Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars95
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£3.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2012
This "fit-in-a-guitar-bag" sized book is excellent with useful diagrams and very helpful text. In fact there's more text than we'd imagined but it's really good and adds to the tuition. A useful book too in that we can keep it in the guitar bag. Didn't cost the earth so why not get a copy. we'd recommend it. Thank you.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
Ive been playing guitar for about a year and half and i understand everything but scales...until i bought this book that was. this book is clearly layed out with a nice beginning section to ease you into scales, steadily offering you less support as you go through the book until you reach the end where youre alone with just the scale box and your guitar.
I have picked up scales really quickly in the five days ive owed this book and am already progressing to blues scales and major. Its an essential MUST HAVE for anyone attempting to learn scales. Worth more than the seling price in my opinion.
:)
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
This is definately a handy little book for learning scales! It Starts with all the basic stuff of pentatonic scales and so on. then it takes all the way up to the more complicated scales like the phrygian dominant scale - and diminished, whole tone and so on.

In general Troy Stetina is a good teacher. In the book he talks about good methods of learning the scales(not just scales written down in tablature with no supporting words about how to use the scale paragrams best)and in general the book is quite easy to read and understand.

If you are up to some scale knowledge and practice this book is a great instrument of helping you on the way.

And as a nice bonus the book is at a quite low cost.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 November 2015
An excellent quick reference book to learn scales, that does require some patience but then this is what learning anything is all about. I played a lot of blues and needed to expand to jazz and beyond to follow or create contemporary tracks, this book covers those needs and more. The book fits neatly into the guitar case due to its thickness and narrow size; would also recommend purchase of a Wittner metronome of which we purchased the smallest to fit into the guitar case. Wittner Super-Mini Taktell Metronome - Ruby.

Covers Maj and Minor, The Modes, The Blues, Harmonic Minor, Melodic Minor, Chromatic, Whole tone and Diminished, Exotic and Ethnic. I have to agree with another reviewer that it does appear complicated in layout at first, as it is based on box, TAB and music script but with a little time can be understood. Because I knew the box patterns of the blues the other patterns could be simulated to the other scales. Recommend as a complimentary learning tool for those that want genuine proficiency in playing different genres of music.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2012
This is an amazing aid to learning scales, even scales which you already thought you knew. It is easily laid out and a joy to follow, the box system used in the book is accurate gives you a basic understanding of how they are formed and used in real music. I would recommend to any guitarist at any level who is caught in that rut of self taught knowledge; theory is where the journey begins.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
HI THIS BOOK FITS IN A GUITAR CASE OR BAG AND IT IS ESSENTIAL LEANING FOR ANY GUITARIST --I SPEAK FROM 36 YEARS OF PLAYING EXPERIENCE AND A FURTHER 15 OF PROFFESSIONAL TEACHING
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
a scale book for those wanting to learn and know the different scales and patterns on the fretboard good for the beginner
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2012
This book is a fantastic aid. After failing countless times to find a good resource for learning scales, this proved to be just what I was looking for. If you buy it, be sure to look online for backing tracks in different keys to experiment with, and after a few days of practice, you'll be on your way to some good soloing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
A must have for all aspiring and improving guitarists. The combination of easy to follow text and clear diagrams demystify the scary world of guitar scales and the fret board. Don't be fooled though. This slim volume contains a wealth of information, and although it is an "easy read" you will benefit from taking your time and re-reading each section carefully. If you only buy one guitar book, buy this one. Got one for myself. So impressed, bought one for my brother. We are both amazed at our progress. Thank you Troy Stetina for writing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2013
This is a great way to learn or brush upon your scales very easy to follow tabs and scales up and down the entire guitar neck and also across the neck easy to follow practice routine s the road map of the guitar opens up all sorts ideas for improvising and soloing . Troy setina has publish a few tutorial books I have used before and would reccomend if you are wanting to improve your guitar chops.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)