Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars17
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2005
If this review sounds slightly biased I apologise but please bear in mind that TBS are my favourite band and this is their best album.
I LOVE this album. I've owned the album for a few months now and can't remember a time when I didn't know all the words. There is not a bum note on the whole album. Both the singles, "The Photograph Is Proof" and "A Decade Under The Influence" are strong examples of the quality present on this album and if you've seen them on Scuzz or Kerrang you'll know what to expect.
The quality of the singles is high but there is not a single track of filler on this album. "New American Classic" is amazingly heartfelt and has much more meaning now I've seen their live show in Nottingham in which lead singer Adam Lazzara mimics removing a ring from his finger (read into that what you will). "Bonus Mosh Part: 2" was very well done at the Reading festival in 2004 and proudly sits atop of my Media Player with most plays. All in all this album confirms TBS' status as one of the future heavyweights of this form of rock along with other bands like Lostprophets and Finch. Can't wait for album number 3.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2004
Whenever a band goes through a major line up change as Taking Back Sunday did they are never going to come out the same, John was an integral part of Tell All Your Friends and the Taking Back Sunday of old and the loss of Shaun as well will have had a less immediate but still equally important impact. People should never expect this to be a continuation more a start of a new chapter.
From the reviews i have read i am of the opinion that people have listened to this CD once and then reviewed it. This is important as where as Tell All Yuor Friends was immediate and instantly lodged itself firmly in your favourite album list this record grows on you the more you listen to it. This is a more melodic Taking Back Sunday one that doesn't ram Hardcore hooks into you but lets the music flow with the melody and let the songs enchant you through melodies. I believe that this is due to the loss of John, the dual vocal attack added impact and emotion to the sound of old and the vocal impact of Fred is considerably less. But the songs here only slightly weaker than those on TAYF and there are classics with in "a decade under the influence" and "bonus mosh pt.II".
I urge people to purchase this album because it is simply fantastic if you give it the time and don't expect it to be a continuation of Tell All Your Friends. I admittedly prefer TAYF and it is still my favourite record but this is a classic album one that is less hardcore and more melodic. If you give it time it is a purchase you won't regret.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2004
Okay, I just recieved this album today and I have listened to it twice. At this stage I can confirm that this album is not going to surprise you as much as 'Tell All Your Friends', but that isn't neccessarily a bad thing - this album is very, very similar to 'Tell All Your Friends'. Perhaps after a few more listens I'll be able to come to a more specific conclusion. Basically, it's good - but not dissimilar to TAYF.
Key track - Bonus Mosh Pt II
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2004
On first listen...i wasn't amazed, but as Tell All Your Friends did, it grew on me, and i've grown to love it. You really can't compare this to TAYF, its different. which i think is a good thing, its a new album..not a continuation. Its more 'cute without the E' than 'no I in team', yet still retains some of the emotional intensity of the last album. the lyrics and song styles are still unmistakebly tbs.
Songs like 'photograph is proof' and 'bonus mosh pit', along with others are catchy, you will find them circling in your mind like vultures....which isn't a bad thing considering.
Overall....I fooking Love it, its love its love.... make it hurt...sorry
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2004
This truely is a fantastic album from a truely fantastic band. The debut full length from Taking Back Sunday in 2001, 'Tell All Your Friends', was a CD to be reckoned with. They took the punk/emo scene by storm and instantly gathered a huge fanbase. This, the follow-up to that hugely successful record, had a lot to live up to. But it definately managed it.
I wouldn't say that this recording is better than 'Tell Ell Your Friends', but it is definately on an even par. The record opens with the fantastic 'Set Phasers To Stun' which realy gets the album started with a bang. Other standouts are without a doubt the masterpiece that is 'A Decade Under The Influence', with its great riff and harmonies, 'The Union' and the amazing acoustic 'New American Classic' which is a thousand million times better than the acoustic offering of 'Cute Without The E' on 'Punk Goaes Acoustic'.
There isn't a weak track on this album, and every song will have you screaming the words and playing air guitar 24 hours a day. You should defnately check out these guys live aswell. They without doubt are on of the best bands out there.
