Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars25
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 February 2004
This is a lively, enthusiatic guide to travelling around Vancoucer, Victoria and the Rockies. It includes detail maps of all the key areas including Vancouver itself and also has area maps with areas of particular interest clearly marked. I used this guide in conjunction with The Rough Guide for a recent 14 day fly-drive holiday and it didn't let me down. The highlight of the book is detailing suggested routes whether you're going for 1 week or 4 weeks. This allows you to squeeze as much out of your trip as possible.
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2003
I wouldnt go anyway without my spiral guide and this holiday was no exception (Visited BC & Alberta indepentely during May/June 2003).
I converted to these guides some three years ago. I love the layout and siz of the guide - fits in your pocket nicely. It has a splashproof cover and the two flaps make great bookmarkers.
As for the contents, for this trip I found there was enough information for the larger tourist areas to point me in the right direction.
These guides are much easier to read than Lonely Planet if you want a good (but still comprehensive) overview.
I particuarly love the hints and tips for the 'must sees'.
Would highly recommend this guide and it has already been loaned to my friend for her forthcoming visit!!
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2001
Outstanding book, detailing the information you *really* need. Print quality is superb and the sections on planning trips according to the amount of time you have available is inspired. Gives the low-down on restaurants including prices, etc. Spiral binding is great and very practical when using 'in the field'. Thoroughly practical and highly recommended!
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2003
Bought the book - went to Vancouver and toured the Rockies. Stayed in many of the recommended hotels, ate at many of the recommended restaurants and followed many of the recommended routes. Dead easy to read and follow, lots of pictures (!) and had a really good holiday. Just wish they did the same book for Miami and the Keys.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2007
I liked: most of the pictures, the fact it's spiral bound and therefore stays open when you want it to, some of the walks, the attempt at prioritisation of things to do/see, the sections on "do X in Y days" and the fact that it covered the Rockies as well as BC.

I didn't like: the level of detail, which I found poor, the fact that the things to do/places to stay/places to eat sections were landscape while the rest of the book was portrait (and ran over 2 pages which made it confusing to read), the lack of info on routes and driving in Canada. I found my Rough Guide to Canada much more useful and more detailed on BC and the Rockies even though it covered the whole of the country.

Worth getting only if you think "Canada's OK, but not for the WHOLE weekend"...
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2002
A clear description of each area including how to get there, what to do and where to stay or eat. Beautifully illustrated with enough photos of the area to get your enthusiasm going. Having read this one, I can't wait to get there!
Only one small criticism - not enough choice of eateries listed in each town, usually only one in each price bracket.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2004
I bought this book because of the reviews, and because it sounded like a practical little guide. I can happily report that it's stood up to scrutiny, and will form part of our hand luggage on the flight to Calgary in a couple of weeks time.
It doesn't go into huge detail on different places, but that's not the point of it - it's a good little book to give you ideas about what to do, where to go and so on. It doesn't go into particular detail on the Kootenays region, but I'd say it's an essential book for those wanting to plan a road trip between Calgary and Vancouver, or for people looking to get an overview of a very large area.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2003
Very good coverage of Vancouver Victoria and the Rockies. Not to much detail but enough to make for interesting reading and to tell you about each location. Easy to understand and covers all the main points of interest
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2006
I think there is perhaps some snobbery with readers liking lonely planet or rough guide but you'd be wrong to ignore this great book.

Very easy to read whilst out & about, actually recommends the same as all the other books and provides good itineraries, if you only buy one book for your trip buy this one.

Enjoy your holiday....it's a great area of the world!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2009
This is a great little book (125 x 205cms) of about 200 glossy pages, spiral bound. It contains many useful tips for the first time visitor to Canada. It is nicely broken into sections with a few suggested itineraries... i.e. "Victoria in two days,"British Columbia in Five days" or "The Rockies in Eight days." Places of interest are highlighted in bold type and each chapter contains names, addresses and phone numbers of museums, hotels, restaurants, places of interest, tour companies etc etc. It also has small maps and details of some walks, with the degree of difficulty and approximate times to complete. ... all in all, and excellent book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)