Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
15
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 August 2010
well when i first heard it ,i thought this is what i have been waiting for from trojan ,,had all the other box sets (mod,skinhead.rock steady)but this is great and lot better music than the others ,really enjoying the great sounds i give this 8 out of 10 ,because there is still some great stuff that trojan can release but this is a one step in the right direction ,really glad i have bought it ,and really a great set of tracks for anybody in to ska ,,,buy it !!buy it !!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
A real treat for early Ska, Soul and Trojan connoisseurs. Like previous reviewer, I have many of the original mod, skin etc box sets and wondered what this would actually have to offer when I first saw the title and cover. Plenty and then some is the answer. Unlike the three disc sets, which whilst offering great value in terms of quantity are often let down with their fair share of throwaway filler, this is real SELECTION with some real gems. The digital mastering is also superb and done in a tasteful way that hasn't digitised the very soul and raw dynamics out of it all. Compared to the sometimes muddy sounding quality of some of the earlier compilations all of this just sounds really full with all of the instrumentation crystal clear. Worth having in CD format when as usual, nice notes and inner mini book sleeve which you won't get as a download - does exactly what it says on the tin 'a musical feast for hipsters of all ages.'
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
excellent CD,40 tracks.
30% unknown to me
30% known
30% wanted to hear.
a few northen soul tracks also,which is not my style
but i quite enjoyed them.
best track is the very expensive VENIS-w.Francis
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
Excellent selection of sounds - great value - 40 tracks covering various styles .... just right for summer parties
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
An interesting selection of music from some (for me at least) lesser-known artists as well as some more familiar names. Some excellent, punchy numbers, although as you would expect from a 40-item selection, not every track is a stand-out. It is also correct to say that several tracks are not what could be called ska, rock steady or reggae, but soul. No matter though, the good stuff on this is really good, and it's worth buying for Llans Thewell & the Celestials' kicking version of 'The Good, The Bad & The Ugly'alone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
A great compendium of 60' and 70's Reggae music - reminds me of my youth in south London. Definitely recommended to all ex-Mods!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Brought back skinhead / suedehead days, "power to the people" and all that! Pity though that the movement got taken over by swastika-wearing biker-fascists!! Highly recommended:-)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
this is another excellent cd from trojan a good cross over from mod to ska/rocksteady and for the price its a must for your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
the roots of mod music in UK, a lot of rocksteady and jamaican rhythms pre-reggae. Pump the volume, listen and drink a pint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2014
Great comp of Mod reggae. If you can a copy get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)