Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2008
This is a reprint of a classic best-selling book on business that has been widely copied but never duplicated. Yes, other successful collections of short, clever aphorisms have appeared and faded, but Robert Townsend had the ability to pierce the heart of the matter with stiletto sharpness. Just gloss over the small out-of-date references (like salary levels) and enjoy his ABCs of management. While some of Townsend's recommendations still seem radical, he lived by these principles, and was a very successful, popular executive with Avis and American Express. getAbstract cautions that this is a book of epigrams, not a narrative, so it might be a little choppy. Still, Townsend manages to balance a savvy, fun attitude with serious, strategic advice.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
An old book, suitably updated. Some concepts questionable but a lot of common sense, still relevant and probably the most readable and useful book on good management/leadership skills I came across in my career. Certainly I remember (and took on) more from this book than any other "management textbook I read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2009
My father recommended this book to me as it had an influence on him during his student days. It's a truly refreshing and concise management manual for people who want to get on with their jobs rather than reading about over elaborate new 'management paradigms'.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
A first class work by man who cuts through all the bull that chokes most large organizations. We need a Prime minister like him, in fact an entire cabinet.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Overrated book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Some content seems outdated but there remain useful insights too. Concise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
I first read this book as a CEO in my early thirties and it has been my bible ever since. You can keep your shelf-full of Drucker; here's a How To from someone who has done it. I have a cookery book called "The only cook book you will ever need" and this is in the same category for business management. No waffle, no filler, just real examples of what he actually did in raising Avis from 1/2% of the US market to 20% in three years; the same as the market leader at that time, Hertz.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
I recommend this for Agilists and anyone with power in or over an organisation. There's a lot of lean and agile hidden behind the brusque '60s language. A real treat in really short digestible chapters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Fascinating insight into how to survive at work and organisational behaviour. Suffers from being based on American business but nevertheless less fascinating
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2010
An excellent book if you are starting up your own business - Well recommended and humerous with many useful and helpful tips
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)