Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
Colour:
  • Triops Eggs (packet)
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
      

Triops Eggs (packet)

54 customer reviews
| 7 answered questions

Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
  • Live 20-90 days
  • Guaranteed to grow
See more product details

Education and Science Toys Education and Science Toys

Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Product Information

Technical Details
Manufacturer recommended age:6 years and up
  
Additional Information
ASINB0080R8SWW
Best Sellers Rank 66,849 in Toys & Games (See top 100)
Delivery Destinations:Visit the Delivery Destinations Help page to see where this item can be delivered.
Date First Available30 April 2012
  
Feedback
 

Product Description

4-10 microscopic Triops Eggs in detritus harvested from man made ponds in a 5.5cm x 6cm sachet. Guaranteed by The Netfysh to hatch. There also may be other small invertebrates in this mixed (Daphnia and Fairy Shrimp) which will make a tasty snack for your pets. They of course come with raising instructions but you will also need Triops (shrimp) food if you don't already have some.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Questions & Answers

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Ayyub on 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase
Delivered on time, followed all instructions and they hatched within 24 hours. This product is fun and my 10 year old sister was fascinated at how quick they hatched, there was a mixture of fairy shrimp and Triops. I've heard of some cases where nothing has hatched however this is sometimes due to the eggs not evenly spread out within the detritus. And finally using spring bottled water and a desk lamp works everytime, make sure the lamp stays on for the initial 24 hours. It can take 3-4 days for them to become visible. I don't usually write reviews but I hope this helped.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By gsd4me on 11 Nov. 2013
Our first half packet produced an abundance of life (all to small to identify) within the first week, However, very quickly we ended up with just one very large and grumpy triops he ate EVERYTHING. He did live happily (I hope) in his lonely tank for 3 months (we changed the water regularly) shedding his skin a number of times.

The second half of the egg packet fortunately, produced no triops, so my daughter was able to watch the daphnia and fairy shrimp for serveral weeks until the water got so full of algae etc, we had to let them go in the wild.

The Triops quickly became large enough to allow for water changes however, the daphnia never reached a size you could fish them out safely. All in all a good and varied product.

8 year old daughter has put more eggs on her xmas list so she must have enjoyed them
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful By mark on 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase
Although this product has been unfairly reviewed by several other customers, I would like to contradict the status quo and explain why I feel this is unfair.

Having sold triops myself for several years on eBay, i'm not doing myself any favours for writing a good review on here for these, quite the contrary.

However I want to write a fair and honest review. For the money you pay for these eggs, it is great value for money. You receive the eggs all ready to go, all you need is a small tupperware container or similar, and 500ml of bottled mineral, distilled, or fresh rainwater, and a lamp for the required temperature (a thermometer is also advisable to ensure you have the correct temperature).

As well as triops eggs you also receive fairy shrimp eggs, claim shrimp eggs, and daphnia eggs, all in the same packet. If you want a great educational tool for children this is the perfect thing for you.

If you follow the instructions right you will definitely get some form of life.

I admit the first packet i bought, I had lots of fairy shrimp and all the other little critters within 24 hours, however unfortunately no triops after 2 weeks.

I don't blame the seller/producer for this though as, from my own experience i know even when there are eggs present, sometimes they just won't hatch on the first hydration and can sometimes need more time, they basically will only hatch when they are ready.

This did not matter though, as a replacement was sent out for me after 2 weeks, with no hassle, and I now have 3 little triops!
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By nomi on 11 Aug. 2013
Despite following the instructions nothing hatched at all. I was not expecting wonders but absolutly nothing happened not very happy with this product.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Clarkie on 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase
Purchased for my daughter who was so keen on getting these. Despite following the instructions to the letter, they didn't hatch at all.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A L on 19 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase
This is the third time we had tried the triops. The first two times failed and we thought it wasn't warm enough as we tried April/May, so we waited until June and the weather was warm. Followed the instructions to the letter and after two weeks, no triops. My 8 year old son is very disappointed!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By S.E.H. on 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase
After trying to grow triops for the first time from a commercial kit I had very little success as only 4 hatched and they died within a week :( so I purchased these eggs to give it another go and I've had much better results. I had loads hatch! But I only have one alive now (as I think it ate the others) which is getting pretty big and is full of energy and still growing after 3 weeks. It seems so much healthier than the ones I got from the commercial starter kit. So for anyone wanting to grow triops I would recommend buying these eggs as they are much better quality :)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Verified Purchase
Loads of Fairy Shrimps and loads of Daphnia hatched, but to the disappointment of our son, no Triop hatched. The Fairy Shrimps lived for a few weeks. Some Daphnia even survived more than two months. We eventually released the surviving ones into a local pond, because the water was getting very algae. After complaining to the seller that no Triop hattched, he sent a free replacement pack. Unfortunately nothing hatched at all from the replacement pack. Might have been because of the temperature differences in winter between day and night in the house.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Look for similar items by category