Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars43
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2007
Nalini Singh's fresh take on the world of paranormal is as gripping as ever, with strong action and a cast of interesting characters. Visions of Heat continues somewhat the original plot of the first book, Slave to Sensation. The Psy are a race known for their cold aloof facades and the deadly minds they cloak beneath. Thanks to a rigid race determined to conceal their slightest imperfections, killers are born, and it's up to the changelings once again to protect not only their own but the Psy as well.

Faith Nightstar is the embodiement of a sheltered Psy. As an F-Psy able to predict the future, her talents are coveted by her family. Cocooned against the outside world, she's tucked away in her own compound, where she can predict safe things, things that make the PsyClan Nightstar very wealthy. When dark, disturbing visions begin to plague her at any given time, and a particular murder cuts too close to home, she knows she cannot ignore them...no matter how fragile her mind might be.

Drawn to the enigmatic and unusual Psy, Changeling Vaughn D'Angelo uses his abilities as a jaguar to encroach on Faith's territory. He must tread carefully, for too much contact with the delicate Psy could send her senses into overload. He's determined to make her feel though and it's going to be on his terms. He sees strength in Faith and that's what he plans to draw forth in her, till she can handle exactly what he wants to give her. When visions of the killer cut too close to home, and the Psy come for her too, Vaughn will be there to catch Faith and dispense the remorseless justice changelings are known so well for.

Vaughn's story was one I greatly looked forward to and came out pretty pleased with. An aloof character in the first book, it was interesting to read exactly what made up this single jaguar member of the DarkRiver leopards. As a sentinel for his adoptive clan, he's fierce, loyal and dangerously cunning. When he sets these talented sights on Faith it's an instant animal attraction that roars to the surface, ready to claim the confounding woman. Faith, knows her boundaries, and while she thinks there's no place for her in Vaughn's world, she proves herself to be invaluable to him and it's not for the cold reasons her Psyclan wants her. Their interactions make this installment worth the read. While the villain this time didn't stand out the way the previous book's baddy did, I found myself not minding in the least by book's end. Ms. Singh is a master at dishing up the details at just the right intervals, allowing her plots and subplots to flow beautifully amongst one another. Stay tuned for more from this fascination new world. Next up is Caressed by Ice, this time starring a Psy member as the hero. It releases September 4, 2007.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2007
For anyone who hasn't read the first book in the series (Slave to Sensation), Visions of Heat is set on an alternative history Earth, where the planet is populated by three races: - Changelings - shapeshifters who rely on their animal instincts, The Psy who are emotionless and cold, and human beings. I would recommend you read Slave to Sensation first if possible, as there are plotlines started there that continue into VoH.

Faith NightStar is an F-Psy (F-foresight) tormented by dark visions (no pun intended :)). Unsure of what is happening to her and not wanting to reveal her fragile state of mind to the Psy Council she seeks out Sascha Duncan (Slave to Sensation) the only Psy known to be free of the Psynet. It's while she is looking for Sascha that she meets Vaughn D'Angelo, a jaguar Changeling who is inexplicably drawn to Faith. (I note here that Vaughn is an incredibly alpha hero, almost to the point of being unbearable on a couple of occasions.)

I've read on some reviews that there is a preference for Sascha (the heroine of StS) over Faith. I however, like Faith, she's a contradiction - incredibly fragile, but at the same time so single-minded she manages to push herself farther than she thinks she can go.

It almost seems like the relationship between the two of them shouldn't work. Vaughn the irresistible force willing Faith to take on more. Faith the immovable object giving in. And yet they fit, in a way I don't think either of them would be able to with anybody else. I wish the book had been longer so we could see this relationship evolve even further.

One of the things I really enjoyed was the continuance of plot threads from StS - we meet up with Sascha and Lucas again, and it's interesting to see how much Sascha has changed between books. There has also been fallout from the incident at the end of StS and this is still being dealt with by the Psy Council, who, if possible, got scarier. We also find out more about how the Psynet itself functions and get a hint of how this will impact the Psy. Visions of Heat is perhaps not as intense as Slave to Sensation and we're now clued into how this alternative world works; but there is an awful lot here to mull over.

