Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now
Start reading Unfettered on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.
OR
Read for free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Colour:
Image not available
 

Unfettered [Kindle Edition]

David VanDyke

Kindle Price: £1.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for £0.00 and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

  • Length: 79 pages (estimated)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited
Enjoy unlimited access to over 700,000 titles and thousands of audiobooks on any device for £7.99 a month, including this one. Learn more

Book Description

A science fiction novella in the tradition of H. G. Wells and Lewis Padgett. A dry, somewhat droll and witty tale of three famous men's reactions to finding themselves in a most unusual afterlife.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Page of Start over
This shopping feature will continue to load items. In order to navigate out of this carousel please use your heading shortcut key to navigate to the next or previous heading.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 358 KB
  • Print Length: 79 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B008H9YCKA
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #562,266 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

David VanDyke is the bestselling author of the Plague Wars and Stellar Conquest series, co-author of BV Larson's Star Force Series Books 10, 11 and 12.

Plague Wars Series:
- The Eden Plague
- Reaper's Run
- Skull's Shadows
- Eden's Exodus
- The Demon Plagues
- The Reaper Plague
- The Orion Plague
- Cyborg Strike
- Comes the Destroyer

Stellar Conquest Series:
- First Conquest
- Desolator: Conquest
- Tactics of Conquest
- Conquest of Earth
- Conquest and Empire

B.V. Larson's Star Force Series with David VanDyke:
- Star Force: Outcast
- Star Force: Exile

The Plague Wars apocalyptic thriller series begins in the world of today with a man and a woman twined together by circumstances, destined to change the world. It leads readers into an ever-darkening future of upheaval, struggle and war marked by the depths of evil and the heights of selfless sacrifice. Plagues, secret technologies and extraterrestrial meddling provide the backdrop for heroes and villains... Read More

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.co.uk.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.6 out of 5 stars  10 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative, amusing and meaningful 1 Aug. 2012
By BetseaK - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
'Unfettered' by David VanDyke

I downloaded this novella by a fluke of luck. It kept me interested from the beginning to end, made me think of the weird reasons that might lie behind someone's desire to torture other people or living beings, and despite the quirky and murky afterlife in which the three main characters found themselves, it succeeded to put a smile on my face.
What I liked is the feel of absurd, sense of humor and analytic way of thinking of the three main characters while coping with difficult circumstances.
I can't tell you more because I'll spoil the story for you in case you decide to buy and read it, which I recommend. It's worth $2.99, as shown while I'm writing this review.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the short time and small cost 21 Feb. 2013
By MD - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
"Why am I here? Is this all there is? What's behind that door?" Fundamental questions that humans need to be answered.
The story may begin with a many-times-used setting, but it quickly takes a sharp turn into the unexpected.
Many years ago, I read "The Gates Of Creation," by Philip José Farmer. "Unfettered" repeatedly flashed the feel of Farmer's story, yet definitely retains its originality.
The author manages to develop the characters in a short span as well, including some of their less than desirable traits - that make us all human. Yes, most will know the names before they are openly offered - that does not detract from the story, which is short, and does not wander off course with pages of fluff, which I despise. (points for that)
Now, to one of those 'human' questions: Is that all there is? Next installment?

MD
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a interesting book. 27 Jan. 2014
By Kathy - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I thoroughly enjoyed it. just about the time you think you've got it figured out, it takes off in an entirely different direction. Very thought provoking.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 5 Nov. 2012
By Mark M. Szymcik - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Well thought out and well executed. Yes, I figured out the "real" names of the main characters before they were revealed, but knowing or not knowing did does not affect enjoying this piece. Worth reading for anyone. It's science-fiction, it's a mystery and it's an escape novella. Can't wait for the follow-up.
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Meh 4 Mar. 2015
By E. L. Sapp - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
It took a while to get into this book, and part of what got me actually motivated to continue reading was the realization of who the other two men are. (Avoiding spoilers.) If this book had just been about 3 random guys, I would have given up rather quickly.

I did manage to finish the book, but there was nothing very special about it. The idea of what the afterlife is was unique, but it was too easy. (What are the chances that 3 guys who have the appropriate knowledge and skills would end up in the same section of the afterlife?) There was no drama or suspense - the characters decide to do something, and then it happens. Even the very end (where one of them is escaping) lacked feeling. Sure, the character was at risk of dying, but the reader never gets the idea that it will actually happen. It's all very passive, and then it ends.

I guess this book is worth reading, but I don't know that I would want to read it again. What little suspense there was dealt with finding out the reality of the afterlife. Now that I know that, there isn't much else there.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category