The Warlock's Shadow (Thief-Taker Series) and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Start reading The Warlock's Shadow (Thief-Taker Series) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

The Warlock's Shadow (Thief-Taker) [Hardcover]

Stephen Deas , Paul Young
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
RRP: 16.99
Price: 13.74 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: 3.25 (19%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, 21 Aug.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition 4.49  
Hardcover 13.74  
Paperback 5.68  

Book Description

20 Oct 2011 Thief-Taker

Berren is not enjoying himself. Trapped in a temple, forced to learn how to read, how to write and how to recall the histories of the Saints, all he wants is to be given a sword. As a thief-taker's apprentice he imagined a world of daring night-time chases, glorious victories and a life of excitement. His dreams aren't quite coming true.

So when a prince - the first and last prince he'll ever see - hires the thief-taker as a bodyguard, Berren is thrilled. When he hears that a troupe of Dragon Monks - exotic warriors and the best swordsmen in the world - are visiting, he sees an opportunity to learn how to fight. When one of the Monks turns out to be a girl of the same age, his future suddenly seems a lot brighter.

But when a shadowy figure launches an attack on the life of Prince Sharda, Berren finds himself plunged into a world of danger, intrigue and terror. He may discover that being trained with a sword isn't enough - sometimes, you have to know who to fight.

Sequel to the best-selling THE THIEF-TAKER'S APPRENTICE, THE WARLOCK'S SHADOW drags the reader back in to the nocturnal and dangerous world of Berren, orphan and reluctant hero. Perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan and Robin Hobb.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (20 Oct 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0575094516
  • ISBN-13: 978-0575094512
  • Product Dimensions: 14.4 x 22.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 713,830 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

Book Description

A city of dark and deadly secrets, a prince who must be protected, a young man who can barely use a sword. Berren's thrilling new adventure from the author of The Adamantine Palace.

From the Back Cover

Berren is not enjoying himself. Trapped in a temple, forced to learn how to read and write, all he wants is to be given a sword. As a thief-taker's apprentice he imagined a world of daring night-time chases, glorious victories and a life of excitement. His dreams aren't quite coming true.

So when a prince hires the thief-taker as a bodyguard, Berren is thrilled. When he hears that a troupe of Dragon Monks - exotic warriors and the best swordsmen in the world - are visiting, he sees an opportunity to learn how to fight. When one of the Monks turns out to be a girl of the same age, his future suddenly seems a lot brighter.

But when a shadowy figure launches an attack on the life of Prince Sharda, Berren finds himself plunged into a world of danger, intrigue and terror. He may discover that being trained with a sword isn't enough - sometimes, you have to know who to fight . . .

www.stephendeas.com

978 0 575 09453 6

£6.99

[cover for The Thief Taker's Apprentice]

--This text refers to the Paperback edition.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable YA story. 11 Aug 2012
By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
Review

Ok so this isn't the memory of flames series. But i don't think it ever pretends to be. This is Young Adult Fiction, a genre that is riddled with cliched rubbish. Deas doesn't do that he doesn't talk down to these young readers and as such provides a series that is a spawning ground for imagination and draws new readers into one of the finest genres around. He provides great characters great locations a great world for you the readers to go to and forget reality. This is full on fantasy, just mildly toned down for the YA market and yet still providing a tale that me a 40 year old can enjoy as well.
Its fantastic work and recommended
(Parm)

Book description
Berren is not enjoying himself. Trapped in a temple, forced to learn how to read, how to write and how to recall the histories of the Saints, all he wants is to be given a sword. As a thief-taker's apprentice he imagined a world of daring night-time chases, glorious victories and a life of excitement. His dreams aren't quite coming true. So when a prince - the first and last prince he'll ever see - hires the thief-taker as a bodyguard, Berren is thrilled. When he hears that a troupe of Dragon Monks - exotic warriors and the best swordsmen in the world - are visiting, he sees an opportunity to learn how to fight. When one of the Monks turns out to be a girl of the same age, his future suddenly seems a lot brighter. But when a shadowy figure launches an attack on the life of Prince Sharda, Berren finds himself plunged into a world of danger, intrigue and terror. He may discover that being trained with a sword isn't enough - sometimes, you have to know who to fight. Sequel to the best-selling THE THIEF-TAKER'S APPRENTICE, THE WARLOCK'S SHADOW drags the reader back in to the nocturnal and dangerous world of Berren, orphan and reluctant hero. Perfect for readers of Trudi Canavan and Robin Hobb.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon stop overcharging for Kindle e-books 3 Dec 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Amazon you need to respect your customers - stop abusing your monopoly over Kindle e-book distribution by overcharging. It should NEVER be more expensive to buy the e-book version than a hard copy version. Can you imagine how galling it is to receive endless spam e-mails from you telling me that the hardback version of a book is cheaper than the electronic version. And pay your taxes like everybody else.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars 22 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
brilliant read couldnt put it down
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Warlocks Shadow 23 May 2012
By LB555
Format:Hardcover
This was a good book and a good easy read. Nice and quick but full of descriptions. I would say it is for perhaps a younger audience. Maybe the 14-16 as the main character is about the same age. But an enjoyable read all round and would very much recommend it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining read 6 Mar 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Nicely delveoped characters and world, descriptive writing style, balanced with action, almost perfect.

The story mainly revolves around Berren a young 15-16 year old street urchin who seems to have this constant drive to want to master the sword so that he can gain respectability.

He is taught by a master thief taker who has another agenda going on besides thief taking and a young girl who he falls in love with.

Overall, a good plot, enjoyable story, a few unecessary twists I thought and a lot of potential for more books in the series.

In my opinion this book is a good sequel, better than the first book, though capable of being read as a stand alone too.

I have a couple of gripes with the book, which is why I am not giving it 5 stars.

1. If the hero had been taught to fight then he would not be in such constant danger, instead though he is constantly exposed to danger, but has to rely on others to defend him.

2. The next book has not been released yet.

3. Couple of flaws in logic:

4. Seems no one ever baths, though there are plenty of references to people smelling i.e. poor vs rich.

5. Short of money living on gruel, opportunity to collect wealth not taken.

6. Throwing arms and armour away while hiding one sword, makes one think why did they not hide more than the one sword.

7 Plenty of opportunity to aquire a sword, but...

8 Going into combat without a sword.

9 Not giving the thief taker the message.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback