Twilight's Dawn: A Black Jewels Book and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £6.99
  • You Save: £1.16 (17%)
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Twilight's Dawn (Black Jewels Trilogy) Mass Market Paperback – 3 May 2012

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
£2.53 £2.84

Trade In Promotion

Frequently Bought Together

Twilight's Dawn (Black Jewels Trilogy) + Shalador's Lady (Black Jewels Novels) + Tangled Webs (Black Jewels Novels)
Price For All Three: £15.72

Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: ROC; Reprint edition (3 May 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451464052
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451464057
  • Product Dimensions: 10.9 x 3.4 x 17.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 180,907 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Book Addict TOP 500 REVIEWER on 4 Mar 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
AB has done herself proud with "Twilight's Dawn" and remains an impressive writer in the world of dark fantasy. This book contains 4 novellas set in the Realms of the Blood and as always, it is beautifully written and heartbreakingly poignant in places. Expect smiles and giggles, but also have plenty of tissues close to hand as some of these stories are emotionally battering.

Winsol Gifts
Set after the events in "Tangled Webs" Surreal and Rainier are still healing physically from their ordeals but seem in no way to be healing emotionally. The whole family feature as Daemon is caught in the chaos of Jaenelle preparing for their first proper Winsol together yet Saetan begins his withdrawal from their lives. For a powerful, intelligent man he wrongly assumes Daemon, Jaenelle and Lucivar will let him slip quietly away.

This is a mix of whimsy and heartbreak as the more emotional moments are balanced by the antics of Daemonar and his growing excitement over Winsol. Even Daemon has a hard time handling his young nephew.

Shades of Honor
Set just before "The Shadow Queen" Surreal rises to the Killing Edge as she finds it difficult to deal with the deaths that haunt her and ex-lover Falonar acting like an idiot. As Falonar's mask slips and his true personality emerges, he strives to eliminate his greatest rival; Lucivar Yaslana.

Well for those readers that always wondered what happened to Falonar the truth is finally revealed. Lucivar may show some mercy on occasion, but his brother Daemon will leave no debt unpaid.

This short story is a real tear jerker as a likeable and familiar Queen is murdered and her sons go missing.
Read more ›
3 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By E. R. Welsby on 5 Mar 2011
Format: Hardcover
This is an interesting collection of four separate novellas set within the Black Jewels universe. It's definitely a book aimed at existing fans of the series - anyone new to this universe should not start with this book.

The first story, "Winsol Gifts", is a lovely story based around the SaDiablo family. It's mostly just about their normal lives rather than any particular major event - interesting to those of us that love the characters, but perhaps a curious way to start the book (though I suppose it's at the beginning only because it's chronologically the first story, set after the novel "Tangled Webs").

The second novella is "Shades of Honor", which also deals with some of the legacy of "Tangled Webs", as well as the story of what happens to Falonar. It's a fairly typical Black Jewels story, with breakdowns, prejudice and revenge.

"Family" comes third, and features an attack on Sylvia and her sons, ten years after the previous story. Her relationship with Saetan is bittersweet and the story did make me tear up once or twice.

Finally there is "The High Lord's Daughter", which is likely to provoke the greatest reaction from readers. It is set a fairly long time in the future, after the deaths of two major characters (including, sadly, my favourite). While it is tearjerking, the reader mourns and moves on with the surviving characters as a new romance springs up and new children are born, including one very special daughter. Because it is set so far in the future there is still a lot of potential for Bishop to write novels set while the two deceased characters were still alive, but I also find myself hoping that she writes more set in this future time.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Imoen Paige on 1 Mar 2011
Format: Kindle Edition
New readers to Bishop should not start with this book as the novellas deserve to be read within the context and knowledge of the series chronology so you can truly appreciate the gentle but tart humour and dark events that the characters wrestle with.

"Winsol Gifts" takes place after the events in "Tangled Webs". "Shades of Honor" takes place before the events in "The Shadow Queen". "Family" occurs ten years later and "The High Lord's Daughter" occurs after a main character's death. The interplay of protocol, power, status and human emotions (as always) help shape these novellas so that they explain events that previously been glossed over by references made during conversations between the characters in the books of the Dark Jewels series and show the development of the characters during the interim periods between novels and main story arcs.

I both love and hate this book as it's a brave author who will acknowledge within their worlds the reflective of nature's cycle by letting their characters age or die. While I love knowing what happens to each of the characters over the years, it is interesting Bishop decided to explore themes of loss and grief of popular main character(s) before readers have stopped demanding more books about them (I am not naming name(s) here as that would be a major spoiler)... It tugged on my heart strings and I STILL want more. Write more Ms Bishop, I haven't nearly had enough yet!

I am annoyed, however, by the previous reviewer who stated that it wasn't clear it was 4 short stories... That is what a novella is; a story longer than a short story but shorter than a novel and it states in the description this book contains novellas...
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews