Transmission: Ragnarok: Book Two and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Transmission (Ragnarok 2) Hardcover – 19 Jan 2012


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£5.20 £1.19

Trade In Promotion



Product details

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Gollancz (19 Jan 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0575085355
  • ISBN-13: 978-0575085350
  • Product Dimensions: 15.8 x 3.7 x 24.1 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (14 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 819,715 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

I'm John Meaney (aka Thomas Blackthorne), writer of hard SF, gothic SF/dark fantasy, and near-future thrillers. Having studied physics and computer science, I've been a globetrotting IT consultant and taught software engineering on three continents. Nowadays, I hide in a Welsh valley and write full-time.

I've trained in martial arts since I was a kid, primarily shotokan karate. I'm a trained hypnotist, so don't look into my eyes... And I adore cats. (And www.johnmeaney.com is my online home - pop in and say hi!)


P.S. For readers shopping at amazon.co.uk - please note that Black Blood is a US import, being the title the American publishers chose to use for the book that's called Dark Blood over here. (Writers don't choose titles or cover art or any of that stuff. We don't like it when something appears under 2 different titles, because in the long run it costs us readers!) To be fair to the publishers, Black Blood was my original working title, but it changed a year before US publication. The US edition contains later revisions compared to the British version, but they're minor.

Publishers buy the rights to publish in certain countries, so the US publishers weren't thinking of American books being sold in Britain. The business is country-based, but the Web is global.

Product Description

Book Description

Return to the universe of Ragnarok - an epic space opera that pulls together ancient history, the dark events of the 20th century and the far future. A perfect book for fans of Peter F. Hamilton and Alastair Reynolds.

From the Inside Flap

Return to the universe of Ragnarok - an epic space opera that pulls together ancient history, the dark events of the twentieth century and a remarkable vision of the far-flung future.

Following the devastating battle to protect his home planet, the young post-human Pilot Roger is slowly recuperating. The death of his parents in a heroic battle has left him alone in the universe - apart from his own ship, left by his father, secret from the rest of the galaxy, slowly coming to maturity in a hidden location. They will be bonded for life, in a symbiotic relationship that will change everything - but only if Roger can survive the enemies arrayed against him, enemies that only he can identify.

In Twentieth century Europe, between the wars, Gavriela continues to study, to learn and to teach. But she too sees the darkness around her, and as the drums of the Third Reich get louder, she must flee to England. Recruited by the secret services and sent to Bletchley Park, she will have a chance to affect the outcome of the war. Her ability to sense the darkness in a person will prove vital to the war effort. But the true conflict remains beyond her imagination.

In 8th century Norseland, a young man has encountered evil more than once, and may not be immune to its taint. His enemy remains one step ahead, blessed by luck or something more, shrouded in shadow that only Ulfr can see. But no-one can escape the wolf for long.

These three are not the only ones who can sense the darkness. Other creatures from other planets seem to share their dreams, and there is one who knows more than should be possible. The Ragnarok Council is beginning to form, and will fight the darkness throughout time and space...


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful By Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 17 Jan 2012
Format: Hardcover
John Meaney is one of those authors that you either love or hate. I love the guys writing, the hard combat, the speed of thought and the idea's that seem to keep flying around and hitting you like neutrino's. It's cleverly plotted and of course it has a pace that few authors can manage to keep up with let alone emulate.

Add to this an almost adult by the hand guide through the work as it wends it way through numerous characters and timelines as well as a great use of prose and it's a title that I absolutely adored as there's something for everyone within be it good old fashioned Scandinavian mythology or even an honour system alongside a dark future.

All in this is a cracking piece of fiction and a pure joy to read, just prepare to leave grip marks within the titles pages.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Booklover on 10 July 2013
Format: Kindle Edition
This was a great continuation from Absorption. I really enjoyed it and wish the next in the series was available, but it's not been released yet!

This is a great author, very original and great science fiction ideas. I love all the different story lines and the characters are all brilliantly described and written.

A great science fiction book, I wish there was more like this.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By CjW VINE VOICE on 30 Jun 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the book.
Some themes seem to come from another book I've read, but as I've read hundreds, can't place it.

Good concepts and a good read though.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mr. Mark A. Laborda on 4 Jun 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I enjoyed this but thought there was just suggestion that the plot was getting a little thin at the end, I agree with a previous reviewer that we are not a lot further forward from book 1. I look forward to book 3 and hope it will nicely finish off all the plot threads.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Ulla Bjørg Skaane on 25 April 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The good things about this book is the science. It is vey up to date with recent research, as far as I can tell. Then we follow several people at different times in history, and their stories are somewhat interesting, but it is not very well knitted together in the end, and the ending is very disappointing. It seems like the author ran out of steam.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Parm TOP 500 REVIEWER on 23 Jan 2012
Format: Hardcover
Review

First let me start this by saying i really am not a fan of Sci-fi, i will watch it, but cant really read it. I think most of the authors are amazingly talented and have imaginations that are bizarre and inspiring, after all that's how we have Star Trek, Star Wars, Dr Who, etc..

So when i got this book to review i groaned but at the same time i knew i had to read the book, getting a freebie deserves the decency of a read.

John Meaney's writing came across as edgy, exciting, fast paced and well plotted, it wasn't the depth of the last sci-fi series i read (Otherland by Tad Williams) but it was still very clever, weaving some mythology alongside the authors fantastic imagination.

I actually enjoyed this, would i buy another of his books? No probably not, but that's just me and Sci-fi, but i can see anyone who liked the genre giving this 4 stars + (so i will do the same).

Product Description

The second volume of Meaney's epic Ragnarok space opera trilogy. The dark matter in the universe is alive and is seeking to pervert human history to its own ends. Its influence has reached back into the dark ages, to the centre of the 3rd Reich and 600 years into the future. The Ragnarok universe not only provides a stunning SF rationale for Norse mythology but posits a world where pilots are locked into symbiotic relationships with their ships and the cities can come alive.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Bridget McKenna on 17 Feb 2012
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I love John Meaney's way with ideas and lanuguage; I always approach a new Meaney book with anticipation of a towering story, fascinating characters, lots and lots of suspense, and confidence that I'm in good hands; eventually, every thread in the web in which he's snagged the reader is going to be recognized as part of an exciting and ultimately satisying larger pattern.

Ragnarok is more than a web--it's a tapestry with designs so engaging that I forget to see the individual threads Meaney uses to construct it. Two volumes in, it's a work of amazing craftsmanship that I suspect I may only fully recognize it when I've finally turned the last page of the last book.

How will a young berserker from the 7th century AD, a physicist from the mid-20th century and her 21st centuy grandson, a 27th century Pilot and his Ship, a young Seeker with no memory from our far future, and a host of other captivating characters play their parts in a battle to keep all of spacetime from being subsumed by a ravening Darkness that devours millions of minds at a time? Certainly there are few answers in this second volume, and none that are not woven into even bigger questions. What there is is lots of good writing and storytelling and character development and forward motion that will have me queueing up for the next volume.

I'm a little disappointed there's no US Kindle edition of either this or the previous volume. Gollancz should get on that.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews



Feedback