Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars7
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£23.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2010
When I ordered this is was more for a brief foray into Ubuntu and to see how it plays but I'm hooked. It not only covers everything you could need about the OS but also many other useful applications as well. A well rounded introduction to everything you need, and also a CD of the newest Ubuntu. I'm a convert :-)
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2010
If i may reiterate the comments by "Boing Boing" I needed something that removed the mystery of "Linux" and in particular "Ubuntu".
Being a "newbie" to this system i had to come to terms with thinking for myself, having for a long time, being spoon fed by Microsoft. A frustrating drawback i encountered was the the syntax and terminology.
This coupled with the assumption by experienced users, that you understood what they were on about, was at first off-putting.
Then i found "Ubuntu for Non-geeks" At last the mysteries begun to unfold.
It does not just tell you how to do things, it shows you, with projects.
All it assumes is a bit of common sense and a willingness on your part to try.
My thanks to Rickford Grant and Phil Bull.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2011
Ubuntu for Non - Geeks

A book for me a non-geek with not enough years left to become one .
So far I have just pecked at the book but the results have been startling .

I considered Ubuntu not to be compatible with ' Skype ' but the book described how to set the sound channels etc. it is now working .

How easy it was to bring up the Icon to rescue a frozen screen .

It also made me careful when buying peripherals my Canon Scanner is never going to work with Ubuntu .

Over a couple of decades the program code for the PC has been stuck together in large chunks from many sources .
This is so much so that no person or group seams to understand the whole .
In computer problem forums the multitude of answers seldom match the questions .

It is therefore very refreshing to find a book on Ubuntu 10-04 that has been correct in every detail so far .
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
This kind of guide goes out of date so quickly with the regular updates of Ubuntu. This one is for 10.04 and yet 11.04 is a very different system now (released in April 2011). Having said that, it's a superbly written book, in plain English with humour and understanding for these of the newbie. The section on the use of 'terminal' and its command lines is particularly good and useful for any version of Ubuntu. If it wasn't out-of-date I'd give it five stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
It was ok but for someone of a more "power user" type of newbie this book may not cover the details of customisation etc. However what a bonus having a disc to start the installation off in pain free way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2012
As a new user of UBUNTU Linux I needed to get up to speed with this Operating System.
This book supplied the answers to my questions, and more.
An ideal book for learning in a hands on way.

don watson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
a very helpful book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)