Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror Hardcover – 1 Oct 2007


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£55.99 £0.01
Audio Cassette
"Please retry"

Children's Gift Guide


Special Offers and Product Promotions



Product details

  • Hardcover: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC (1 Oct 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0747589224
  • ISBN-13: 978-0747589228
  • Product Dimensions: 12.9 x 2.5 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (30 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 346,683 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Chris Priestley worked as an illustrator and cartoonist for twenty years before becoming a writer. His books have been nominated for many awards including the Edgar Awards, the UKLA Children's Book Award and the Carnegie Medal. The award-winning and critically-acclaimed Tales of Terror series for Bloomsbury feature chilling stories rooted in the tradition of M R James, Saki and Edgar Allan Poe and are available in many languages. Mister Creecher is a novel inspired by, and linked to, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and his latest, Through Dead Eyes, is set in a haunted hotel in Amsterdam.

Product Description

Review

'Priestley's gothic fest of Poe-like fables stand out like shining beacons' (Guardian)

'My insides were still untangling themselves hours after I had closed the book' (Sunday Telegraph)

'Mesmerising, understated, and convincingly Victorian in tone . . . A book for children who enjoy being frightened - and a perfect introduction to Saki and Edgar Allen Poe' (Guardian)

'Throbs with sinister brilliance . . . The art of the chilling, well-crafted ghost story is still alive and kicking' (Literary Review) --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

Review

`Priestley's gothic fest of Poe-like fables stand out like shining beacons' --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 21 Sep 2009
Format: Paperback
I forget where I first spotted Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror, but I do remember that I was completely captivated by the cover.

And I was delighted to discover that it was a gothic and a portmanteau book - two things I can never resist.

Edgar is a solitary child - his parents are distant and, because he has been sent away to school, he is not close to the neighbourhood children. As the story opens with young Edgar walking through the woods to visit his Uncle Montague. The author takes you along on that walk, and you never leave Edgar's side, through everything that is to come.

Menace is so cleverly hinted at with very small details - a slow-moving kissing-gate, silent children lurking in overgrown woods, a cold and heavy garden gate ...

Finally Edgar and Uncle Montague settle down for tea, cake and stories in Uncle Montague's wonderfully gothic house. And what stories! Each one is simple, clear, and perfectly-formed. And they are strange tales, each with a child protagonist, and each escalating to a striking twist.

A boy enters the house of a woman he believes to be a witch and meets a most unexpected fate; a girl opens a forbidden door and is trapped in a dolls' house; a boy chased off a cliff by a demonic version of himself; a girl granted three wishes who finds that those wishes have dark consequences.... It would be unfair to say too much.

Some of the stories are stronger than others but they all work. And, while each is distinctive, they come together well as a set.

But that's not all. Edgar and Uncle Montague talk between stories, and their own story develops. Edgar begins to wonder. Is there is truth in the stories? Where have the artefacts that Uncle Montague shows him come from?
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Elen Caldecott on 10 Aug 2008
Format: Hardcover
This is a great book to dip into again and again. Each chapter can stand alone, which makes them perfect bedtime story material - if you don't get easily spooked that is!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What an absolutely fantastic collection of stories! Each one is linked by an excellent narrative story all revolving around a young boy who goes to visit his Uncle who in turn has a room filled with various oddities and curiosities - each one with a spooky story of their own.

I don't think there is a duff one in the whole book and while I was sad as each story ended, it was soon forgotten as I turned the page and found the next one.

Nothing too gory but beautifully written, with descriptions that allow you to fully immerse yourself in what the author wants you to see.

I was drawn to read this after reading a short story in another compilation by the same author and I wasn't disappointed - I'll certainly be seeking out more by Chris Priestley and can only hope the standard remains as high.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By G. Ashworth on 17 Dec 2008
Format: Paperback
I thought this book was very good, first the cover and artwork of the book was very good. The stories had a very eerie feel to them and worked effectively. The only bad thing about this book is that if the writer wanted to he could have made the book a lot scarier. The story is basically a collection of stories that are scary; as it goes on the stories get scarier and scarier.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover
Hurrah for Chris Priestley, and for his illustrator, David Roberts, whose Gorey-like images provide the perfect, creepy complement to his excellently spooky tales. This book is a little gem, and very well judged both in style and content, to provide the perfect Hallowe'en treat for 8-14 year olds, but also for all those adults who realise that some of the best writing in the Gothic/Fantasy genre is to be found on the children's/YA shelves.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Hope on 7 April 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed this book it's quite horrifying but it's really good and has got me into reading horror books.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
This book will run goosebumps along your spine and have you hiding under your chair with your arm still extended as you read, because you just can't stop for one moment. The cover is quite simple, but it captures all the different key aspects from each of the short stories intertwined into this book. The colours are also very tea-like making it appear even more creepy and mysterious.

Edgar's uncle lives in a haunted house, surrounded by a forest, away from prying eyes. But, his garden/forest is filled with statues and little ornaments that hold more significance to them than just a ornament. They all have a story to tell... of which will all give you nightmares.

The short stories in this book were amazing, they linked neatly together like a puzzle and the description and imagery was sensational. It will keep you up all night wondering what certain aspects of the story mean and have you making up your own.

The next book in this series: Tales of Terror from the Black Ship.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By EeDj on 24 Aug 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Brilliant book. Has been passed down by my kids, and is definitely a must for a spooky halloween. Overall all the kids love it and actually I think it's really good too!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback