Start reading What Happens in Scotland (Second Sons) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
What Happens in Scotland (Second Sons)
 
 

What Happens in Scotland (Second Sons) [Kindle Edition]

Jennifer McQuiston
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.99
Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £4.00 (57%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Mass Market Paperback £5.08  
Audio Download, Unabridged £16.00 or Free with Audible.co.uk 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.


Product Description

Review

"What Happens in Scotland is clever and funny, charming and romantic, and a gorgeous read from first page to last. With a fresh voice and a gift for the unexpected, Jennifer McQuiston is a fabulous storyteller--make space on your keeper shelf!" --New York Times bestselling author Sarah MacLean

Product Description

Jennifer McQuiston’s debut historical romance, What Happens in Scotland, is a lively, romantic adventure about a wedding that neither the bride or the groom remembers.

Lady Georgette Thorold has always been wary of marriage, so when she wakes up  next to an attractive Scotsman with a wedding ring on her finger, it’s easy to understand why she panics and flees. Convinced that Georgette is a thief, her may-be husband, James McKenzie, searches for her. As both try to recall what happened that fateful night, they begin to realize that their attraction and desire for each other is undeniable. But is it enough?

Fans of Sarah MacLean and Mary Balogh will enjoy this utterly charming historical romance from award-winning author Jennifer McQuiston that features unforgettable characters and a satisfying mix of adventure and passion.


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 779 KB
  • Print Length: 389 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0062231294
  • Publisher: Avon (26 Feb 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0089LOE6I
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #257,821 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

5 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great easy read! 5 Jun 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
I was recommended this book by a friend and have to say I was not disappointed.

A very easy read that had me chuckling often, the book has colourful characters is full of funny lines and is well worth a read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars What Happens in Scotland 4 Mar 2013
By Kate Phillips TOP 1000 REVIEWER
Format:Kindle Edition
What Happens in Scotland could have been really good but it was bogged down by its length and ling windedness. It was not a terrible book but it dragged quite a bit.

The characters were alright, I managed to connect with both James and Georgette as individuals. I found them to be likeable and they didn't really annoy me at all. I thought they were both funny and I enjoyed the silly and sometimes slapstick situations they found themselves in.

The beginning was great, they wake up hangover with no recollection of the night before and realise they are married. Georgette freaks out and runs away but it doesn't take them long to realise that if they want to solve the marriage problem then they have to do it together. They set about to find one another. The start of the search was charming and funny but after a while I got a little bored. When I got to the halfway point and they still hadn't found each other I despaired.
When they do finally find each other they are instantly thrown into peril and the romance felt rushed, especially considering the amount of distrust between them. They fall in love so suddenly even though James spends a good 90% of the novel thinking Georgette is a con. In the end the romance left me feeling a little cold.

There was a lot of potential here the characters were great and the writing good, but I just didn't like the way the story was put together and it failed to really grip me.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars  153 reviews
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Find out What Happens in Scotland! 27 Feb 2013
By Book Lover - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
What's a proper widow to do when she wakes up in bed only to discover she's lying next to a nekkid Scotsman? Not only that, but she's wearing a wedding ring that wasn't there before. Thus begins a wonderful tale of What Happens in Scotland as the two set about to find out just what occured the night before. It sure would be nice if they could remember, but they can't. And there is a reason for that - but you have to read the book to find out what that is!I loved this story. It's full of fun humor, a nice twisty plot that will keep you turning the pages until the wee hours, and a lovely romance that moves along convincingly and lands in a very satisfying place. Great book my Jennifer McQuiston. Can't wait to read more of her work.
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Debut Novel 26 Feb 2013
By Dianne E. Socci-Tetro - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
What Happens in Scotland by Jennifer McQuiston

This is Ms McQuiston's debut novel and sometimes it shows.

This book actually reads a bit like two novellas melded together instead of one whole book. There are so many characters to start with and they are all so confusing. And the points of view are constantly changing which makes it a bit difficult to stay engrossed in this story. However, there is a very good reason for that...you see Lady Georgette has just come out of mourning and without remembering how it happened, she wakes up one morning next to a naked man... a naked man with a beard... a buck naked Scotsman! Apparently, she had gotten very drunk last night and cannot remember a single thing of what happened.

Now she has run from the naked man, after cracking him over the head with a chamber pot and every one she meets seems to be in on what happened to her, but she is too scared and ashamed to ask what happened. Of course, she is imagining the worst.

About halfway through the book Georgette and James finally meet up and it is still a comedy of errors, and if anything, it is even worse, since neither of them remember the whole of what had happened.

The characters James and Georgette are at times very strong ones, and at other times, they are both lacking in backbone sometimes to the point that you might like to slap them upside the head or shake some sense into them. Secondary characters that seem to be important one minute, somehow disappear and we don't hear from them again. There is very little back story and what is there comes to us in dribs and drabs. Much of the beginning of the story is told within the characters own head and I am not very fond of that tactic from any author. The secondary story line was an important one and I felt that it should have been explored in more detail and given a little more importance.

This was a very cute,light read, but I do not think it is one I will be taking the time to re-read. I believe that the next book will be better than this one so I will be checking it out.
*ARC Supplied by publisher*
18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wish I had not read this. 17 Aug 2013
By Feehan5 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I finished it, but it was tough. The whole book takes place in ONE tedious, drawn out day. Most of the book, the two are not even together. When they do meet up, the reader is left clueless as to what happened or why they like each other. It is not historically accurate in any way, and the characters are flat and uninteresting. Little humor, no plot, no story, haphazard writing that goes nowhere. The pieces of the story are farfetched and make little sense. The hero gets his head bashed open (concussion and stitches and memory loss) then he gets kicked in the knee by a horse, stabbed in the chest, and finally shot in the jaw. All in one day, but still goes dancing in town and is capable of wild sex. These two do not know one thing about each other. Sadly, neither does the reader, ever. No payoff.
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Ain't Your Mama's Historical Romance 5 Mar 2013
By S. Kilpatrick - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
I loved this book. I mean LOVED it--I've already given away 2 copies saying, "You have to read this book." McQuiston's voice is light and very easy to read. It's a madcap adventure through Victorian Scotland, and I loved the humor of the piece. (Kitten, bodice---you'll see) James is yummy with some alpha edges but a real vulnerability underneath. Georgette is in danger of closing herself off to life and love, but, hey, nothing like a Scotsman to make you reconsider such silly notions. Don't let the humorous start fool you, though--there's some very real emotion and pathos lying delicately beneath the surface of this story. Don't let the fact that hero and heroine take a little time to get back together throw you, either--you'd run, too, if you'd had the Victorian equivalent of a roofie. That said, if you like humor and a new spin on the historical genre, this story is for you.

Oh, and chamber pots for the win!
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patience is a virtue... 25 Mar 2013
By Stacy Stephans - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Mass Market Paperback
In a time when the world is moving so fast and instant gratification is not just expected but in many cases is demanded, I took great pleasure in slowing down and reading Ms. McQuiston's thoughtful, articulate and oh yes, funny debut romance novel. "What Happens in Scotland" carefully and strategically creates reader anticipation as excitement and hope builds over the emergent relationship between the hero and heroine. The character development was so enjoyable and I looked forward to "meeting" all the friends and acquaintances that the hero and heroine encountered along the journey towards each other. I'm hoping that we get to learn more about some of these interesting and complex characters in her next novel!

If you enjoy humor, history and hope, then this is the read for you!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category