Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now
Customer Discussions > Seven Samurai [DVD] [1954] forum

What's the best Kurosawa film?

Sort: Oldest first | Newest first
Showing 1-5 of 5 posts in this discussion
Initial post: 2 Nov 2011 17:44:05 GMT
I'm new to Kurosawa films, but have started my journey with Seven Samurai, which I love. Which other Kurosawa films would people recommend? I am looking for something broadly similar in tone to S.S.

Thank you folks.

In reply to an earlier post on 7 Nov 2011 14:35:35 GMT
Last edited by the author on 7 Nov 2011 14:36:14 GMT
puto says:
I would surgest Akira Kurosawa - The Samurai Collection [DVD] all 5 or these films are great.

Posted on 7 Nov 2011 17:45:28 GMT
Thank you puto :-)

Posted on 24 Jun 2012 03:49:44 BDT
Last edited by the author on 24 Jun 2012 03:51:49 BDT
A. P. HERN says:
try HIGH AND LOW, DRUNKEN ANGEL, STRAY DOG and THE BAD SLEEP WELL. All crime films, theres more to kurosawa than samarai's, also try IKURU which is a great melodrama. THRONE OF BLOOD which is my favourite, his version of Macbeth. THE HIDDEN FORTRESS is a good one it is not too demanding and is really enjoyable. RAN is excellent and his final materpiece. DERSU UZALA is flawed but still a decent film, although it was a massive failure.

Posted on 25 Jan 2014 23:35:25 GMT
mirobola says: