Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2000
....bettered only by the one that followed it, 'Aenima', in my opinion. This is a seminal album, and one that no-one had expected after their debut release 'Opiate'. This album is awesome and so atmospheric. On this one the band really set out their musical and lyrical agenda, and stake out the territory that they have claimed as their own. It contains all you need - great noisy music, mindblowing lyrics, fantastic musicianship, a truly great cover, and a touch of Henry Rollins (okay, you probably don't need this!). It's hard to write objectively about Tool without sounding like their PR man, but they are just so cool. In a way they are anti-stars, leading us up blind alleys and dark cul-de-sacs in order to encourage us to think for ourselves. Every Tool album should come with a pinch of salt - believe nothing they tell us, and they're right, of course, but this not really the right forum for that sort of discussion. Suffice to say that Tool are a breath of fresh air.
If you only buy two albums in your life, make this the second, after 'Aenima'!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
This was the first tool album I owned. At first I thought it was "good", but after you really listen to it you realise what a true masterpiece it really is. The whole album grows with you, each track compliments the others on the album. Melancholy lyrics combine with churning guitars, tight baselines and solid drum rhythm. I've heard this album referred to as progressive metal. It truely is. No bands from the nu-metal fold ome even close to the dark majecty that is tool. Listen to this album as a whole.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Tool were a strange one...The music, lyrics and atmosphere they created was heavy and unsettling, but at the same time their songs were hugely melodic. This is a great album, and a real maturity to the songs following their debut EP Opiate (which I loved). Sober is absolutely soaring. Prison Sex, Swamp Song & the title track are the other belters. Loses a star as it does feel a little samey at times, and is over-long with a silly last song.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2003
I think that without doubt that Undertow is by far the best album that Tool has ever brought out. There are some heavier tracks, followed by very melodic tracks in between. And there isn't one track that i dislike. I've liked Tool for more than 4 years now, and have purchased every album, and they just seem to be getting better and better i think that this one sum's up what Tool are all about.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2015
What more can be said about this album that probably hasn't already been said. Tool are a band that bend the genres of music between rock, progressive, psychedelic and grunge with downbeat tempos infused with the haunting vocals of James Maynard Keenan. Having followed the bands career for many years, owning this on vinyl has been a want and must of my music collection for many years so i'm pleased to have completed my "vinyl bucket list" with the adding of Undertow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2002
If you're new to Tool, this record will sound like a masterpiece. It is so far ahead of most rock music today (and it was released 10 years ago!), God knows what it must have sounded like when first released. It expands on Opiate (released the year before) to such a degree, that it is hard to believe this is the same band. Unfortunately, with the releases of AEnima and Lateralus, this now sounds unfulfilling. It's best moments rank among Tool's brightest, but I don't think I've listened to this record start to finish in over a year. Sober, Prison Sex, Crawl Away and Undertow are timeless, but Bottom (featuring Henry Rollins) and rest of the album can be hard to listen to. The album closer, Disgustipated, is probably the most irritating of all Tool's segues. It lasts about 16 minutes, except ten of those are just white noise. It is worth buying, but pales in comparison to Aenima and Lateralus - two of the best albums ever.
Incidentally, the UK release of Undertow has about three minutes edited out. Thankfully, most of those came from Disgustipated. However, the opening section of Intolerance has been cut. The US version has about thirty seconds of what is rumoured to be a man drowning before the band start playing.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
I had never heard any Tool before but thought I would take a punt on this one. A very good decision - I am hooked! This is a mind blowingly good album. My favourite track is Undertow but they are all good. Its dark, grungey stuff with more than a hint of menace. Explosive in parts, quietly sinister in others. I also like Isis and Cult of Luna and there are definite similarities. If you like your metal dark and original then this is an album to buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2002
This the first major studio album after the mini album 'Opiate' is the finest Tool album of the lot and I would say the finest album ever made. The guitar work, vocals, drumming, all perfect in creating stunning layers of sound. Its so well made it is unchallenged for its sheer beauty. Tools other albums are more slick with higher production values but this is brilliant for its lesser cost as it sounds more rough but strangely better. The first four tracks are stunning and the final track, 'Disgustipated' is just plain scary. Never has music been this mindblowing and effecting. It made me love music way more than before I heard it. Tool are the best band in the world. Once youve heard this you will know what I mean. Life changing.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2000
This is one of the all time great ablums, of the twenith century, and should be listen to by all, not just those who think they like heavy metal. Tool unfortunately is one of the most underated bands of recent years, but hopefully soon they will start to be reconised. Their songs are not only great musically ( built up of many layers, intricate guitar work) and lyrically, but also they have some point and meaning, often convaying political messages. This is personally my favourite of Tool's Three albums. I recommened it to all despite their musical tendancys.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2001
....bettered only by the one that followed it, 'Aenima', in my opinion. This is a seminal album, and one that no-one had expected after their debut release 'Opiate'. This album is awesome and so atmospheric. On this one the band really set out their musical and lyrical agenda, and stake out the territory that they have claimed as their own. It contains all you need - great noisy music, mindblowing lyrics, fantastic musicianship, a truly great cover, and a touch of Henry Rollins (okay, you probably don't need this!). It's hard to write objectively about Tool without sounding like their PR man, but they are just so cool. In a way they are anti-stars, leading us up blind alleys and dark cul-de-sacs in order to encourage us to think for ourselves. Every Tool album should come with a pinch of salt - believe nothing they tell us, and they're right, of course, but this not really the right forum for that sort of discussion. Suffice to say that Tool are a breath of fresh air.
If you only buy two albums in your life, make this the second, after 'Aenima'!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)