Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars25
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:£45.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2004
This book rates highly on my list of "Secret Single Behaviours" (Sex and the City fans will understand this one). Kept hidden on the top shelf of my wardrobe, away from the prying eyes of a committment phobic boyfriend, it is an ultimate daydream book, to be savoured on my own for moments of escapism and fantasy. The book is a beautifully-dressed window into the world of the elegant society wedding, where brides are graceful, grooms rich and handsome, venues extravagently appointed, flower arrangements gargantuan and effusive, and tables linen clad and ladenwith lead crystal glasses and sterling silver cutlery. Beautifully constructed and photographed with transparent overlays gracing some of the pages, this book meets all the aesthetic standards expected from the world's leading wedding dress designer. Vera Wang lovingly and with extraordinary sensitivity and attention to detail leads you through each step of a wedding, covering proposal, gift registery, ceremony, table settings and of course, the all important selection and fitting of the dress. The book affords glimpses of high profile weddings that manage to juxtapose the formal grandour of Occasion with touching intimate moments. One picture depicts a famous bride, bathed in early morning sunshine, hair immaculately coiffed, high heels and stockings in place, stepping into her Vera Wang gown ready to transform, chrysalis-like, into a Bride. Surprisingly, it is not an overt advert for Vera Wang couture, although it did have me rushing to the store. Rather, it is a sharing of experience and beauty from a woman for whom weddings are such a precise art that each season she creates several new shades of white.
0Comment56 of 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2002
Everything you need to know to help plan your wedding day - from flowers to invitations, from length of veil to lighting in the church. A really useful guide full of little hints and ideas. Well worth every penny!
0Comment40 of 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
It is a fabulous book.

A book to own because it is so beautiful.
It has great pictures and for each topic some hints and tips.
It is well made and it is like an art book. You can just look through it and enjoy the pictures. You can take more time and read the text - it has a personal touch of Vera Wang (references to weddings she has been / seen, things she pays attention to when making dresses etc. but it is not a promotion of Vera Wang products) and gives you practical tips of what you should not forget or might want to consider.

It covers the big things like wedding location and stationary, the ceremony music, the cake, ..... and the small details like the wedding garter.
And a big section of wedding dresses and veils, shoes, beauty, ....

It is a book I would strongly recommend to buy.
For yourself or for your best friends when they start the planning of their wedding.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2007
I brought this for a friend and she loves it. This is not a wedding book which tells where to save the money. This is a more luxury wedding book and has fantastics tips for people who need a little more expert help.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
I bought this a while back based on some previous reviews and also as I was seeking some ideas for my own wedding.

My thoughts since first buying, organising my own wedding and revisiting this book are that it was an excellent purchase and well worth the money spent. This book provides lots of helpful commentary not just in relation to the wedding dress but many other aspects that go into organising such an important and momentous occasion for anyone. The photos to say the least are absolutely fantastic and the overall design and layout of the book is great.

Whilst the book covers 'high society' and celebrity weddings, it should not be viewed as definitive instruction on what a successful wedding should consist of and the level of expense that needs to be incurred for such an event. I believe it should be viewed as a great source of inspiration for any bride-to-be and should be referred to when trying to work out for instance what style of wedding dress would be suitable and possible designs of invitations etc.

A lovely book that will give a lots of pleasure when you look back at it after getting married.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2011
This is a beautiful and very special book to own. Detailed and clear instruction of how to create a stunning day. Wang is a Wedding visionary and to share her wisdom with brides to be makes a fantastic gift.

If you are buying this as a gift do note to buy a copy which is in very good condition if not new. I have learnt from experience when I bought a copy listed as 'good'. The copy had no outer sleeve, and had obviously been well loved. While still readable and lovable it has had to become my own copy and a new copy bought for my gorgeous friend.

Though the text itself is 10 years old, Wang shares timeless secrets and traditions which help not to only be able to tailor your own big day, but also to be able to appreciate the taste and planning which goes into Weddings you may attend.

If you love Weddings then you will love this book.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I have never written a review for anything, but feel compelled to as this is one of the most beautiful books I have ever seen! I was initially worried that it would be out of date as it was written 10 years ago, but I needn't have been. It is full of timeless inspiration and style. I complete must for anyone who is interested in style and weddings!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
I bought this for my son's partner (they are getting married this year). They both thought it was beautiful with amazing photograph's. If you are looking for something special for someone who is difficult to buy for and appreciate's lovely quality this is the one.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2009
A great read and very informative for those planning a wedding,the pictures are a work of art that get the imagination flowing for those at a loss for ideas.

A must have for the bride to be.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Vera Wang on Weddings by Vera Wang features information from her life as it dovetails with both her personal and professional life. For instance, page 14 contains a picture of Vera Wang and her husband Arthur as guests of her best friends wedding in July 1987. Then there are other pictures such as the Fieldstone Winery and Vineyard in Healdsberg California, information pertaining to smaller catering companies on pages 106-107, pages 216-217 a model wearing an antique brooch and Vera Wang’s makeup designer friend applying her makeup (she is quoting Stay True to Yourself, which makes me non-judgmentally curious if the term originated from the upper-class and then spread to other circles, socio-economic classes. Of course, there is much more featured in the book Vera Wang On Weddings by Vera Wang.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Waterfront wedding sites. Winner of "The Knot" Best of Weddings 2013.
  -  
The Lillian West Collection is Available Online and in Stores Now!
  -  
Celebrate your Big Day at one of our Atlanta wedding venues.