When You Were Older and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
When You Were Older has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

When You Were Older Hardcover – 29 Mar 2012

52 customer reviews

See all 9 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£12.99
£6.48 £1.43
£12.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card for your child's school by voting for their favourite book. Learn more.
  • Prepare for the summer with our pick of the best selection for children (ages 0 - 12) across Amazon.co.uk.


Win a £5,000 Amazon.co.uk Gift Card and 30 Kindle E-readers for your child or pupil's school.
Vote for your child or pupil(s) favourite book(s) here to be in with a chance to win.

Product details

  • Hardcover: 416 pages
  • Publisher: Doubleday (29 Mar. 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0857520989
  • ISBN-13: 978-0857520982
  • Product Dimensions: 14.4 x 3.7 x 22.2 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,615,042 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Catherine Ryan Hyde is the author of more than 16 novels including Pay it Forward (which was made into a feature film starring Kevin Spacey and Helen Hunt), Love in the Present Tense (a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller), Chasing Windmills, When I Found You, Second Hand Heart, The Hardest Part of Love, Don't Let Me Go, and the forthcoming When You Were Older.

For more information on Catherine Ryan Hyde and her books, see her website at www.catherineryanhyde.com And while you're there, click on "Contact Me" and drop a line to the author, who loves to hear from readers!

Catherine lives in a very small town in California.

She also writes Young Adult novels that are completely suitable for grown-ups, and which her adult readers tend to enjoy as well. They include Becoming Chloe, The Year of my Miraculous Reappearance, The Day I Killed James, Diary of a Witness, and Jumpstart the World.

Product Description

Book Description

Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult and Diane Chamberlain, the powerful new novel from the bestselling author of Love in the Present Tense.

From the Inside Flap

NEW YORK, SEPTEMBER 11TH 2001

Russell Ammiano is rushing to work when he gets a phone call that saves his life.

As the city he loves is hit by unimaginable tragedy, Russell must turn his back and hurry home to his brother in Kansas.

KANSAS, SEPTEMBER 14TH 2001

Ben Ammiano is mentally disabled, and a creature of habit. Any change to his routine sends him into a spin. But now his long lost brother has reappeared, and Ben's simple, ordered world has turned upside down.

When You Were Older is the extraordinary, moving story of two brothers who must bury their pasts and teach each other to survive . . .


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By L. H. Healy TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 30 Dec. 2011
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I loved this story. It's a wonderful, beautifully written tale. I found it compelling from start to finish, and read it very quickly as I couldn't bear to wait to discover what happened. The author has created some lovely characters in Russell and Anat. September 11th 2001 changed many lives. Russell was running late for work at the advertising firm where he was employed, on the 104th floor of the World Trade Centre, New York. Just as he was leaving his apartment, the telephone rang, and after debating it he decided to answer. Upon finding out that his mother has suddenly passed away, and with her gone his brother Ben now has no one but Russell as a carer, he never goes in to work that day. And because of receiving this tragic news in that split second, he lives.

He faces a long journey - with no flights because of the terrible events in NYC - hitch hiking his way back to Norville, Kansas, the place he regards as and refers to as `Nowhere-ville', and thought he had escaped for good when he left six years ago aged eighteen. He can't bring himself to think of it as home anymore. The reactions from the various people he meets on his journey home give us an initial feeling of the shock and response by the man on the street to the enormous events in New York. Further reaction will be evident when Russell arrives home. Everyone in Norville knew Russell as Rusty, and they all know and love his brother Ben, who, although older than Russell, is not capable of living alone, and is reliant on extensive support in his everyday tasks such as getting to his job as a bag packer at the grocery store in the town, getting to bed and up on time. (His dependence is due to an incident which is described in the novel, which I won't spoil here.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Lincs Reader TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 13 Jan. 2012
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
When You Were Older is set in the months after 9/11 - September 2001 and is the story of two brothers and their struggle to survive and thrive in what has become a strange new world for them. Russell is the younger brother, he bailed out of the small sleepy Kansas town that he was brought up in when he was just out of school. Living in New York, working in the World Trade Centre, his life couldn't be more different to that of his brother Ben. Ben still lives in that small town, he is mentally disabled and lives his life to a set routine, day in, day out. Russell receives the call to tell him that his mother has died on the morning of 11 September, the phone call makes him late for work, as he rushes about trying to make up lost time, he glances out of the window and sees smoke pouring from one of the towers of the World Trade Centre. It is at that moment that his life changes forever.
Russell goes back to Kansas. Ben needs to be cared for, but Ben doesn't even understand that their Mom is dead.
This is a truly moving story, the writing is remarkable and enchants the reader. Russell has his faults, and Ben can be incredibly frustrating but Catherine Ryan-Hyde paints a picture of siblings that love and care for each other. It is especially poignant when the reader learns just how Ben came to be brain damaged, and how that incident changed the balance of their relationship.
The character of Anat; an Eygptian girl who works in a local bakery, and helps Russell through this confusing and emotional time is beautifully drawn.
This is a love story, and a story of family dynamics. It is a story about people's reactions to life-changing events, how many people feel the need to have someone to blame. It's about injustices and hate, but also about friendship and loyalty.
A very satisfying read that will stay in my mind for quite a while.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By EssexReader VINE VOICE on 8 Feb. 2012
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I won't repeat the plotline as this has been done in several reviews but just to give my thoughts on the book, I loved it. Russell and Ben are brothers but are so different. Ben is the older by six years however because of brain damage, he is childlike and has to follow a certain daily routine. When Russell returns home to arrange his mother's funeral and to care for Ben, because no-one else will, without any guidance he has to devise his own `manual' on how to deal with Ben's tantrums and difficulties. The frustrations felt by Russell are thoughtfully and carefully dealt with and we have a cast of main characters, Russell, Ben, and Anat, who are believable and have personalities that the reader can care about and the love and affection that these two brothers, in their own way, have for each other shines throughout the story.

In the days following the twin towers collapse, we see how Russell's old school friends and neighbours have a heightened sense of patriotism and rightly or wrongly, the inevitable prejudice and animosity that exist against people who they regard as being against them. Russell finds himself caught between those who want to do harm and his feelings for Anat, the Egyptian daughter of a local baker who he befriends. The result of a drunken attack by his friends one night has life changing consequences for Russell and Ben and Russell is left having to make difficult decisions and forced to move forward with his life

This is a thought provoking and compelling read and one that I would certainly recommend. I look forward to reading more by this author.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback