Buy Used
Used - Very Good See details
Price: 1.98

or
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Warhead [Paperback]

Andy Remic
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Amazon.co.uk Trade-In Store
Did you know you can use your mobile to trade in your unwanted books for an Amazon.co.uk Gift Card to spend on the things you want? Visit the Books Trade-In Store for more details or check out the Trade-In Amazon Mobile App Guidelines on how to trade in using a smartphone. Learn more.

Book Description

6 Oct 2005

On an Earth where conventional armies are powerless to defend against the devastation wrought by single assassins, the secret organisation known as SPIRAL exists to fight a shadow war against fanatics and rogue states of every creed and political persuasion. Remorseless, unstoppable, of every country and of none, SPIRAL conducts its covert operations throughout the world in a never-ending battle for humanity's survival.

Carter is a highly trained operative in the world's toughest secret service. However, his enemies are closing in and he will need to call on all his experience to survive to his next mission ... The world could depend on it.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product details

  • Paperback: 576 pages
  • Publisher: Orbit (6 Oct 2005)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1841491748
  • ISBN-13: 978-1841491745
  • Product Dimensions: 17.9 x 11 x 3.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 644,136 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Andy Remic lives in Lincoln, UK, although his heart and viking soul belong to the Scottish mountains. Married with two children, Andy has a variety of esoteric and sometimes contrasting loves, including sword fighting, climbing, mountain biking, kick-boxing, Ducati motorcycles and retro-gaming. He recently wrote the retro-computer version of his novel Biohell for the 48K Spectrum, in which many people are still stuck.

Andy writes in the SF, fantasy, horror and thriller fields, and is an avid filmmaker/scriptwriter/director with his fledgling fun indie film company, Grunge Films.

Books by Andy Remic:

Thrillers: Spiral, Quake and Warhead

SF novels: War Machine, Biohell, Hardcore, Cloneworld, and Theme Planet.

Fantasy novels: Kell's Legend, Soul Stealers, Vampire Warlords, +upcoming anthology The Clockwork Vampire Chronicles

You can read more about Andy at www.andyremic.com.

Product Description

Review

A new writer who knows what a regular reader sitting on the bus wants - action ... Pure Die Hard, pure Rambo. This has got to be a film, surely!' LADSMAG

Book Description

A fast-paced, high-octane, near-future thriller for readers of Andy McNab and Matthew Reilly.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.6 out of 5 stars
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warhead ROCKS!!! 22 Jan 2006
Format:Paperback
I have heard a lot of good things about Andy Remic, and started off with Spiral and Quake (which were good books, fast paced, good stories and in-depth characters) - but WARHEAD is by far and away the best of the three books and the best book I've read in years! From an instant action start the book throttles along at incredible pace. The story is really brilliant, exciting, fun, there's a lot of comedy between the two main characters Carter and Mongrel, lots of dark humour, and yet there is also a depth of emotion. This book is less offensive than the first two in terms of bad language (but then that never really bothered me anyway) and shows a great maturing of somebody I think is going to be an incredible and stunning writer in the future. Andy is only quite young and it's great to think we have some upcoming brilliant talent to take over from the "oldies" as their work fades away. I raise my glass to you Mr Remic! Your books are brilliant, and I hope we get to see lots more of Carter/ Mongrel/ Roxi in the future. Roll on the fourth SPIRAL novel!!!!! Come on Orbit, get publishing faster!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thumping good read 19 Oct 2005
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Like the first two Spiral novels this book is fun to read a great adventure story.
Great action I enjoyed this book from the moment I started reading it.
The Carter/Kade character is one of the all time greats in my
fiction top 10
enjoy you will !!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A worthy threequel 25 Jan 2008
By Mr. G. Battle VINE VOICE
Format:Paperback
I've learned something about Andy Remic's work - you seriously need to suspend your disbelief. After an interesting concept in Spiral and what seemed a cashcow sequel with Quake, I was unsure about Warhead. About two hundred pages in I was still unimpressed. It seemed that Warhead had the same characters, with the same issues, fighting the same enemy, with the same arch-nemesis and the same level of expletives that the previous books featured. Then, Remic must have had a spark of imagination. The plot gets tighter and (finally!) offers twist after twist with some great banter between the Spiral team members. It continues to offer the absolute non-stop action of the previous novels, but Warhead delivers on many threads which have been left untied in the first two entries. There is closure amongst this futuristic tale and it makes for far better reading. A simple yet entertaining yarn.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same please 8 Mar 2006
By Nick
Format:Paperback
Excellent as were the first two in the series. I literally couldnt put this down.
This series of 3 would make great films.
I wouldnt bother reading this unless you have already read Sprial and Quake, as you are pretty sure to want to read them afterwards and taking them out of order would ruin the first two for you.
Cant wait for his next novel, although im not sure if this series could go any further now.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warhead rocks. 22 Jan 2006
Format:Paperback
I have heard a lot of good things about Andy Remic, and started off with Spiral and Quake (which were good books, fast paced, good stories and in-depth characters) - but WARHEAD is by far and away the best of the three books and the best book I've read in years! From an instant action start the book throttles along at incredible pace. The story is really brilliant, exciting, fun, there's a lot of comedy between the two main characters Carter and Mongrel, lots of dark humour, and yet there is also a depth of emotion. This book is less offensive than the first two in terms of bad language (but then that never really bothered me anyway) and shows a great maturing of somebody I think is going to be an incredible and stunning writer in the future. Andy is only quite young and it's great to think we have some upcoming brilliant talent to take over from the "oldies" as their work fades away. I raise my glass to you Mr Remic! Your books are brilliant, and I hope we get to see lots more of Carter/ Mongrel/ Roxi in the future. Roll on the fourth SPIRAL novel!!!!! Come on Orbit, get publishing faster!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xae4c9744)

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback