Start reading Whatever You Love on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Whatever You Love
 
 

Whatever You Love [Kindle Edition]

Louise Doughty
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (148 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £7.99
Kindle Price: £1.00 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.99 (87%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £1.00  
Hardcover, Large Print --  
Paperback £6.39  
Book Awards
An Award-Nominated Book
From the Man Booker to the Pulitzer Price, check out the full selection of award nominees and winners in Book Awards.


Product Description

Review

Doughty creates a haunting, heart-wrenching portrait. (Psychologies)

The opening chapter is electrifyingly painful. From then on the reader is spellbound ... the book is hauntingly believable ... so powerful is the evocation of raw emotion that, the day after i finished it, I woke up with that same feeling. It was some minutes before I realised I was still inside Doughty's book. (A N Wilson Readers Digest)

It is an extraordinarly opening, written with such taut understatement that the mother's grief is given a visceral power: we empathise with it immediately ... Whatever You Love is a masterfully constructed novel, at once gripping and tender ... The emotional power of Doughty's prose is such that the reader is complicit in Laura's journey from loss to retribution. Doughty forces us to confront the darkness that lies beneath the skin. The result is a brilliant and brutal novel that continues to unsettle long after the final page has been turned. (Observer)

Absorbing (Grazia)

A stunning tale of grief and the lengths to which a woman must go to come to terms with it. (Woman and Home)

Brilliant, disturbing, heart-wrenching. (Daily Mirror)

Book Description

From the bestselling author of APPLE TREE YARD, a heart-wrenching psychological thriller about bereavement and revenge, desire and infidelity, for fans of Gone Girl, The Husband's Secret and Before I Go to Sleep.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 456 KB
  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber Fiction (19 Aug 2010)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0042JSSGS
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (148 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,984 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should have been a contender. 2 May 2011
Format:Paperback
Narrated in the first person, the story opens with the death of Laura's nine year old daughter. It backtracks to Laura's relationship and subsequent marriage to David, then David's relationship with another woman. Reading this was like a punch in the stomach. The grief is so raw, the betrayal so bitter.

I'm not generally a fan of thrillers but this is so much more. Intelligent and well-written, it drags you kicking and screaming into its angry passionate heartbroken maelstrom. It would make a great TV adaptation - and I'm guessing that's why it didn't make the Orange shortlist - it does have that made-for-TV feel. Most likely it didn't come across as literary enough for the judges. All I know is I didn't want to go to bed I was so gripped by it, and it was the first thing I thought of when I woke in the morning. A fantastic read and I was on the verge of giving it five stars (I award this accolade rarely in proportion to the amount I read) but thought I would reflect on it a bit first. This was a useful check because after a week or so it had lost a lot of its effect and it didn't stay in my head. Its power is in its urgency and immediacy.

I would definitely recommend it though. An absolute page-turner.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
58 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read with much to think about 26 Jun 2010
By Alison TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
"Whatever You Love" is the first Louise Doughty book I've read and I really enjoyed it. The novel is ostensibly about the loss of Laura's daughter, Betty, whose death we learn of in the first page of the prologue and the impact that it has on Laura's life and the people around her. After the prologue the book is structured into 4 parts which alternate between "before" and "after" the events of Betty's death and provide detailed insight into the life of Laura with a final short epilogue.

The book synopsis on the jacket focusses on the vengeance that Laura wants to take against the man who killed Betty. While this is certainly a strong element of the story, it's somewhat misleading as the story is really about the relationship between Laura and her husband David. Although the book isn't quite what the jacket blurb suggests, it is still a riveting read and I stayed up late one night to read the last 100 pages.

It's a book that made me think - why were people behaving as they were, how do people deal with grief and loss, how perspective changes how a relationship appears to be. Doughty has a lovely realistic feel to her writing; there's a line where she describes a scene where a jar of mayonnaise is thrown and smashes and Doughty writes "Why does mayonnaise go translucent when it gets warm? Am I the only one who finds that sinister?" I just loved that simple observation (and I also think it's sinister!). There are other lovely simple observations that make the characters seen more real.

I'll definitely be looking at Doughty's other books. A recommended read if you like psychological thrillers/suspense that don't follow a standard plot.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars had potential, but disappointingly flawed 29 Nov 2010
By Anna
Format:Paperback
There was a lot to like about this book: the exploration of grief and the immediate post-bereavement period was well handled and written in a confident, engaging style. I also liked the portrayal of the couple's relationship and thought that was realistic and well observed; the transition from the feverish beginnings of the relationship to the weary couple brought together through the shared bereavement was nicely handled.

However, the book's main failing was that the author seemed not to have had the confidence to make the book just that: an exploration of grief and a study of a relationship. Instead, we get a very poorly developed revenge sub-plot, which is farcical, poorly developed and never ignites. Simultaneously the author goes off on yet another ill-advised tangent with the sub-plot of the letters; again, lacking in realism, worthy of a bad made-for-TV movie and demanding a level of suspension of disbelief that I found impossible (the number of times I was rolling my eyes and saying "Oh come ON!"). As a result, the book seems not to know what it wants to be and I think it suffers from that.

And finally, Faber & Faber, get your act together and use some decent copyeditors and proofreaders. The book was littered with spelling mistakes and typos, which I found distracting and which undermined the book. You are left thinking that if the publisher doesn't care about the book enough, why should we?
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whatever you love 14 Jun 2010
By JM VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
This was not what I expected at all, as I started it I didn't actually think I was going to like it but I was pleasantly surprised and found myself really enjoying it, though it's a painful and sad read, particularly when you have a child of similar age to the little girl who is killed in an accident.
But I think the blurb is somewhat misleading, it implies that the book focuses on the dead child's mother seeking revenge on the driver who killed her. This is only a brief part of the story, and not even the climax. The book tells the story of how Laura, the mother, met her husband and married him, and then subsequently lost him to another woman, and then the aftermath of losing her daughter. Had that been the blurb I would probably not have read it, but as it is, it manages to be a riveting read throughout. I certainly would never have guessed what happens.
Interesting and different, and very well written.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking
I enjoyed Apple Tree Yard so decided to read more of her titles. This is very different, funny at times but also makes for uncomfortable reading. Read more
Published 7 days ago by Pixie
5.0 out of 5 stars Family life
I chose this rating because I enjoyed this book tremendously and would recommend it to anyone looking for a read which describes the minutiae of family life so well. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Morag Robertson
3.0 out of 5 stars initial promise not fulfilled
this book started so well and then continued as an excellent portrayal of a marriage that falls apart under the weight of,amongst other things, bereavement. Read more
Published 1 month ago by hextol
3.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed about two thirds of this
I really enjoyed about two thirds of this, but the ending didn't work for me at all, which was disappointing as I had loved Apple Tree Yard, which is still, in my opinion, her best... Read more
Published 1 month ago by Morag Clarke
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Good
Published 1 month ago by S Baron
4.0 out of 5 stars Doughty writes another page turner.
Very sad story which kept me interested to the end of the book. Shows how fragile human relationships can be.
Published 1 month ago by Carolyn Clarke
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
very moving and well written
Published 1 month ago by Catherine Treweek
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
good
Published 1 month ago by MRS C.MAY
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
good
Published 2 months ago by Abbey Green Nursery School
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars
Not as good as Apple tree yard. An easy read though.
Published 2 months ago by judith jolley
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category