Buy it... buy it now!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2004
After eagerly anticipating great things from this album as precedented by 'Tell all your Friends' I was left feeling rather disappointed on hearing this new release. 'Tell all your Friends' has a highly charged, anthemic formula which remains consistent throughout. It epitomises the emo genre, it is always a great pleasure to listen to it and no track is skipped. However 'Where you want to be' has lost that formulaic approach, although that distinct sound of 'Tell all your Friends' remains in some tracks most notably 'A decade under the influence'(which is great single material) and 'Set Phasers to Stun' the album generally lacks that raw edginess that made 'Tell all your Friends' an instant classic.
'Where you want to be' is far more experimental, the song writing has dithered slightly and generally lacks the emotional intensity of 'Tell all your Friends'. I don't see this Album remaining in my CD player no where near as long as 'Tell all your Friends' which shall remain the soundtrack to my summer.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
So many great songs on this album. Unlike 'louder now' i feel this album has more heart and dedication. I now love TBS thanks to this album, can not stop listening to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2004
When listening to Where You Want To Be, it becomes immediately obvious that cannot be compared to Tell All Your Friends and it shouldn't be. Where You Want To Be is a new sound for Taking Back Sunday who, after various line-up changes, have found their feet once again.
After the departures of both John Nolan and Shaun Cooper, Taking Back Sunday were never going to be the same and old fans may be a little disappointed with the way their sound has evolved (myself included) but that doesn't mean that Where You Want To Be isn't a good album in itself.
Highlights include the opening track Set Phaser To Stun, the more mellow acoustic sound of New American Classic and Bonus Mosh Pt. II with the emo cliché, "It's love, make it hurt (I deserve it) it's love, it's love, it's love... make it hurt" forming a catchy chorus.
However, Where You Want To Be appears to lack the emotional intensity of Tell All Your Friends and this could be setting TBS on the road to chart-rock mediocrity.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2004
Having fallen in love with Tell All Your Friends (after being dumped!), there was no way Where You Want To Be was ever going to equal the raw emotion Taking Back Sunday's First release. However, it has not left my CD player since i purchased it and is now up there with the almighty TAYF.
The line up change is obvious, and as a result the classic TBS moments like 'Why Can't I Feel Anything For Anyone Other Than You?' from 'Cute Without The E (Cut From The Team)' are absent. This is a double edged sword, becaude whilst those kind of mulitple screamo moments from TAYF was what endeared me to the band, in leaving them alone, they have presevered a great personal moment in music. As a bass player, the bass lines are less deliberate and catchy and whereas on TAYF, Taking Back Sunday could quite easily have released any one of the 10 tracks as a single, this album only provides 5 or 6 that would be able to hold there own in the charts. Not saying that they are poor quality tracks, but again in comparison to TAYF, they are not as solid and universally appealing.
But thats all that is negative, as an album it works very well. The classic Taking Back Sunday overlapping of lyrics is present, and it has been said before, that no-one quite overlaps lyrics like TBS. It will grow on you, in particular the first four tracks will become firm favourites. The album works aswell as both a chill out background album or as something to just concentrate and listen to.
If you have heard A Decade Under The Influence on TV or given radio time, you will know pretty much what to expect. I highly recommend this album. As a stand alone album, it is great! There are no over weak tracks and you will rarely find yourself skipping. The contrast of slower, more rock based ballards and more passion emo tracks works very well, and there is enough there to make you want to listen to tracks over and over. As with all TBS songs, they grow on you because they play on your emotions, and this album is no different. Whether is because of being dumped, being rejected, being let down or simply being in love, you will really begin to relate to the tracks. If after 5 listens of 'Bonus Mosh Pit Pt. 2' you don't find yourself screaming 'Its Love Its Love Its Love', then you are seriously lacking some soul!
TAYF got me through a really tough time, and this album can't be compared to it based on that personal opinion. If you are already in love with Taking Back Sunday, then this will be like a second honeymoon, but if you have not heard the band before, i recommend Tell All Your Friends first. Just make sure as soon as you have heard all of TAYF, you have this ready to put into your CD Player, because its very hard to take out!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2015
Classic album. Looks and sounds great on vinyl. Shipped fast and condition was perfect ✌🏻️
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£8.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)