Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2013
The purpose of this short guide is made clear in the description and the content meets its objective. I'm not sure if the plan is to produce a series of these with each highlighting a specific area of photography, or if it's partly promotional material for Anne's other work, but either case is acceptable.
There is no shortage of material on lighting types, techniques or the importance of it, but better that than not enough. What's important in instructional or advisory material of this nature is that it's relevant and accessible. Fortunately 8ToNL hits the mark on both points.
I'd suggest that less experienced photographers will have more to gain from the content, though it harms no photographer of any level to refresh or review subjects they may have already covered. Anne's style ensures that nobody is left behind. A good example of this is her use of a histogram - a subject which does instil fear into many a beginner (and beyond). She cracks this open in just a few sentences and provides not only the basic need to know information in a relaxed way, but provides a good basis for those that wish to explore further.
To date I've found the free e-book market to be full of below standard (modern) material, but this doesn't fall into that category. It's well thought out, well written and supported with relevant and impressive imagery and as good a free article as you'll get.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
This is a brilliant book for beginners. It's written in a way that makes you understand and get it straight away what the author is trying to say. Well written and easy to understand.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I like to take pictures and have just got a DSLR and wanted to advance my knowledge to take better photographs. I found this book interesting and informative and would recommend it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2013
Nothing I didn't already know. However, I have been using cameras for 50+ years - film/digital/studio/leisure. It does give the basic information that a beginner will need to improve their photos.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
This free ebook had some good clear advice. The inclusion of example photographs helps with the explanation of the subject.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
A good book with good photo's probably aimed at the beginner. Still an interesting read though.
nice to confirm existing knowledge.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
I have been looking for a book that doesn't use jargon, just explains things in simple everyday language that everyone can understand. If that's what you want, look no further - this is the book for you. I found it easy to read, in fact it was just like the author speaking direct to you. It covers all the subjects you need to know in order to raise the quality of your photos and be able to tackle any subject. This book ticks all the right boxes for me and I think it will for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
A fantastic lesson in what is probably the most feared part of photography. Well worth a read, even if you are a professional.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
I have never really understood the meaning of different kinds of light. This has sorted out a whole pile of problems for me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
This book promises to educate on eight types of natural light and that is exactly what it does. The reading style is enjoyable and easy going, no technical jargon here. I can't say this book has changed my life in a profound way, but I certainly learned a thing or two about natural light photography and it is always good to have the basics reinforced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)