Start reading Valderen on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device


Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

Valderen [Kindle Edition]

Roger Taylor

Print List Price: £9.99
Kindle Price: £3.20 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.79 (68%)
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £3.20  
Hardcover --  
Paperback £9.99  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Description

Product Description

An independent novel set in the world of "The Chronicles of Hawklan". Chilled and cowed by the violent fate of Garren and Katrin Yarrance and the mysterious disappearance of Farnor, the villagers can only stand by helpless as Rannick, increasingly unstable, and with his terrifying powers growing daily, turns his ambitions towards the land beyond the valley. But in the wake of the plunder and captives brought in triumph to the castle by Nilsson and his men, confident and arrogant again, comes a shadow from their past... Meanwhile, in the Great Forest, Farnor has survived his flight from Rannick's ancient and unholy companion with the help of the Valderen. But his soul is consumed with anger and hatred, and an overwhelming lust for vengeance darkens all future paths. Despite their care, the Valderen fear him. As do they to whom the Great Forest truly belongs. For they sense the power that he unknowingly possesses. And they call him to the place of the Most Ancient... (131000 words)

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 571 KB
  • Print Length: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Mushroom eBooks (31 Dec 2002)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004I1KN8G
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #316,216 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

More About the Author

I was born in Heywood, Lancashire, and now live in the Wirral. I am a chartered civil and structural engineer, a pistol, rifle and shotgun shooter, aikido instructor/student, a loud and alarming piano player, and a really bad guitar player.

I have written thirteen epic fantasy novels and a book drawn from my thinking about aikido. The novels are best read in the right order which I have set out below as it is different from the Amazon display.

The Call of the Sword
The Fall of Fyorlund
The Waking of Orthlund
Into Narsindal

Dream Finder
The Return of the Sword

The Keep

Aikido - more than a martial art

The first four are known as the Chronicles of Hawklan. Dream Finder to Caddoran are 'stand-alone' works though they are set in the same world as the Chronicles, follow the events there and contain some of the main characters. The Return of the Sword draws them all together again.

The Keep is more recent and is a very strange book.

While all the above wanted to be written, the aikido book demanded to be written. It is philosophical in character, dealing with matters which are important not only to martial artists of any discipline but to any inquiring mind. It has been called 'The Book of Five Rings for the 21st Century'

All the books are available in Kindle versions and other e-formats via Mushroom Publishing. All except the aikido book are also available in paperback (Bladud). Make of them what you will, but if you buy them I hope you enjoy them.

Roger Taylor
January 2012

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 5.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
5.0 out of 5 stars ROGER TAYLOR RULES!!!!!!! 7 Sep 2008
By M. Reynier - Published on
Anyone who has not read The Hawklan Chronicles & the rest of Roger Taylors spin off books including Valderen IS MISSING OUT ON THE READ OF A LIFETIME!!! I love his writing & series as much as Lord of the Rings & all of Ray Feists works. This man is brilliant!!!!!!!!!
Start with The Call of the Sword, The fall of Fyorland, The Waking of Orthlund, & Into Narsinal - followed by Dream Finder, Farnor, Valderen, Whistler, Ibryen, Arash-Felloren (my personal favourite), Caddoran - & for the grand finale - The Return of the Sword (The last Chronicle of Hawklan)
I kid you not
Was this review helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category