When You Put on a Red Shirt: The Dreamers and their Dreams and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £16.99
  • You Save: £2.29 (13%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

When You Put on a Red Shirt: The Dreamers and their Dreams: Memories of Matt Busby, Jimmy Murphy and Manchester United Hardcover – 2 Apr 2009


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£14.70
£3.23 £0.01


Earn a Free Kindle Book
Earn a Free Kindle Book
Buy a book between now and 31 March and receive a promotional code good for one free Kindle book. Terms and conditions apply. Learn more

Product details

  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Yellow Jersey; When You Put on Red Shirt edition (2 April 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0224082833
  • ISBN-13: 978-0224082839
  • Product Dimensions: 14.4 x 2.9 x 22.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 467,584 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

"When You Put on a Red Shirt is the story of dreamers, hard men who wanted to create perfection on the football pitch. It's a story of tactics and idealism, poetry and savagery. The great strength of this book is the absence of nostalgia. Keith Dewhurst writes fondly but it's a hard, often cruel, world he's describing. And the muck! Jesus. I'd forgotten it existed." (Roddy Doyle)

"Keith Dewhurst brings to his subject the precision of a time-served journalist of the old school, the insights of a major dramatist and the uncompromising love of a lifelong supporter. Along the way he kicks a few myths into touch - notably the idea of the beautiful game being beautiful all the way through. You can't have beauty without the beast and Keith honours both parties." (Alan Plater)

"Its evocation of a vanished age should be required reading for the Ronaldos and Rooneys of our day" (Sunday Herald)

Book Description

A brilliant footballing memoir, in the tradition of My Father and Other Working-Class Football Heroes and Provided You Don't Kiss Me

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By J. Woolridge on 20 Feb 2012
Format: Hardcover
This might be the best book you will ever read about Manchester United, let alone about football in general. Keith Dewhurst has produced, in that most overused of terms, a classic, which is in part a beautifully written memoir of the two chief architects of Manchester United's resurgence after the Second World War and the devastation of Munich , but also his brilliant, unashamedly red-eyed reflections on what the Busby-Murphy partnership and their footballing philosophy brought to English football and how English football wilfully chose to ignore it.
When You Put on a Red Shirt, the title inspired by one of Jimmy Murphy's favourite maxims: `When you put on a red shirt, you're the greatest player in the world, even when you know you're not', might even make you dream. After reading it one night before nodding off, truthfully, I dreamt I was in Bari in 1945 where Murphy was giving the instructional lecture on football tactics at the army recreational centre which prompted Busby, then manager of the British Army team to ask him to be his assistant when he took up the reins at Old Trafford, a testament to the power and vividness of Dewhurst's prose.
Keith Dewhurst has learnt his trade as writer over many years, as a journalist, then scriptwriter for the stage and Z Cars and it shows. He can say more in one well-turned sentence than most manage in pages of over-written, pretentious verbiage. The author also knew the men he is writing about, Busby from a distance, Murphy as a friend and reported on the team's matches, travelling on the team coach. The book is bursting throughout with fresh and original first hand stories.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By anita on 16 Oct 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
bought as a gift for an avid MUFC fan.....The review was good so am sure it will be well received. the delivery, packakging and service excellent.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By alice on 10 July 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
fantastic book, very good, true story, bought as second hand but was a new book, found out a lot about United that did not know before, and about the Matt Busby and the Busby Babes, and Matt Busby's treatment of Jimmy Murphy
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Manchester United must be the most written about club in history, with many, many offerings from their early history to present day. Keith's book rightly belongs alongside the history of the club, and will undoubtedly capture an era some supporters will remember, but great value to those fans of today. Recommended read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category


Feedback