Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars215
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2009
I'm a big Ken Follett fan and this isn't one of his best. I struggled to get into it, and the characters weren't gripping enough in the first half. Also, it was quite hard to keep up with the various male spy characters and remember who was who. In the second half the plot became clearer and I warmed up to the main characters. So, if you've read his best works, this one is definately worth a read but I wouldn't start with this one if you are new to Follett.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
A nuclear arms race kicks off in the Middle East in the late 1960s, as Israeli intelligence finds out that the Soviet Union is secretly funding atomic development in Egypt. To counterbalance this, Israel would need to make its own bomb, and with this in mind a top Israeli agent is detailed to come up with a plan to steal uranium.

Over the course of this, he encounters a couple of old acquaintances from his time at Oxford University in the 1940s - one of whom is now a top KGB agent, the other a Palestinian whose family lost everything when Israel was created, and who works for the Egyptian secret service (as you do). Both have vested interests in making sure that Israel doesn't get the uranium.

This is apparently based loosely on a true story. There are a few rather unlikely coincidences that keep the plot ticking along - the fact that the Israeli just happens to run into the Palestinian while carrying out part of his mission in Luxemburg, for example.

Read today, it does seem dated but it does convey a kind of period charm with its use of phoneboxes to aid the tailing of spies and the notion that stealing data from an international agency dedicated to the tracking of uranium involves blackmailing an employee to steal a paper file. Still, not a bad read.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
One of Follett's first spy-thrillers - Triple - is a typical cat and mouse spy novel, which is characterized by many dynamic characters all of which play a big and even role in the plot. From all ends of the political and religious spectrum - Follett introduces various characters right in the beginning of the novel with an unlikely meeting of future foes. The story begins at Oxford University in London England, where a group of students participate in political discussions. What they don't know is that their political differences will some day become more than just political differences. Eventually they'll all be at different ends of the race for nuclear weapons in the mid-East. I enjoyed the novel profoundly. It was a very good weekend page-turner, and I would suggest it to anyone who admires Follett's work!!! Also, if you missed reading Tino Georgiou's masterpiece--The Fates, go and read it.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2011
Quite a good page turning thriller set in 1968 when an Israeli agent is trying to steal a cargo of uranium so that his country can have the atomic bomb, to guard against Egypt getting the bomb with Soviet help. The Egyptians and a Palestinian terrorist group are trying to stop the Israelis succeeding. The number of betrayals and counter-betrayals gets confusing at times. Both sides use extreme violence to get their ends, not only against each other, but against innocent bystanders who get in their way. Quite good, but not one of Follett's best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
Ken Follett is one of my favourite authors but I decided to abandon this book after 280 pages. I recently finished The Century Trilogy and absolutely loved it. The research and accuracy in the story was spot on but did not detract from the story by labouring the details.
I gave up on this after yet one more prolonged description. In this case how to buy and register a ship in Liberia.
I felt that research had been done and was going to be used ad nauseum to the eventual, in this case, detriment of the end product.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 September 2015
Ken Follett writes great stories that are very readable. If you have not read The Pillars of the Earth then do it now!

Without spoiling the plot, he has produced a gripping thriller about the race for nuclear weapons in the Middle East in 1968 based around a possible true event, the international network of spies and double agents, and the interconnected old boy network. Israeli agent Nat Dickstein gets all the impossible jobs. Will this one be a mission too far?

Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Oh gor blimey! The yarn's good, but oh the reader's Dick van Dyke Cockney accent! I'm caught between laughing aloud and throwing the CD in the bin: funny and frustrating in equal measure!

If you think that Dick van Dyke's Cockney accent is acceptable (if you're an American who knows no better), you'll probably be hooked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Even though Triple is not a recent work, the Follett style and plots are still very enjoyable. He leads you to a good pace in reading, but around the time the plot will be divulged the reader's curiosity is enticed and he needs to know the outcome a.s.a.p. Usually Reading more than expected by the end of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Action, adventure, an Israeli man with a troubled past, and a young woman caught in the middle of it all. Not a bad read overall, but not my favourite Follett book. It read a bit too much like an attempt at a Bond-style adventure, but it failed to meet the mark. If based on true facts, this would certainly have been an impressive (if scary) thing for anyone to pull off.

I did get this book on offer for under £2, and was shocked when I came to review that it had doubled in price. For those looking for a "Pillars of the Earth" type book, this is not it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 1999
Triple is a very well written espionage thriller by Ken Follett. Follett does an excellent job developing his characters and allows you to glimpse into their respective thought processes as the story unfolds. The story itself is very interesting and a seemingly quite realistic view into the world of espionage.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.