Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£22.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2015
The at a Glance series is primarily aimed at medical student and is geared to be useful for both the visual learner, the wrote learner and for those who are looking to revise in the lead up to exams. Transplantation at a Glance is one of the titles within this series.

The advantage of this title is not in the preparation that it provides you for examinations at medical school as it is highly unlikely that questions will come up on this topic. If however you are interested in transplantation then you will find this a useful read at a level that a medical student will understand it, covering topics such as the diagnosis of death, the ethics of donation, harvesting & transplant along with specific considerations for each different organ system.

In conclusion this title is an interesting read but not a useful title for a medical student to read given the vast variety of knowledge that a student is expected to know. If you are interested in Transplantation though, it would potentially be worth borrowing a copy from your university library.

Competing Interests: Student Reviewer - Received a gratis copy of this title to review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2013
I can't actually comment on the content since the print is so small that I find it hard to read. I might amend the review when I get a suitable magnifying device.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
This is an excellent introduction to organ transplantation and there is nothing to match it on the market. I give a copy to all new research fellows and research associates for example. And without exception they find it valuable. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
First off, this book is aimed at medical students and practitioners; it's not a guide suitable for those on a transplant waiting list and wanting to know more about what's involved. Given this, I should say at the outset that I'm not part of the target audience. I'm a professional philosopher, but I ordered this because I'm part of an inter-disciplinary group (including medics, lawyers, psychologists, and philosophers) looking at organ donation and transplantation policy. My expertise and interest lies in the ethics, but I hoped that this book would give me greater insight into the medical side of transplantation.

The book is clearly laid out in 46 brief chapters, mostly just two pages consisting of a picture (between half and a full page) and around a page of text. These chapters cover a range of issues, including organ donation and preservation and immunosuppression, as well as several chapters on particular organs, the kidney being especially well covered.

As indicated above, this isn't written for the general reader. I had to look up a number of technical terms, such as ischaemia (restriction of blood supply) and anastomosis (reconnection of blood vessels or similar). Other details, like names of particular drugs, I let pass me by. Even this, fairly superficial, reading was eye-opening though. Often I was already vaguely aware of certain issues, such as the need to transplant organs quickly while they're fresh and problems of immunosuppression following a transplant, but reading this really emphasised these facts.

Since my own interest is in ethics, I must say that this gets very little coverage. There are nods towards ethical considerations in the chapter on the allocation of organs, but it doesn't really consider how different allocative criteria ought to be weighed against each other, while the final chapter on xenotransplantation (using animal organs in humans) gets just one sentence to note that it raises ethical and religious objections! Of course, this isn't the main focus of the book.

Not being a medical student myself, it's hard for me to say how useful the intended audience are likely to find this book, but I think most would find it a handy reference material. It is densely packed with information, but the result is that the brief chapters probably do cover almost all you need to know at a glance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Transplantation is such a multidisciplinary area, and rapidly changing in terms of surgical technique and immunological knowledge, that the breadth of knowledge required seems daunting. This work is designed to provide a comprehensive yet compact, clear and easy to read introduction for students and junior doctors, though it also will be of great value to many of the multidisciplinary specialists involved in transplantation outside of this group.

The authors have taken the approach that many areas are best explained by diagrams, in particular the main areas of the surgical techniques involved and the immunological aspects. Thus the book is neatly divided into 46 short chapters of two facing pages with good quality colour diagrams on the left-hand page and accompanying text on the right-hand side.

My own interest is relatively peripheral to the intended readership; my wife is one of the longest surviving heart-lung transplant patients in the UK, and has also had a kidney transplant. Although of a non-medical background but educated, this book is still proving great value to me in gaining greater understanding of the surgical practices involved and in particular the immunological side and its relation to continued aftercare, though the immunology discussion despite being described in the introduction as a "crash course" begins at a rather high level of understanding compared to my knowledge. My wife despite having a partly medical background herself and having "been through it all before" has also arrived at some new understandings on reading this. It's a truly valuable introduction to the subject.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book is fairly unique in bringing transplantation to a medical student audience outside the confines of a general medical textbook. I would say that you will learn more about transplantation from this book than if you concertinead the sections together from Davidson's or Kumar. Also although there are excellent transplant sections in the oxford handbook of nephrology that clearly wouldn't include liver, lung, heart transplantation.

In keeping with the series each topic is covered in a double page spread with a diagram on the left side. The information is succinct but obviously lacking in depth given the size of the book. There are excellent detailed sections on transplant immunology and cross matching where people often get stuck. Also good chapters on the difference between deceased heart beating, non-heartbeating etc and the way the organs are handled e.g. difference between warm and cold ischaemia.

Overall, given that transplantation is a medical and surgical speciality combined I would think this book would be universally of interest to medical students and is not so big an addition as to make it burdensome.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 22 October 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A very useful, succinct overview of Organ Transplantation, well presented with excellent illustrations.
Starting with a timeline history of transplantation, it moves through principles of immunity and rejection and how to assess donor/recipient compatibility, before dealing with renal, liver and heart transplants and ending with a brief consideration of the developing arena of hand, forearm and face transplants.
Written by experts in the field, it is a good read, not too much in depth but at the same time giving plenty of facts, figures and perspective. As a scientist working for NHS Blood & Transplant I found it excellent background information, and I imagine it would be well received by its target audience - medical students in their early years and healthcare professionals who may come into contact with these procedures and want to know a bit more about them without wading through weighty textbooks.
Definitely worth the money in my view.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 February 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This guide is a great introduction to transplantation, or alternately can be used as a nice revision tool.

The book is split into sections, with a diagram on one page and a description on the other page. This nice, easy layout makes it easy to look in the contents page what you are looking for, and means that the content is structured nicely in a concise way.

The level of detail is good, but you'll need more detailed textbooks if you want the finer detail. After all, it is only "At a glance".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 January 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book provides an excellent overview of transplantation written in easy to understand language with clear and relevant illustrations. The layout of the book is such that it starts by discussing organ donors, then matching and compatibility generally before focusing on each organ transplant and finishes off with xenotransplantation. Excellent value for the price, well worth it in my opinion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Transplantation is a very hot topic in medicine, with organ donation being the subject of both medical and ethical dilemmas. This book provides an excellent overview of this subject:

The book is divided into the following chapters:

-Organ donors
-Organ preservation
-Immunology of organ transplantation
-Histocompatibility in transplantation
-Organ allocation
-Immunosuppression
-Complications of immunosuppression
-Kidney transplantation
-Pancreas and islet transplantation
-Liver transplantation
-Intestinal transplantation
-Heart transplantation
-Lung transplantation
-Composite tissue transplantation
-Xenotransplantation

As in fashion with other at a glance books, a particular topic is divided into two pages; the left showing schematics and diagrams and the right side containing explanatory text.

All-in-all, this is a fantastic book and covers some of the basic principles of transplantation, providing an excellent introductory text to this topic. 5/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)