball, I remember back then, in school, the game of choice was basketball, and everyone wanted to be picked to play. So when I saw Woody Harrelson and Wesley Snipes were doing a basketball movie, I was scared it would be one of those boring films about a young white man trying to fight his way into a school league, and Wesley is the only one to see his potential; but when I actually saw it, it was better than any other basketball movie I had seen.
Basically Woody Harrelson is Billy, a young kid from Louisiana hustling for cash in any basketball court in the US. His girlfriend - Gloria is obsessed with being on Jepady, and does everything to learn all the questions and answers she could possibly fit into her head. The couple go to the west coast, to LA, where Billy meets Sidney, a young basketball pro who just is unstoppable. Billy and Sid get on relitively well, and decide joining forces is a good idea. Sidney has other plans, and this is where Billy falls down.
This is a great movie, Woody Harrelson is very funny, and so is Wesley Snipes. I can now see why the director of Money Train cast these two together, they work well as a team. The music is typical of the scene and the filming is good, specially the action scenes, it's like being on the court watching them play.
Better than I thought it would be, probably one of the funniest movies I have re-watched lately, and the best basketball movie ever.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
The fact is, it's the best-illest-sickest-streetball film made. Amazing plot, amazing acting. But the fact is, the best thing about this film is the fact that basketball is life for the two main characters. Sidney Deeen is "oh so prettay" and Billy, Billy Hoyle is the man with a sweet J. The dunk at the end still sends chills down my spine.Get this film if you have ball in your heart. And think about getting Above the Rim also.
I thankyou.
MD33
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 February 2014
After Billy Hoyle hustles Sidney Deane on the basketball court, Deane offers Billy a proposition about teaming up to hustle the courts of Los Angeles. They are a great team, they are in fact wonderful players, but egos and greed are sure to become a problem, oh and Billy has some rather unsavoury characters after him to return a debt he owes. Can the boys resolve their differences? Can they keep their devoted women happy? All will be revealed in White Men Can't Jump.

White Men Can't Jump is a fine sports movie, offering up more than just a basic sport heart, it's funny, sly and really a rather effective piece of drama. The basketball scenes are very well handled by director Ron Shelton, with slow motion spins and beady drips of sweat glistening in the heat, and the chemistry between Woody Harrelson (Billy) and Wesley Snipes (Sidney) is first class, but really it's the power of Shelton's writing that makes this a most engaging picture (see also Bull Durham & the similarly undervalued Tin Cup).

After following these two guys thru their very rocky relationship you get to a point where you feel that we are about to wander down formula road, but Shelton pulls a trick to make the final last quarter an excellent, none conformity piece of film, one that judging by the less than favourable rating on this particular site, has not been wholly appreciated. Shame that, because other than Rosie Perez doing her best to annoy the viewers to death as Billy's suffering girlfriend Gloria Clemente, White Men Can't Jump is one of the better sports movies of the 90s. 7.5/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
woody at his best as always follow woody and snipes on their basket ball journey to find out if white men can actually jump? fun film for the would family. would recommend to all fans of sports films.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2000
What can I say?
Fantastic sports camera work, the best put-down in hollywood's history ("Your mother's an astronaut") and great comedy sequences from Snipes, Harrelson and co.
A must see film.
Add extra star if you're into basketball.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2000
This has got to be one of my favourite films ever! I've seen it over 10 times and it's still as good as the first time I saw it. If you like basketball and you like comedy you must see this film. In fact if you'd like to see a good film watch it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
It's a great film and there is a racial truism at work here too which is quite refreshing. Wesley Snipes and Woody Harrelson play the two guys who buddy up to sweep the basketball courts with their vivre and showmanship. There is drama, and a warm fraternal bond between the two as they try to cure their lives of ills.

Written and directed by Ron Shelton it's a great film, when there was more possibility in the world
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2014
I watched this movie countless times when I was younger but putting it on to watch the other night I was worried that it may ruin it for me. I shouldn't have worried. It's still as good today as it was when it was released. The chemistry between Snipes and Harrelson is excellent and there is plenty of laughs in this movie. Really glad I decided to watch this movie again. Great action comedy the way only the eighties could do it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Watched this when I was 12 years old (14 years ago) and still remember it to this day hense my resent purchase of it. they say you never forget a good film. This is certainly one. Recommend to all ages. Snipes and harrelson are quite the team. They are brilliant together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.00

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)