Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.8 out of 5 stars19
2.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 May 2014
THE MOVIE

There are two recent fantasy releases that piqued my interest, the first being PAGAN QUEEN and the second being THE WARRIORESS. PAGAN QUEEN is the superior film of the two.
Both are B movies and in both cases the cover promises more than the movies are able to deliver.
The story of WARRIORESS is inept and paper-thin and not that interesting. Yet another prophecy... yet another chosen one who must pass several trials before going on a quest, nothing that hasn't been done a million times before. This is where PAGAN QUEEN is far superior.
The acting is mainly wooden. The main actress Cecily Fay (Boudiccu) is the only cast member noteworthy.
This is not director/writer Ross Boyask's best job (TEN DEAD MEN for instance had a paper-thin plot as well, but was far better executed).
WARRIORESS is very cheesie at times which will certainly make you roll your eyes every now and then.
The fight scenes are - for a B movie - quite well choreographed (better than PAGAN QUEEN!!), but still far from great.
My final point of criticism is the CGI-created Falonex (the bad guys) HQ city, which should have remained on the cutting room floor. I've seen CGI effects from movies in the 90s that were far superior than what is presented here. Sometimes less is more.
Certainly far from the best this genre has to offer, but not the worst.
2.5 OUT OF 5.0 STARS.

THE DVD

Reviewed version: 2014 4Digital Media UK DVD
Feature running time: 92 mins. (Uncut)
Rating: Not Rated (MPAA) / 15 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 (anamorphic)
Audio: English 5.1
Subtitles: NONE
Chapters: 12
Extras: None
Region: 2

Picture: C+
Audio: B
Extras: NONE
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
This may be a low budget movie but it kicks above it's weight particularly in the fight scenes which are brilliant; the amazing locations in which it has been filmed add to the drama. The beautiful Cecily Fay as the heroine is a luminous presence on the screen and makes a formidable Warrioress and it's good to see women taking leading roles. If this is what can be accomplished by these british film makers on limited finances one can only imagine what a bigger budget would achieve.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
As an avid Xenite, I'm always game for movies featuring strong female protagonists with a strong bond between them. This is not one of them!

40 minutes into the movie, I still had NO connection to the main character; I didn't care whether she lived or died. I didn't know enough about her as a woman to like her (or dislike her, for that matter). Far too little attention was paid to character development. Yes, the fight scenes are well done, but without well written dialog to tie it together, there's no thread to carry the story. Low budget isn't the problem. Next time, they need to hire someone with strong screenwriting capabilities.

I noticed that the people giving the 4-5 star reviews are dudes commenting on how "sexy" the lead is. Personally, I could do with less "sexy" and more acting ability! An early sex scene without context felt like it was more to establish the Warrioress was into sleeping with guys than anything else. Knowing nothing about her OR the male lover = no investment in their relationship. What was his name? Why is he even in the movie? What does his character do to move us along? The people who acted in the film had NO charisma and no chemistry between them.

The bad guys spent more time making silly faces (meant to be menacing, I suppose) than anything significant. Why are they a threat? Who WERE the parties to one another? What was their conflict about?

I'm sure that the film was very well intentioned; but that doesn't get over the giant holes. If fight scenes between skimpily clad females with limited acting skills are you bag, Warrioress is the movie for you.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
After a long wait, Warrioress is in my grasp! A cold wind from the U.K. blows my way! Ok, Ok, I hear my readers are like, man you promised to review this a year ago, what is the delay? Be patient, things take time, and thus T's have to be crossed, I's have to be dotted and Q's have to be squiggly lined! As promised Dan's Movie Report in 2013 will continue to feature self financed films, spotlighting indie film makers! Watch for Warrioress Director Ross Boyask interview later in 2013!

Warrioress opens with a our sexy heroine Cecily Fay, as Boudiccu, calmly showering in a waterfall, yeah there is some nudity, so for all those asking, the film has some. Just like in the film In My Skin the person naked, produced and wrote the movie, so no casting couch, unless that particular couch is full of swords haha!

Soon trouble is a brewing whoa, a lady is in distress in the forest, and in a flash, Boudiccu slips into a small revealing dress and dispatches her unworthy adversaries. Cecily is an accomplished Silat practitioner, her moves in Warrioress, are fluid and effortless as she dances from scene to scene in a blood soaked ballet. Although some of the villains are background fodder, they are not the focus of Warrioress.

The quest to fulfill and ancient, yet incomplete prophecy is revealed that a warrior must be chosen through combat every generation. For the quest Boudiccu is given two magical swords, The Opener and The Dragon Singer. All the while an ancient spirit the Morrigha [...] speaks in riddles to confound Boudiccu, thus forcing her to meet her fate, without much of a clue! Yeah I got a bit lost here, but the flowery dialogue and ominous foreboding is enough to set the mood.

Of course there is fierce, and sexy resistance. The seething energy offered up by the female fighting force of Falonex Assassins is my favorite scene in the film. The Falonex, Ruled by and aggressive and sultry Djahn portrayed with zeal and fervor by excellent stunt-woman Helen Steinway Bailey her fights are detailed and expertly choreographed. Yeah, watch for more on her soon!

Not to be outdone, Martial Artist, Actress, and purveyor of all around mayhem with piercing stares; Falonex Assassin Zara Phythian has an epic dual with Cecily. While most women sit around and argue the merits of Cosmopolitan, and how to prepare fondue, refreshingly, these two ladies gladly use whip-chains, swords, and Bo Staffs are used to discuss matters!

In fact virtually every weapon is displayed throughout the copious fighting in Warrioress, and I mean everything. Boudiccu is joined on her quest by a second warrior named White Arrow (Joelle Simpson) as in the prophecy one from each village. The two are forced to form an alliance as based on the prophecy, but to what end? White Arrow's skill lie in cunning,thievery, and deadly arrow accuracy. She makes men and women quiver with her quiver! She is a hard drinking, crass ruffian, this the ironic exact opposite of white! HAHA! The dichotomy of the two characters works, as they go on their quest, with Boudiccu wanting to go in hard and White Arrow, picking her battles. Simpson's voice is booming and authoritative, and works well for her character

Warrioress has humor, but not over the top, just enough to keep you smiling. As Boudiccu declares "A different Death For Each of them!" in one scene littered with and enough adversaries to attack a village!

Ahhhh... back to the quest, No! Not gonna spoil it! Damn you reviewer tell us more! There is fighting, an even greater enemy, prisoners, a variety of outfit changes haha etc... An official Production blog is set @ [...] Check that site for an detailed character list if you want more!

On the periphery, the movie is well framed camera wise, utilizing the forest, shoreline, etc even on this limited budget is rather cool. The fight scenes seem to be choreographed based on ability of those involved, as some fights are amazing, others are just a one and done thing. Overall quite amazing!

Warrioress has the feel of Dragon Crusaders, minus the dragon, Scorpion King 3, minus the elephants, and creates its own sub-genre as Sword, Dress, And Sandals Flick HAHA! It must be noted that although Dragon Crusaders came out first Warrioress was filmed first. For more info on Cecily Fay Check her interview. Warrioress is far better than most of the SyFy aired movies and should find a home in the U.S. Film Market, in addition should screen well at U.S. Comic Book Conventions. Overall I rate Warrioress a sexy, violent, sardonic ride, and a 7 out of 10. Worthy of a purchase! Cecily Fay is just amazing! Buy it!
0Comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Has lots of action quite enjoyable
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
I don't like to be mean with reviews, I'm sure a lot of hard work went into it, and it was fun to make. But, martial arts moves aside, this is amateur hour. It's like a group of friends have got together and decided to make a film even though none of them have ever done it before.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
Don't get all the good reviews this film is crap actings so bad so are effect well what effects, even the fight scenes are atrocious you can see Cecily waiting for the next fight move as the enemy's too slow. It gets 1* for her getting her kit off a few times!!
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
NO NO NO, don't buy it, you'll hate it, one of those films in the first twenty seconds you'll know just how bad it's going to be. I can't believe people spend time and money producing such dross, wouldn't even want to watch it if I was in solitary confinement.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
The fighting scenes in this film were good but the film was not. Shame because it had all the right ingredients but badly executed.
0Comment3 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
I bought a copy of this film to be able to see what Cecily Fay, a female martial artist was about - and was astounded. She is fantastic - the martial arts in this excellent movie rocks! You can see every move and there are NO WIRES! I haven't seen martial arts as good as this in a film for a very long time. The acting is cool and the story line is really good - overall a brilliant independent, low budget, high production value British movie. A full five stars for this wicked film - buy it or miss out!!!!!
0Comment2 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.26

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Full-Length Movies from $2.99. Get the Best Quality HD Experience.