£23.95 + £1.26 shipping
In stock. Sold by EliteDigital UK

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Vivaldi: Gloria/Magnificat Original recording reissued

Price: £23.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by EliteDigital UK.
10 used from £1.90

Product details

Disc: 1
1. Gloria, RV589: Gloria In Excelsis Deo - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
2. Gloria, RV589: Et In Terra Pax - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
3. Gloria, RV589: Laudamus Te, Benedicimus Te - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
4. Gloria, RV589: Gratias Agimus Tibi - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
5. Gloria, RV589: Propter Magnam Gloriam Tuam - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
6. Gloria, RV589: Domine Deus, Rex Caelestis - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
7. Gloria, RV589: Domine Fili Unigenite, Iesu Christe - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
8. Gloria, RV589: Domine Deus, Agnus Dei - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
9. Gloria, RV589: Qui Tollis Peccat Mundi - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
10. Gloria, RV589: Qui Sedes Ad Dexteram Patris - Deborah York/Patrizia Biccire/Sara Mingardo/Akademia/Francoise Lasserre
See all 29 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Pange Cum Letitia - Discoveries 2000 - Jubilee CDs
2. Christus Am Olberge, Op.85: Die Mich Zu Fangen Ausgezogen Sind, Jesus - Discoveries 2000 - Jubilee CDs
3. Gran Piadad - Discoveries 2000 - Jubilee CDs
4. Die Sieben Letzten Worte: Il Terremoto: Er Ist Nicht Mehr - Discoveries 2000 - Jubilee CDs
5. Dami Conforto - Discoveries 2000 - Italy
6. O Dolorosa Giola: Ascuigate I Begli Occhi - Discoveries 2000 - Italy
7. Musica Sacra, Vol.1: Con in D, RV554: Allegro - Discoveries 2000 - Italy
8. Il Giudizion Universale: Or De' Le Pene E Da Le Gioie Udite La Vita Ch'avanza - Discoveries 2000 - Italy
9. Cons De Camera: Con in F, RV99: Allegro - Discoveries 2000 - Italy
10. La Finta Cameriera: Via Si, Si Metta La Veste - Discoveries 2000 - Italy
See all 19 tracks on this disc

Product Description


"Not another recording of Vivaldi's Gloria!" I hear you groan. Admittedly there have been many, many interpretations of this piece captured on disc, but I can guarantee you won't have heard one quite like this. Rinaldo Alessandrini and his authentic instrument ensemble Concerto Italiano have taken Vivaldi's choral work by the scruff of the neck, shaken it up and blown the cobwebs off, and the result is thrilling. The tempi are faster than ever heard before but Alessandrini also knows when to relax. The alto "Domine Deus", for example, is full of slow, melting pathos, and sung beautifully by Sara Mingardo. The mixed-voice choir is taut and young sounding, and the performers clearly respond with enthusiasm to Alessandrini's highly energetic approach. The conductor has rescued Vivaldi from the sombre pieties of religious solemnity and returned him to the dramatic theatricality of the opera house--and he definitely sounds happier. (Comes with a bonus sampler disc of other Opus 111 releases.) --Warwick Thompson

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Best Gloria buy 10 May 2002
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
This Gloria is the same as Amazon recommend as an essential on that special page but it has another front, is cheaper in price (a bargain) and an extra disc too (at least my copy has an extra disc).
Gloria starts VERY fast but Allesandrini give us a very special Gloria with great singing (and he slow it down after a while... tempi is probably something you find veryy odd, special but he seems to give us a new great dimension of this work AND it works). This must be one of the best Gloria versions out there.
Magnificat was a big surprise for me never heard before and it is gorgeous, splendid performed.
Sound and overall quality is superb. This was my first Opus 111 set (record company) and I am more than satisfied.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Doesn't make ANY musical sense - whatsoever 20 Jun 2011
By Kelvin Brown - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I'll keep this short. I love classical music, love Baroque, and have great admiration for Alessandrini and the Concerto Italiano. He has made some wonderful Vivaldi recordings available on both Naive and Brilliant Classics, as well as other small European labels. Those things aren't in question here.

The Sound: The engineering in flawless. Close, with just the right amount of reverb, and equalized to perfection.

Th Performance. To my ears, he takes things way too fast or way too slow, driving twenty thousand leagues beneath any emotional connection to the underlying reason for the music - whatsoever. The faster pieces, like the Domine Fili Unigenite, are so fast you'd think your CD player was skipping if it weren't for the "pop" and "clicks" that usually accompany that annoying phenomenon. In the Laudumus Te, tempo so slow the soloists gasping for air and breathing in places loudly enough to sound like they are being pressed to death.

The Magnificat isn't quite as bad, but I honestly have never wanted to slap a conductor in the face for senseless self indulgence until now. At the price your going to pay for this used, attempt to listen to this somewhere on the web before you get your credit card out. If he were trying to get into the Guinness Book of World Records, that would be something else entirely. What's next? A four minute "Messiah?"
7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
Awesome 17 Oct 2000
By Tyler - Published on Amazon.com
i am 19 years old and i usually don't buy classical music but i have wanted lately to get into some classical music. so i ask our classical guy at my work for a good CD that had vocals on it. and he gave me this CD. and i was blown away with what i heard. the vocals go so well with the music that it is hard for me to stop the CD. this is truly a great piece of work. a good buy and it is only $8.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category