Start reading Under Vanishing Skies on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 
Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Under Vanishing Skies
 
 

Under Vanishing Skies [Kindle Edition]

G.S. Fields , Elizabeth Stock , Dylan Garity , Judy b. , Miguel Kilantang
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)

Print List Price: £6.19
Kindle Price: £0.00 includes free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: £6.19 (100%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £0.00  
Paperback £6.19  
Kindle Summer Sale: Over 500 Books from £0.99
Have you seen the Kindle Summer Sale yet? Browse selected books from popular authors and debut novelists, including new releases and bestsellers. Learn more


Product Description

Product Description

Amazon #1 Best Seller!

Fans of Post-Apocalyptic and Dystopian fiction will love this story!

Trapped in the Maldives after a massive solar storm killed his family and nearly wiped out the human race, Aron Atherton plans to drink his way through the apocalypse. But his plan fizzles away like the vanishing skies above him when he uncovers a plot that threatens mankind’s last hope for survival. Now it's up to him to stop an army of fanatical pirates hell bent on launching the final Jihad.

˃˃˃ "A startling sci-fi examination of humanity’s capacity for cruelty in a remarkable dystopian setting." -Kirkus Reviews

"Fields’ post-apocalyptic novel, set well into the 22nd century, reveals a grim but lucid glimpse of the future, and genre fans will appreciate its descriptions of ultramodern technology such as data mats (computers that can be folded and stuffed into a pocket) and helojumpers (“flying, glass-bottomed boats”). "

˃˃˃ ""If you're looking for a relaxing read about sparkling, angst-filled, teenage vampires, look elsewhere." -KJarvius Goodreads.com

"Under Vanishing Skies (UVS) is a welcome addition to the science fiction/post apocalyptic/end of the world/dystopian genre. With pirates! "

˃˃˃ "Mystery-suspense-intrigue-apocalyptic-scifi-with a hint of romance." -The Reader's Review - Chronicles of a Book Enthusiast

"I appreciated the realistic idea of rebuilding technology after an apocalypse. "

See why everyone is talking about Under Vanishing Skies!


Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 451 KB
  • Print Length: 216 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0615898491
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Tuscan Fields Publishing; 4 edition (10 Jan 2014)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00H6C04WO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (23 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #4,766 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm 4 Feb 2014
By tone1428 VINE VOICE
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A Sci Fi story that is just about readable,I cant say it was a really bad book,though I can certainly say that it isnt a really good one either.
as it is a Kindle freebie I suppose I shouldn't grumble too much!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vanishing Skies 19 Mar 2014
By ron
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Another end of the world story. However the story is quite well written and the story moves along at a good pace. If you are looking for a not to challenging story I would recommend this book
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars post apocalyptic paradise 20 Jan 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I have been reading a lot of post apocalyptic fiction, especially if it is free, and I thoroughly enjoyed this read. The book was in depth enough to follow easily, not too many characters,yet enough to pique interest and feel empathy. The plot was a little far fetched, using 'off world' influence as well. Definitely enough material for a sequel, or further books. A good easy read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent 27 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
GS Fields has good voice in this book - the prose is tense, the hero taciturn. I'm not too enamoured of his world-building (I find the amount of technology in daily use hard to believe in this setting (12 years after a solar storm wiped out most of the planet's life and infrastructure) - surely most of that stuff would have broken down by now, with replacement parts getting scarce. And the plot loses the plot in the last couple of chapters. But it's a decent read until that part.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars 11 July 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Good read
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but engrossing 2 Mar 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is a little shorter than the ones I usually read, but the story was enough to grip me. The characters come across a little one dimensional at times, but when it's told in the first person from one characters POV, that's to be expected.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, a real page turner 27 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a brilliant book. The sci-fi elements are mostly in the background, with the story focusing on several inhabitants amongst the survivors on a chain of tropical islands.

Life isn't easy for the survivors, and it's made far worse by roving packs of pirates who try to prey upon those on the islands. The survivors are trying to both stay alive and decide which lucky few will get to leave on a transport for the fledgling Mars colony.

The characters in the story all feel real and I soon found myself caring about them and their community as a whole. This is a real page turner, and there's at least one twist in there that I didn't even begin to see coming. Highly recommended.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read. 24 Feb 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I only bought this book because it was free. Very glad I did as it held me enthralled throughout. Well written and very exciting.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Would you like to see more reviews about this item?
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category