I very much like how the overall arc of the series is developing. Nalini Singh starts to increase the tension in Visions of Heat and I can't wait for Caressed by Ice in September.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2007
Nalini Singh's first novel, 'Slave To Sensation', released last year was a fresh addition to the urban fantasy genre. Her world was peopled by three groups - humans, changelings (werewolves) and the Psy. The Psy were the heirs to Mr Spock's world, emotionless people in a constant Vulcan mind-meld with each other; the Psy world of Silence had the benefit of no evil, murders etc but the disadvantage of no emotions. But was there really no evil? And when Sascha a cardinal (very powerful) Psy started to think she was losing her mind and started investigating the outside world of changelings, she discovered that the PsyNet has its problems and its ruthlessness.

The events in 'Visions of Heat' take place a couple of months after Sascha's 'defection' to the animals. Faith NightStar, our heroine, knows of Sascha, despite being confined for her whole life in a facility. This is because Faith is very important - and lucrative - to her family; she is an F-Psy, a Forseer, able to foresee with 100% accuracy market trends and other business data. Although this talent is colossally useful and gives the families with the rare F-Psy a huge amount of income generation, it is also a very dangerous talent; lots of F-Psy go insane very early on and few retain their marbles into their fifties. Faith is in her mid twenties but now she's wondering if her days of sanity are coming to an end as she starts to experience visions of murder and evil, not just economics information. She decides to sneak out of the compound where she lives to take a look at the outside world and, more importantly, to try and contact Sascha, the only Psy to ever escape the PsyNet, to see if Sascha can help her.

Vaughn D'Angelo, a jaguar changeling, has been watching the compound for some time, drawn to it for reasons that he doesn't understand. When he meets Faith and takes her to Sascha he tries to help her to move outside her Psy nature with systematic desensitisation - in other words, he touches her a lot. She's afraid it will cause her to have a seizure but she has to push the boundaries and learn what is truth and what is just Psy conditioning that has been forced on her.

Underlying this story is the murderer whose visions Faith is seeing and who she wants to stop. However this side of the story isn't that important, the overall focus is on Faith and Vaughn and their relationship. Faith does an awful lot of changing, learning, growing in this book; Vaughn doesn't seem to change much at all.

Although I did enjoy this story it didn't quite work as well for me as 'Slave To Sensation'. It's difficult understanding the world of the Psy as so much is going on in their heads and it's difficult for the reader to fully engage in it. It's a complex world, and an interesting one, and the characters are varied and all have their own issues, but the central story in this book for me had less power. There's a little taster in the back of this printing of the next book, 'Caressed By Ice', focusing on Judd Lauren. This sample chapter looked very interesting so I'm looking forward to that book and hoping that it will have that little extra that 'Slave To Sensation' had which was perhaps lacking in this story.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2007
For anyone who hasn't read the first book in the series (Slave to Sensation), Visions of Heat is set on an alternative history Earth, where the planet is populated by three races: - Changelings - shapeshifters who rely on their animal instincts, The Psy who are emotionless and cold, and human beings. I would recommend you read Slave to Sensation first if possible, as there are plotlines started there that continue into VoH.

Faith NightStar is an F-Psy (F-foresight) tormented by dark visions (no pun intended :)). Unsure of what is happening to her and not wanting to reveal her fragile state of mind to the Psy Council she seeks out Sascha Duncan (Slave to Sensation) the only Psy known to be free of the Psynet. It's while she is looking for Sascha that she meets Vaughn D'Angelo, a jaguar Changeling who is inexplicably drawn to Faith. (I note here that Vaughn is an incredibly alpha hero, almost to the point of being unbearable on a couple of occasions.)

I've read on some reviews that there is a preference for Sascha (the heroine of StS) over Faith. I however, like Faith, she's a contradiction - incredibly fragile, but at the same time so single-minded she manages to push herself farther than she thinks she can go.

It almost seems like the relationship between the two of them shouldn't work. Vaughn the irresistible force willing Faith to take on more. Faith the immovable object giving in. And yet they fit, in a way I don't think either of them would be able to with anybody else. I wish the book had been longer so we could see this relationship evolve even further.

One of the things I really enjoyed was the continuance of plot threads from StS - we meet up with Sascha and Lucas again, and it's interesting to see how much Sascha has changed between books. There has also been fallout from the incident at the end of StS and this is still being dealt with by the Psy Council, who, if possible, got scarier. We also find out more about how the Psynet itself functions and get a hint of how this will impact the Psy. Visions of Heat is perhaps not as intense as Slave to Sensation and we're now clued into how this alternative world works; but there is an awful lot here to mull over.

I very much like how the overall arc of the series is developing. Nalini Singh starts to increase the tension in Visions of Heat and I can't wait for Caressed by Ice in September.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
Faith NightStar is one of the strongest F-Psy of her generation. Gifted with the ability to foresee the future her ability has begun to change. Where she previously was only able to see clinical business transactions, Faith is now haunted by dark visions of blood and pain. Suddenly her visions change again, showing her passion and pleasure...and changeling Vaughn D'Angelo. Vaughn's animal side is irrevocably drawn to Faith, but as a man who craves sensation how can he cope with a woman who can't stand to be touched?

This is the second Psy-Changeling novel (after Slave to Sensation) and I was as blown away by it as I was by the first in the series. The author has managed to build on the world she created giving it even more depth. This book covers the F-Psy (or foresight) designation, but also goes deeper into the psy world revealing more about the Council and introducing PsyClans smaller almost familial groups within the larger psy community. It also explains more about how the PsyNet works and introduces the Arrows, psy who guard the Council and destroy threats to it.

The plot is very similar in some ways to Slave to Sensation in that it deals with a psy beginning to feel emotions and being romantically drawn to a changeling. I've checked the back of the next book (Caressed by Ice) and it appears that this isn't going to be a standard formula for the series. That said, although the romance covered similar lines to the previous book this didn't feel repetitive or formulaic.

I liked Faith as a lead character and it was great watching her grow in confidence and spunk. Vaughn is more primal than Lucas in the first book having spent more time in his animal form as a child, so it's interesting to see the battle between his animal and male sides. Having Faith's abject refusal of touch and Vaughn's need of it also impacts on the rest of the pack, and it's great to see how it impacts on the pack dynamics.

All in all, this was another amazing read and I can't wait to get stuck into Caressed by Ice.

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 8/10

Overall: 48/50
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2011
Since i am an addict of the Black Dagger Brotherhood series and i have not been able to come across anything that interesting so far, all i can say is this is an interesting new series!!!

I will definitely buy all of the books- this is an interesting new world that this writer has created: this is not about vampires once again and it does have a plot- i would love to have some more sex in it though....
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
This is the second book in the Psy Changeling series and I am so glad, I bought the first one, which made buying this one compulsive.

We learn a lot more about the Silence maintained by the Psy to keep their orderly lives but not all is as it seems. Vaughn is intrigued by Faith who is more or less kept in isolation because of her ability to forecast the future. This book is very well written and the story is unique. I would recommend this book to those who like reading about shapeshifters and as an added bonus you get to meet the Psy. I would also recommend that you read the first book in the series, Slave to Sensation, which I read twice whilst waiting for the second book. It is so romantic and with Hot Lucas, the Alpha of the Darkriver Leopards not to forget Hawk, the Alpha of the Snowdancers, who are werewolves, I was totally smitten.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Faith is a rare F-Psy, someone with the ability to see the future, her visions have used to predict the stock market since she was only 3 years old which has made the NightStar Clan very wealthy. Recently her visions have taken a darker turn and she seems to have become psychically linked with a murderer seeing nothing but death and destruction. She knows that she is on the verge of madness and that if the Psy Council find out she will end up institutionalised because her skills are too valuable for her mind to be wiped. Faith has no choice but to trust in the visions she sees of Vaughn, a sexy jaguar who is a member of the DarkRiver pack, who she is sure can help her track down the murderer and prevent more deaths. Vaughn's instincts tell him that Faith belongs to him but every touch brings her closer to an emotional overload that could send her over the edge. Vaughn trusts his instincts though and is determined to find a way to break through Faith's emotional barriers and convince her to take a chance on a future with him.

Visions of Heat is the second instalment to the Psy-Changeling series allows us to find out even more about the different Psy abilities and the world that Nalini Singh has created. As much as I love the Guild Hunter series I've always been fascinated by different psychic powers and I'm really enjoying learning more about the Psy. The way they have trained themselves to block out any emotions makes them come across as an incredibly cold race, they don't seem to care about anyone or anything and use logic to make their decisions. Faith has been even more sheltered than most Psy, her abilities are incredibly powerful but they make her more vulnerable to emotional overload than most other Psy. She has spent most of her life alone and has rarely had any form of physical contact with anyone apart from for medical reasons. Her horror over the visions she is seeing has caused her to seek help from Vaughn and the DarkRiver pack, she knows that Sascha is no longer part of the Psy-Net and believes that she is the only person who can help her retain her sanity.

