Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 2.49

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

What Just Happened?: Bitter Hollywood Tales from the Front Line [Paperback]

Art Linson
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
Price: 7.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over 10. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Monday, 25 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback 7.99  

Book Description

1 Sep 2003
Forget everything you've heard about Hollywood. What Just Happened: Bitter Hollywood Tales from the Front Line is the real deal. In Art Linson's true and uproarious tale of what it is to make movies, we get to explore, at close range, finicky directors, clueless executives, shameless marketers, famous actors, battered screenwriters, and hapless producers crossing paths in such calamitous ways that it's a miracle these films get made at all. Whether he's trying to persuade an executive that Gwyneth Paltrow has enough chin to carry the lead in a movie, forcing an enraged Alec Baldwin to shave off his mountain-man beard, discussing ankle hair loss with Dustin Hoffman, or sitting through an excruciating reading of a David Mamet script as Robert DeNiro toys with the notion of heading up the cast, Linson gives us a brutally honest, funny, and comprehensive tour through the horrors of Hollywood, from script to screen. If you love the movies or not, you won't be able to resist the stories behind them. You also won't be able to resist Linson, a born story-teller whose wicked sense of humor leaves nobody safe-not even himself.

Frequently Bought Together

What Just Happened?: Bitter Hollywood Tales from the Front Line + Down and Dirty Pictures
Buy the selected items together
  • Down and Dirty Pictures 10.39


Product details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC; New edition edition (1 Sep 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0747562059
  • ISBN-13: 978-0747562054
  • Product Dimensions: 12.8 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 217,130 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Review

' A must-read for anyone involved in - or considering getting involved in - moviemaking' -- Vanity Fair

'...every bit as caustic, funny and humble as the title suggests.' -- Empire

'Linson sings of Hollywood in a low gutteral animal wail, alternately hysterical, biting, humiliating, and wise' -- Sean Penn

'Linson's candid confessional is the bastard offspring of William Goldman and Joe Queenan' -- Uncut

'Wickedly funny ... it's the best users' manual to Hollywood I know.' -- Peter Biskind

About the Author

ART LINSON was born in Chicago and grew up in Hollywood. He has been producing movies for twenty-four years, and his credits include The Untouchables, Heat, Fast Times at Ridgemont High, Scrooged, Fight Club, and Heist. In 1995, he published his first book, A Pound of Flesh: Perilous Tales of How to Produce Movies in Hollywood

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun 24 Jan 2005
Format:Hardcover
Unlike the other reviewers I enjoyed this book - however, do I understand why they were disappointed.
The book lacks any real structure - it is a bit of ramble around events that occurred while producing The Edge, Great Expectations and Fight Club. The book is not long on substance either - you do not learn a lot about Hollywood or even Art Linson.
However, if you are familiar with the films and are comfortable with the fact that much of the book is written as dialogue then there is much to enjoy. There were many moments that made me laugh and/or smile.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining read 9 Aug 2013
By sc paul
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
This is the source material for the Hollywood movie of the same name. It's an entertaining read, but I would have liked more gossip.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars For Fans of Hollywood, By a Producing Legend 18 Jun 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I very recently bought this concise book and, having read a smidge over half of it thus far, I can say that I'm enjoying it!

What makes it appealing is the fact that the author is, not was, a bona fide, highly successful producer still working at the top of the Hollywood tree.

The structure works well - without giving anything away, Art Linson ties his anecdotal tales together within a conversation he is having with 'Jerry', a former studio head with a very sadistic sense of humour, someone who, now a nobody in Hollywood, is taking great delight in Linson's struggles, and I find this structure works very well.

The stories themselves are humorous (not laugh-out-loud hilarious, but that's not the intention), interesting and engaging, but most of all, insightful - a true behind the scenes peek into the crazy business of show with a Hollywood veteran.

So if you share a fascination with Hollywood, as I do, then this is a great little book to add to Bill Goldman's, Lawrence Turman, Ed Epstein, Jerry Weintraub's etc. books on the fascinating business that is Hollywood.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback