Trade in Yours
For a 4.75 Gift Card
Trade in
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available

 
Tell the Publisher!
Id like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Vic And Blood: The Continuing Adventures Of A Boy And His Dog [Paperback]

Richard Corben , Harlan Ellison
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback --  
Trade In this Item for up to 4.75
Trade in Vic And Blood: The Continuing Adventures Of A Boy And His Dog for an Amazon Gift Card of up to 4.75, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

21 July 2003
The complete graphic novel cycle, with Ellison's short stories featuring illustrations by Corben. Beginning with "Eggsucker," chronicling the early days between 14-year-old loner Vic and his brilliant, telepathic dog, Blood, the book continues and expands into "A Boy and his Dog," showing how much smarter Blood is and how loyal Vic is. Each adaptation is followed by the actual Ellison short story, illustrated with previously unpublished art by Corben.


Product details

  • Paperback: 128 pages
  • Publisher: IBooks (21 July 2003)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0743459032
  • ISBN-13: 978-0743459037
  • Product Dimensions: 26.1 x 16.8 x 0.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 686,957 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

5 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback
This is a beautiful piece of work, a combination of story-telling in a traditional, graphic-novel format, interspersed with the three prose-written passages that to date, comprise the sum total of Harlan Ellison's short stories in the popular "A Boy and His Dog" cycle. Each of the three short stories ("Eggsucker," a prologue to the events chronicled in "A Boy and His Dog" and lastly, "Run Spot Run") is retold in comic-strip format, and vice versa, resulting in a highly comprehensive chronicle of events.
For any readers as yet unfamiliar with "A Boy and His Dog," these stories follow the nightmare-scenario exploits and adventures, in a post-apocalyptic world, of fifteen year old Vic, and his engagingly sarcastic, cynical and world-wearily wise canine mentor Blood, the telepathic Puli-Alsatian cross. As in most post-apocalyptic stories, Vic and Blood's tale is played out against a relentlessly brutal back-drop. The uniformly harrowing grim-ness of their situation - and of some of their actions - is only made bearable for the reader by the touching devotion that our two heroes show to one another. This, in a sense, could be said to be the whole point of the book.
This current (2003) edition, 'Vic and Blood: the Continuing Adventures of a Boy and His Dog,' represents, as far as I can tell, a fairly faithful reissue of an earlier collection (originally published in 1988-9) of exactly the same pictures and stories, one that was previously entitled 'Vic and Blood: The Chronicles of a Boy and His Dog.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Paperback
I really enjoyed this book, it got me hungry for the story to continue and it bothers me that Ellison is likely to die before he finishes it. The original text versions and the comic versions are all included, so my biggest reservation is that, as good as they are, the comic versions feel a bit redundant, because there is nothing in there that Corben really adds to make it different or enhanced in any way. Corben did a story for Dream Corridor series too, even though I hadn't read the original text versions of those either, I imagined the Ellison texts were much better. I'd rather Ellison did completely new comic stories (I know he did some original DC and Marvel superhero stories) or gave the artists some material that they could bring something new to.

((The star rating represents how much I want you to buy this item and should not be taken as a measurement of artistic merit))
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  4 reviews
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Corben back in print from iBooks as of June 2003 18 July 2003
By Babytoxie - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Sure, Harlan Ellison wrote the classic stories, but my first exposure to the adventures of Vic and Blood came through Richard Corben's comic adaptations. I read Ellison's stories later and was happy to find that the comics were very faithful adaptations. It's good to see, therefore, that the iBooks paperback edition of VIC & BLOOD - THE CONTINUING ADVENTURES OF A BOY & HIS DOG gives you the chance to compare the comics with the original stories, all in one book! You get both comic and text versions of "Eggsucker", "A Boy and His Dog", and "Run Spot Run", and the texts are accompanied by a handfull of highly detailed Corben illustrations, along with sidebar quotes from Blood (The Wit and Wisdom of Blood). It's a very attractive package, led off with a humorous introduction by Ellison that touches on his supposed upcoming novel BLOOD'S A ROVER (will we ever see it? I can only hope). While this type of literature might not be everyone's cup of tea, I give this book 5 stars for presentation, as well as its appeal to fans of Ellison and Corben - they will love it.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Ellison 26 Sep 2005
By John Oconnor - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
If you love "A Boy and His Dog", you will LOVE this book. Great stories well done in a comic style. Most women hate this series for some reason :). A wonderful read. Ellison is at his dark, bitter best, and the drawings are great.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They get no better than this! 4 Mar 2006
By Kgar - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
For me Richard Corben is the most original artist in the field. While his older work is certainly inspired by the old EC horror and crime masters, his style and aesthetic became (during the late 70's) something completely unique. His style and skill allow him to slip from realistic to iconic (or cartoony) without any of it seeming out of place. His characters have a presence and weight to them that I have seen no other comic book artist achieve. The effect is sometimes unnerving and bizzare but always engrossing.

Harlan Ellison has a similiar ability with prose. He can go from comical to downright heartbreaking without missing a beat. A Boy and His Dog is a great showcase of Ellisons ability in this respect. The combination of he and Corben is perfectly suited for this story of humor and horror on a post apocalyptic landscape. An evironment Corben seems to have mastered (see his brilliant Mutant World, recent Punisher comic, or short story An Angel Shy of Hell for other examples).

In an industry full of cheesy clenched-teeth hunched-over superheroes, or generic drawn-from-digital-photos-of-artists-friends characters and Mike Mignola rip off's it's refreshing to look at a work of art done by two rebel/masters who made their own masterpiece on their own terms with their own aesthetic.
3.0 out of 5 stars The adventure doesn't have to end....... 5 Feb 2011
By Norman - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I understand Ellisons' wanting to be rid of these characters. It's an old story, a writer or an actor gets caught up in a series or a role and, from then on, it's all the base wants from him. It happened to Conan Doyle, Basil Rathbone, Bela Lugosi, Milburn Stone, the list is endless. Doyle attempted to kill off Holmes at one point, but eventually brought him back.

If Holmes could survive, so could Vic. Examine the situation carefully, and remember that it's taking place in a gritty, sci-fi world, which is heavily irradiated and in which mutants proliferate. So, we've got a teenaged boy, with a lot of emotional baggage, who gets bitten by a radioactive spider. Would death be the single, inevitable result? I think not!

"Did he live? Listen, Bud,
There he goes with his dog named Blood!"

Face front, true believer! 'Nuff said!
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback