Wasted and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £9.99
  • You Save: £2.00 (20%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Wasted Paperback – 3 Apr 2008


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£5.07 £0.01

Frequently Bought Together

Wasted + Mum, Can You Lend Me Twenty Quid?: What drugs did to my family + Once an Addict: The Fascinating True Story of One Man's Escape from the Murky Drugs Underworld
Price For All Three: £25.96

Buy the selected items together


Product details

  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere (3 April 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0751539732
  • ISBN-13: 978-0751539738
  • Product Dimensions: 12.6 x 2.1 x 19.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (64 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 37,314 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

As gripping as it is appalling, WASTED is all you could ask of a misery-and-trauma book - it's shocking and it's haunting and it's about one hell of a life (DAILY MAIL)

Book Description

* A Childhood Stolen. An Innocence Betrayed. A Life Redeemed

* A shocking and inspiring true account of addiction and recovery - in the tradition of The Kid and Ugly


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful By Willy Maley on 25 May 2007
Format: Hardcover
Lazy labels like `misery memoir' are slapped onto books of varying quality. Mark Johnson's Wasted, based on his life on the streets, is in a class of its own. It's a harrowing tale with a happy ending and a strong but far from simple message. Mark is an amazing success story, someone who, after years of abuse and addiction, offending and sleeping rough, has gone on to become living proof that rehab works. You could also say he's an example of the wisdom that comes with experience. In telling his own story, Mark is telling the story of other young people, and it's no surprise his ideas about mentoring are now being taken seriously by the probation service in England and Wales. There's nothing self-serving about his recollections, no denial, no preaching. This is the real deal from a writer who is bigger than the story he's telling, and with a story as powerful and compelling as this that's saying something. When Johnson talks about the world he came from, the one he left behind, and the one he wants to help others out of, his writing has the passing bell ring of truth. "Pranged is the tuning fork that never stops vibrating", Johnson says of the comedown from crack, "Pranged is fingernails on metal dustbin lids. Pranged is your body and mind being cut open and exposed to everything sharp in the world", and "pranged" is what the reader feels after putting down this brave, breathtaking, brutally honest book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Mrs. Catherine M. Cave on 28 Dec 2009
Format: Paperback
This book is a brilliant, honest, and in places shocking, of a man who came up from the very depths of society to make a success of himself. The problems with drugs, his battle with them - and to emerge and make his life a success - simply brilliant, un-put-downable. I wanted to know just how drugs affected people who indulged. Now I do know. Then the fact that he fought back to having a good life.

Cathy Cave
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful By Selma D on 15 May 2007
Format: Hardcover
"Wasted" is a book that will stop you in your tracks. It's no-holds-barred account of a violent childhood and adult life on the streets is at times painful to read. But its a read that you can't put down and which forces you to turn the page... then the next... and then the next.

Its exactly right that Amazon have paired the book with "Abandoned" by Anya Peters. I've read both and they complement each other perfectly - one describing homelessness and childhood suffering from a male perspective the other giving a female point of view.

Two aspects of both books stand out for me. An eye for the telling detail of everyday life that says so much more than a lengthy descirption. And the voice of the central characters which come across so distinctly. Its as though you are there on the streets yourself: in "Wasted" sleeping rough in doorways, looking for that next fix, in "Abandoned" living in your car, trying to maintain a pretence of normality when your situation is anything but. I couldn't say one book is better than the other. Read them both and its an experience you won't forget.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By John McBride on 16 Jun 2008
Format: Paperback
Mark Johnson brings us into a world that fortunately for most of us, we never see. This book brings you to the levels that Mark Johnson experienced. The writing is terrific & brings you onto the streets with him & into the turmoil's of his life. This is a very honest book which at times, can be disturbing. I applaud Mark Johnson for getting his life back in order. I am also pleased that his fight has been recognised & totally agree with him when he says his qualifications are his experiences. It's an honest book that takes us down, goes through the 'ups & downs' of his life, the hurt that he passed onto people & try's to explain what drugs does to not only yourself, but to your loved ones. I also admire his honesty. Mark cannot be proud of what he done, but he can be proud of himself now that he came through some shocking experiences that you would not wish on your enemies. Well most of them anyway. Good Luck Mark.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By pws on 10 Dec 2008
Format: Paperback
I have always been interested in the whys and what fors of heroin use. I could never understand why the addicts just couldn't give it up. Was it that good that they didn't want to stop? But, Mark told me everything I wanted to know. The real pain and suffering in wanting to give up. He explains that no matter how hard the angel in your mind wants to stop, the devil always wins. Both the physcial and mental pain are just too much to just stop alone. Which is why I feel that the Governent should be doing more to help addicts to stop. If there were more places for them to go for help, more places available in detox centers, then they would not have to beg and steal to feed a habit that sounds so destroying and from what I now gather, pure hell for the user. To top it all there is a real feel good ending for Mark. A great book. 10/10
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Michelle-Conchita on 23 Feb 2010
Format: Paperback
I think that this book should be used in schools to educate about drug abuse.

The awful childhood life that the writer had to endure may not have happened to them but it is just as easy for them to get into the downward spiral of drug abuse.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful By TJDB on 13 May 2007
Format: Hardcover
A stunningingly honest account of Mr Johnsons life growing up in a home where he was not loved in the conventional sense. The book then goes on to depict in vivid prose how he went on to become a heroin and crack cocaine addict and his life living on the streets of Central London. Towards the end of this book Mark receives help and enters into rehabilitation and at last the reader gets a sense that this young man will eventually be able to live a happier, more healthy fulfilled life. Truly one off the most honest accounts I have read in years.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback