Una tonadilla nueva! - Ba... has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller with over 3 million feedback ratings, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.49

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Una tonadilla nueva! - Baroque Music From Ecuador
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available

Una tonadilla nueva! - Baroque Music From Ecuador CD

1 customer review

Price: £11.75 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
Does not apply to gift orders. See Terms and Conditions for important information about costs that may apply for the MP3 version in case of returns and cancellations.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
16 new from £7.56 4 used from £6.67
£11.75 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Buy a CD from our World, Folk, Classical or Jazz stores to purchase Songlines Music Awards 2015 CD for £3.99. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Product details

  • Conductor: Peter Pontvik
  • Composer: Various Composers
  • Audio CD (1 Aug. 2011)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: Cpo
  • ASIN: B004YXL616
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 313,438 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Vamos todos a verEnsemble Villancico 2:37£0.79  Buy MP3 
  2. Oy nuestra reyna del ciel [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 3:07£0.79  Buy MP3 
  3. Muy hermosa es Maria [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 3:24£0.79  Buy MP3 
  4. Una tonadilla nueva [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 1:47£0.79  Buy MP3 
  5. Sagales a prisa [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 2:40£0.79  Buy MP3 
  6. Atencion a la fragua amorosa [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 3:24£0.79  Buy MP3 
  7. Salve reginaEnsemble Villancico 2:21£0.79  Buy MP3 
  8. Cancion de un negro al Nino Dios [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 1:59£0.79  Buy MP3 
  9. Curi muyito [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 2:31£0.79  Buy MP3 
10. De uno en uno vayan entrandoEnsemble Villancico 2:36£0.79  Buy MP3 
11. El negro Jose [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 3:06£0.79  Buy MP3 
12. Oygan que da [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 2:22£0.79  Buy MP3 
13. Ventezillo traviessoEnsemble Villancico 2:25£0.79  Buy MP3 
14. La chacona me piden, vayaEnsemble Villancico 3:39£0.79  Buy MP3 
15. Ese viril con pan [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 2:42£0.79  Buy MP3 
16. Al sol de la tierra y el cieloEnsemble Villancico 3:07£0.79  Buy MP3 
17. Tono triste para oracion [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 4:24£0.79  Buy MP3 
18. Cancion de una pastorita al Nino Dios [Ecuador, 17th Century]Ensemble Villancico 3:05£0.79  Buy MP3 

Product Description

CD Description

This release contains previously unrecorded repertoire of Latin American baroque music from the Seventeenth century


Despite their name borrowed from one of the most popular musical forms of the Spanish and Latin American baroque Ensemble Villancico is a Swedish group, established to perform the early music of Latin America and the Nordic countries. This disc is built around a 17th-century manuscript, the Codex Ibarra, discovered in the mid-1990s in a convent in the city of Ibarra in north-east Ecuador. It's a collection of complete choral works and fragments, most of which appear to have been composed by local musicians to texts written by the nuns. Like so much music from Latin America in this period, most of the pieces are unattributable, and of the 10 from the Codex, performed in arrangements by the ensemble's director Peter Pontvik, only four have composers' names attached. It's hard to tell what comes from the original manuscript and what from Pontvik, but Ensemble Villancico nicely varies both the size of the vocal forces and the instrumental accompaniments, as well as including pieces from other South American manuscripts, and a couple of traditional tunes in instrumental form. It's certainly never dull. *** --Guardian,18/08/11

one could not hope for a more engaging introduction. --Gramophone,Dec'11

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By AnneB on 4 Feb. 2014
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The intermixing of high Spanish baroque with local music is outstanding. Perfect for lifting of mood, contemplation - the works
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 1 review
Five Stars 22 Dec. 2014
By Mario Godoy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Was this review helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category