Vaughn is the only jaguar amongst the leopards of the DarkRiver pack but they are his family and he will do anything to protect them. He is initially wary of Faith and worries that she could bring trouble do their door but there is something about her that calls to his jaguar side and he is unable to resist her. His animal instincts crave the comfort of touching her but he has to be careful not to overload her senses. I love the way Vaughn is constantly pushing Faith's boundaries, he keeps taking her to the edge but he knows better than she does what she is capable of and although he pushes her further than she thinks she can go he never takes things too far. Vaughn is a sexy alpha who is more in touch with his animal side than his human one and he certainly ticked all my favourite hero boxes. I think it is the fact that he is so different to Faith that makes them work so well as a couple, they both seem to know exactly what the other one needs and they find a way to provide it for them. Vaughn really helps Faith come to terms with her visions and he proves to her that she can cope with more than she ever would have guessed. I really enjoyed watching her grow into a confident woman as she learns more about her ability and how to control it.

It was great to catch up with Lucas and Sascha several months on from when they met in Slave to Sensation and see how they are getting on as a couple and I loved spending more time with the DarkRiver pack and getting to know some of the other characters a little better. The more I learn about the Psy-Changeling world the more intrigued I am and I have a feeling that this is going to quickly turn into one of my favourite paranormal romance series. There is something about Nalini Singh's writing style that pulls you into the story and makes you feel so connected to her characters and I can't wait to see where the series goes next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
This is the second in the Psy Changeling series and I would strongly recommend that you do read the first Slave to Sensation (Psy-changeling Series) because the characters from that book feature fairly strongly again in this one.

This book introduces us to the F Psy; those that have foresight and, in particular, Faith, the Psy who is believed to be the strongest visionary of them all. She is kept in almost full seclusion with barely any privacy of her own, whilst she makes a lot of money for her family and those that employ her to see the future. However, F Psy are known to descend into madness and Faith has the additional difficulty of trying to understand her sister's recent murder; a murder that she had visions of. She finds herself daring to look at what else is outside of her confined world and collides with a jaguar changeling, Vaughn, who struggles to keep his beast beneath the surface. Can he help her to find a life outside of the Psy world?

This book is identical in style to the first, which is fine, but I found the first book and therefore this one, lacking something. The characters are interesting; the Psy/Changeling world is still quite fascinating, but I still couldn't describe it as a page-turner. There is something unsatisfying about the dialogue a lot of the time. It is occasionally shockingly cheesy and at other times, gives away too little of what the people are feeling. In contrast, sometimes the narrative explains too much of what they feel; things that are obvious or that have been said before. It's a bit frustrating because the whole Psy world is so interesting that I really wish the books were better.

I do like this series but it doesn't make my must-read list. I will probably continue reading these books but only when I am in between must-reads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 August 2011
Faith NightStar is a cardinal F-Psy. Able to predict business trends to a high accuracy, she is worth billions to her family until she descends into the madness all those gifted with foresight inevitably succumb to. Conditioned even deeper by Silence than Sascha Duncan (the heroine from book 1 "Slave to Sensation"), Faith has been raised in almost complete isolation with minimal human contact. Despite every precaution to retain her sanity for as long as possible, Faith feels it slipping so seeks answers from sources unconnected to the PsyNet.

Of course Faith is not alone when faced with irrevocably changing her life forever. Along for the ride (and having a load of frustrated fun coaxing Faith to accept his touch) is Vaughn, the jaguar changeling introduced in book 1. Add to their burgeoning romance another Psy serial killer plus the machinations of the Psy council and there are plenty of twists and turns to the plot.

This author writes a cracking sci-fi fantasy romance. Her ideas are original and interesting, her characters are vivid enough for the reader to really empathise with their past histories and current circumstances and the romance is very sweet or very hot at the right moments. Again I have to compare NS to the likes of Sherrilyn Kenyon and Kresley Cole, as she is another author that blends together action, romance and humour to create a highly enjoyable reading experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse