Where's Spot? (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
£4.79
  • RRP: £5.99
  • You Save: £1.20 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Where's Spot? (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) Board book – 7 May 2009


See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Board book
"Please retry"
£4.79
£1.99 £0.01

Children's Gift Guide


Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

Where's Spot? (Spot - Original Lift The Flap) + Dear Zoo + The Very Hungry Caterpillar [Board Book]
Price For All Three: £14.03

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Board book: 24 pages
  • Publisher: Warne (7 May 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0723263663
  • ISBN-13: 978-0723263661
  • Product Dimensions: 15.3 x 1.6 x 16.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (155 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 331 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Born in 1927, Eric Hill is the creator of Spot, 'the world's favourite puppy'. At 16 he joined an art studio, where he was encouraged to draw cartoons in his spare time. He particularly enjoyed drawing aircraft, and it was the markings of planes that later came to influence the design of Spot, reflected in the spots on his body and the tip of his tail. Eric also spent time in the air force, and worked in a large advertising agency as a graphic designer. In 1976 Eric's son Christopher was born and by the time he was two, Eric was making up stories about the adventures of a small puppy to read to him at bedtime and Spot was born!

The design of the books was inspired by an advertising flyer Eric had devised involving a flap covering an amusing picture. When Eric showed this to Christopher he saw how responsive he was to the idea and incorporated it into his book. Although initially created just as a story to please his son, Where's Spot? was actually published as a children's book in 1980 and started a new publishing concept of 'interactive books for babies'.

Eric Hill was awarded an OBE for services to Children's Literature in 2008.

Product Description

Review

No childhood is complete without at least one Spot book on the bookshelf (The Sun online 20091203)

This simple but charming little tale which inspired a new genre of lift-the-flap novelty books... this anniversary edition, with a shiny foil cover, should find its way on to every bookcase. (Sally Morris Daily Mail 20100115)

Here is the original story, but this time Spot hides behind flaps for your baby to lift. A great read. (Mother & Baby )

Here is the original story, but this time Spot hides behind flaps for your baby to lift. A great read. (Mother & Baby 20100201)

[This] unassuming little scamp has padded his way into the affections of toddlers worldwide... His universal appeal is the same: he's innocent, inquisitive and so darn cute. (Junior 20100201) --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Eric Hill (1927-2014) was born in North London and lived there for many years. He started his artistic career as an art studio messenger and from there went on to become a cartoonist and eventually an art director at a leading advertising agency. In 1978 Eric made up a story about a small puppy to read to his son at bedtime and Spot was born. The success of his first bestselling lift-the-flap classic Where's Spot? in 1980 convinced him to become a full-time author, and his Spot books have been enjoyed by children around the world ever since. In 2008 he was awarded an OBE for services to children's literacy.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Sérgio Pinheiro Marques on 3 Dec 2008
Format: Hardcover
I bought this book last year and I loved it! It's dinner time and Spot's mum is trying to find "naughty Spot", so she starts searching for him around the house... in the clock, in the piano, under the rug; every time she opens a door (i.e., every time you flip a flap), a strange guess is there to say 'No', Spot is not there... It's great in case you're teaching household objects and prepositions! Highly recommended!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on 5 Jun 2001
Format: Hardcover
My two toddlers absolutely adore this book. The large flaps are especially suitable for a 2 year olds grubby little fingers. The bright colours and interactive elements of Sally's search for Spot are especially attractive. My particular 2 year old sits on the floor turning the pages on her own and laughing with delight. I highly recommend this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful By Cedric Bethwick-Swenton on 3 Oct 2014
Format: Board book
‘Where is Spot’ is one of the 20th century’s great post-structuralist texts, and essential reading for undergrads and critics alike. To give this text the treatment it deserves, it’s necessary to wade through the many thousands of papers that have been published on it since Hill first burst onto the literary scene in 1980, and peel the text back to its most basic (and profound) elements.

Let us begin by asking ourselves, can Spot ever be found? This is really the core question of Hill’s seminal work. Following in the tradition of Derrida, Lacan and Boudrillard, Hill is a provocateur, and the very title of this book is a challenge. How can we ‘spot’ Spot, when the act of perceiving cannot ever be perceived?

Ultimately, by asking ‘Where is Spot?’, Hill is asking us to question whether meaning itself can ever truly be grasped, whether our hunger for symbols can ever be sated, or whether we are destined, like Spot’s mother, to search through a linguistic maze of our own making until we die.

Let’s look for a moment at how her doomed quest for meaning begins: “Naughty Spot! It’s dinner time. Where can he be?” Here Hill almost catches us unwary, tempting us to dive immediately into the hypnosis of categorisation that lies beneath the surface of all narrative. But at the same time he is urging us to hold back, to wait before we answer. Where is Spot? We do not know, and perhaps we never will.

“Dinner time” is an unmistakeable reference to desire in the Foucauldian sense. The unwary reader wishes to gorge themselves on meaning, and it is this blind desire which ultimately leads Spot’s mother on her futile quest.

“Is he under the stairs?” she asks. Is he indeed. Spot may well be under the stairs, hidden beneath this clear symbol of hierarchy.
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Swirlie on 29 July 2010
Format: Board book
Purchased for my little nephew who loves books. This is the traditional Spot Story that I remember from when I was a kid. It's the original lift the flap design and would be great if updated to the newer Look and Feel books! It's a good book as there is a story-line. Good book and has been read and re-read many times! Hard to find in the hardback version in Bookshops so many thanks Amazon!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By The Fiend Next Door on 10 Dec 2010
Format: Board book Verified Purchase
The perfect story for tots - our 1 year old is enthralled and loves the flaps. Just the right length, colourful illustrations and a joyous ending - a childhood must-have.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A Reader on 29 Dec 2006
Format: Hardcover
A neat book with good illustrations of flaps that are easy for a toddlers fingers to grasp make for an entertaining book my my little one: it's one of her favourite books. It is a fun "read" and helps the child to learn the names of the animals and spot's mum searches for him. I shall be getting more in the series.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Joanna on 22 May 2010
Format: Board book
My daughter had a copy of this book when she was little and loved it, so I bought this boardbook copy for my grandson. He loves it, just like his mummy!
He likes lifting the flaps and the book is one of his favourites - still a winner with the next generation.
This particular copy is a good size, very colourful and a must for the nursery bookshelf!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By S. Roberts on 6 May 2010
Format: Hardcover
This is a lovely edition of the old favourite. The type is clear and ideal for a learner reader and the thicker paper pages are easier for turning without fear of tears or creases. Lift-the-flap books are always popular in this house and with Spot involved "guess who's behind this door" games are extra fun. This edition is likely to live on the bookcase far longer than others might have done.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback