Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Voyager: Seeking Newer Worlds in the Third Great Age of Discovery [Hardcover]

Stephen J. Pyne
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover --  
Paperback 9.15  


Product details

  • Hardcover: 444 pages
  • Publisher: Viking Books (22 July 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0670021830
  • ISBN-13: 978-0670021833
  • Product Dimensions: 3.8 x 16.5 x 23.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 803,472 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description

HardCover Pub Date: 2010 07 Pages: 444 in Publisher: Penguin Group. (USA) Incorporated. A illiant new account of the Voyager space program-its history. Scientific impact and cultural legacyLaunched in 1977. The two unmanned Voyager spacecraft have completed their Grand Tour to the four outer planets. and they are now on course to become the first man-made objects to exit our solar system. To many. this remarkable achievement is the culmination of a golden age of American planetary exploration. begun in the wake of the 1957 Sputnik launch. More than this. Voyager may be one of the purest expressions of exploration in human history.For more than five hundred years the West has been powered by the impulse to explore. to push into a wider world. In this highly original book. Stephen Pyne recasts Voyager in the tradition of Magellan. Columbus. Cook. Lewis and Clark. and other lan...

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
1 star
0
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing 5 Aug 2011
Format:Hardcover
I was very eager to read this book, as I believe the Voyager story is amazing. However the author goes to great lengths to compare the voyager mission to earlier missions of disovery, and so much of the book is taken up with descriptions of explorations I was already aware of. I was hoping for more about how the idea for the mission came about, the detail of the instrumentation and the sheer incredible achievement of realising a project when the technology needed didn't really exist. I still think there is a great book to be written about Voyager, how it came about, how it was realised, its trials and tribulations, the impact that the pictures and data it returned have had and continue to have on the world. Sadly , I felt to much of this book was taken up with the thesis of "the third age of Discovery", rather than just telling the Voyager story. One example is that the author jumps pretty much from the final deciasion to go ahead with the project to the launch. It was during this period that decisions regarding the instrumentation to be used, the type of camera, the power source etc were made, it was these decisions that made Voyager the great success it was and still is, and I want to know more about the how and why.
That said, it's great that Voyager is still in the public mind, and continues to send back information from so far away. I believe Voyager is amoungst the greatest man-made objects of all time.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voyager 18 Sep 2010
Format:Hardcover
Excellent book, quick arrival and in perfect condition. Makes you dream about what is out there!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.2 out of 5 stars  25 reviews
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Misses the Mark...Needs a mid-course Correction! 3 Aug 2010
By SynVis - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Born in 1949, I grew up with Sputnik and Apollo and Voyager. I wanted very much to love this book. Only about half the book is actually about Voyager. The rest is philosophical meanderings on earlier ages of exploration. Perhaps I was just impatient but I really just wanted to know everything I coulld about Voyager. It is very well written but that just makes the missed potential that much more wistful. If Voyager had wandered around this much, it would have never made it past the asteroid belt!
23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moderately interesting history 28 July 2010
By Alan Fishman - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I really wanted to like this book as the history and science of unmanned space exploration can be an interesting one. But I felt like I've largely been down this road before via Carl Sagan's ground-breaking book Cosmos. While the author provides some interesting information on the two Voyager space probes and their journeys to the outer planets I didn't really learn much of anything new. I would recommend this book to a high school science student who was new to the topic of space exploration. But for anyone who has followed planetary exploration for a while I'd say there are better books and sources of information on the web.
23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VOYAGER wanders around 30 July 2010
By Charles E. Brown Jr. - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
The big has some interesting ideas and tidbits, but it dashes from one subject to another too much. For example, the author tells us that the story of Henry the Navigator was a myth, but he doesn't tell us what he thought really happened. He mentioned Uranus's peculiarities several times without what saying what they are (fortunately I read about them in another book). Too much of the book is dominated by false comparisons with Europe's two ages of conquest. A better analogy would have been the Chinese expeditions under Cheng Ho, organized by a wealthy nation to show off his success, and cancelled when the money ran low. Some interesting diagrams in back, but I would have been most interested in seeing a diagram of the satellite itself. Perhaps a second edition with more focus would be a good idea.
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much philosphy 5 Sep 2010
By Papa D - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
I was expecting a lot more about the two Voyagers, but most of the book seemed to be about "the philosophical underpinnings of human exploration." Seemed to me that the author stretched the connections between 15-17th century explorations with the missions of the two Voyagers. I skimmed and skipped many pages.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible waste of time & money 1 July 2011
By Richard Edelmann - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
As with most Space exploration and Space flight books I was expecting a book about Aerospace and Space. This was an endless diatribe of unsupported personal perspectives on historical events. It boils down a "Gee, look at everything I read in College/Graduate School, and now I am sharing it with you." Travels of ancient Sumerians really have no point. And yet over 50% of the chapters in the first third of book is filled with irrelevant historical events from long before 1800 CE (I have to say first third because that is all the time I was willing to waste on this tripe). There is very little technical information of the actual Voyager of space exploration. Do not bother with this book, even if you are a fan of Ancient History as this book fails on that front as well. Shame on me for buying it, but shame on NPR for recommending it.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback