Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

More Options
See larger image


3 Mar. 2003 | Format: MP3

£4.99 (VAT included if applicable)
Buy the CD album for £5.25 and get the MP3 version for FREE. Does not apply to gift orders.
Provided by Amazon EU Sąrl. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations. Complete your purchase of the CD album to save the MP3 version to your Amazon music library.
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Product details

  • Original Release Date: 1 Jan. 2003
  • Release Date: 3 Mar. 2003
  • Label: UMC (Universal Music Catalogue)
  • Copyright: (C) 2003 Universal Island Records Ltd. A Universal Music Company.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 47:51
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001KW9JLS
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 5,962 in Albums (See Top 100 in Albums)

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful By Tim Edmonds VINE VOICE on 8 Mar. 2003
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This was Fairport's third album, recorded in the early part of 1969 and, in what was fast becoming a tradition, it emerged during a period of personnel changes. Ian Matthews was on the way out (but sings on "Percy's Song") and Dave Swarbrick was on the way in (making guest appearances on "Si Tu Dois Partir", "A Sailor's Life", "Cajun Woman" and "Million Dollar Bash" prior to joining as a permanent member). The core band here comprises Sandy Denny, Richard Thompson, Ashley Hutchings, Simon Nicol and Martin Lamble (killed in the van accident before the album was released).
In its original form the tracks comprised three Dylan covers and a 'trad/arranged', with the balance being original compositions by band members Richard Thompson and Sandy Denny. The album thus exemplifies the three strands of Fairport repertoire at the time. The Dylan songs are representative of the early reliance on American material, while to choose to sing one in French shows the Fairport trait not to take themselves too seriously. In contrast, songs like Thompson's "Genesis Hall"and Denny's "Autopsy" are early evidence of the songwriting skills that were to blossom fully in solo careers.
Amongst all these good things, however, for me two tracks stand above the rest in showing how this band collectively was more than the sum of its members. Fairport take the traditional "A Sailor's Life" and give it the epic treatment, with the whole band rocking together in a superb performance that matches the song perfectly. In my view this stands above anything on "Liege and Lief". The performance of "Who Knows Where the Time Goes" is sublime, with gentle acoustic guitar, bass and drums complementing the interplay between Richard Thompson's electric guitar and Sandy Denny's voice.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful By William J. Walker VINE VOICE on 1 May 2007
Format: Audio CD
The problem with this album is that it always seemed to suffer, slightly, when compared to "What We Did on Our Holidays". Stylistically the albums form a natural pairing, but whereas its predecessor is a near perfect album, with every track complimenting each other perfectly, it always seemed to me that "Unhalfbricking" was by comparison a rather fractured affair with its various parts pulling the listener, a little too sharply, in different directions. In an odd way, it always felt as if it was only half a great record, but saying which bits are lacking is hard, as they all seem good or great when taken in isolation.

On the other hand the quality of most of its parts (if not the sum) is at a level most artists can only dream of. I should also point out that none of the above prevented this from becoming, and remaining, one of my best loved albums.

I believe that with the release of this version, the album has finally attained the balance it always needed, with the addition of the bonus tracks added for this release. They give the album that little more time required to absorb its disparate elements. With the addition of 'The Ballad of Easy Rider'(the best version of this song I have heard) the album finally has the majestic closing number it always needed and acts as a counterweight to the mighty 'A Sailor's Life' which seemed overly dominant at the center of the disc .

I already owned the previous CD version so it was with some reservations that I bought this one (only, in the end, because I needed to hear Sandy Denny's take on 'The Ballad of Easy Rider'), but I am glad I took the gamble. I always loved this album but now it's better than ever.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful By Jonathan James Romley on 2 Sept. 2006
Format: Audio CD
It begins with a burst of psychedelic guitar bending - care of the young Richard Thompson - and ends with a rousing and raucous version of Dylan's Million Dollar Bash. The 2003 re-issue offers two extra tracks - also associated with Dylan - which somehow manage to make this version of the album feel more "complete" than the original eight-track release from 1969. It helps that one of these songs is a cover of The Ballad of Easy Rider, which finds the ethereal vocals of Sandy Denny whispering hushed tales of rivers flowing to the sea, while outside the hippie dream lays dying in a ditch (shot by hillbillies on a road to nowhere). The rest of the album rides a similar wave, tip-toeing between drunken sing-along folk rockers like the French-language Dylan update Si Tu Dois Partir, the rousing Cajun Woman and the aforementioned Million Dollar Bash, with more reflective, melancholic numbers, like Genesis Hall, Percy's Song and that gorgeous classic, Who Knows Where the Time Goes?

Though well received and well-respected amongst fans of 60's rock and folk, Unhalfbricking is, regardless, an album that sometimes gets overlooked within the wider aspects of the Fairport cannon (...perhaps because it was sandwiched between their pivotal second album, What We Did on Our Holidays, and their landmark fourth release, Liege and Leif... or perhaps due to the various tragedies that would befall the band immediately after it's initial release?). For me, it is the album that would really establish the classic Fairport sound, fusing the psychedelic rock inflections of their earlier Jefferson Airplane-inspired phase with the traditional folk style that would become more refined on the albums that followed.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?