Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars13
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
2
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 21 September 2011
First a note as to what is actually contained in this volume as the marketing blurb is just plain wrong. This is a reprint of the first 13 issues of the Marvel (US) Transformer series which started in 1984. UK readers will recognise these as they all appeared in early issues of our comic too.

On to the quality of the collection. Unlike previous Classics reprints, there are no issues missed here - IDW and Marvel have sorted out their licensing quibbles so that characters like Spiderman and Circuit Breaker no longer cause anything to be missed. Also different is the colouring - gone are the dot matrix grids, replaced by solids. This doesn't really improve the look in my view - these are old comics, and I'd prefer them to look as they did originally. The solid colours give everything a rather flat look and highlight any problems with the artwork. It's not a dealbreaker however. The cover is embossed and it's a fairly handsome trade paperback. There is a new two page introduction and three small notes highlighting trivia on a few of the comics - these are fine but more could certainly have been done from an editorial standpoint. The covers of each issue are reproduced.

As for the content itself, it's aged a bit but not as badly as I expected. These were written to sell toys and for the first four issues it really shows as both writer and artist struggle to breathe life into the robot characters. Credit is due though for establishing the Transformers mythology. When Budiansky gets hands on with scripting duties things start to improve. These comics could easily have been terrible given the huge roster of toys to sell, but he quickly focuses on a few and isn't afraid to build up an overarching plot between many issues - something that kept me hooked as a kid. Included here are Shockwave's grand entrance, the plight of Ratchet as last remaining Autobot, and the return of Prime and Megatron after long absences. There isn't a settled artistic team, and some people get to grips with the subject better than others (William Johnson in Warrior School is the first to get the Bots to show some kind of emotion) however it's passable for the most part. They stand up OK for what they are, and if you are buying as a Transformers fan, or just to indulge in nostalgia, then you'll enjoy them again. I wouldn't recommend them to a neutral reader of course.

Finally, if you want a copy of this I wouldn't hang about. IDW has a terrible record of keeping stuff in print, and Amazon UK seem useless at getting much stock - use a reliable Marketplace seller or order directly from Amazon.com rather than wait.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 November 2013
With the recent Michael Bay films proving to be huge blockbuster hits now is the perfect time to revisit these old comics from the 80's. For something that started off as just an advert to sell toys, there has actually been a lot of thought and plot put into these comics full of great characters and even set in the Marvel Universe with guest appearance from Spiderman and cameo from Nick Fury in one issue. A lot of fun to read though i suspect this book will simply appeal to fans only with fond memories of the original comics or fans of the new films curious to see where it all started but if you are a fan then these comics are pretty much as i remember from the 80's and will no doubt love. Graphic novel contains the first 12 issues and sees the arrival from the Transformers home planet Cybertron.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I bought this collection to try out my new kindle fire hd and I was not disappointed. I was a huge fan of transformers in the early 80s and have all the comics from issue 40 right to the sad end of the run with issue 300. It was great to be able to read the original American marvel stories from issue 1 to 13. The strips display well and are easy to read and follow. I'm off now to get vol 2 and I can't wait to get up to the UK comics. This is a must for any fan of the original series or comic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Not the best artwork you'll ever see but 30 years later, these are probably still the best Transformers comics.

Bob Budiansky and Dennis O'Neil are the comic book writers who created the personalities and snappy names of the first wave of Generation One (as it has come to be known) Autobots and Decepticons, and if you ask me, they don't get enough credit for the job they did.

Some fans will look at the characters and think "that's a bad rendition of (whoever)" but at the time of print, there wasn't a cartoon series (that came a few months later) so it's no wonder the robots are not as recognisable.

Do yourself a favour and buy all eight of these classic volumes, you'll love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
This New Collection Of The US Comics Is, In My Opinion, The Best Version To Start Collecting.

The Artwork Has Been Beautifully Restored Throughout And Is Much Better Than The Previous Release Of This Collection. Also, The Price Is A Lot More Reasonable Than The Price Of The Previous Hardback Versions (I Managed To Buy My Copy For Less Than £15, A Real Bargain!)

Another Plus For This New Release Is That You Get More Issues Of The US Comics In One Volume Which Is An Improvement On The Previous Release Which Had Less Stories Per Volume.

I Shall Be Investing In These New Collections In Future. Well Done IDW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Bought this book out of nostagia for the Transformers comic I used to get as a child - certainly a superior incarnation than the current films.

The book comes with a bit of background about how it came to be created, which is quite interesting.
Credit is deserved for creating an interesting plot around something which could have been seen as a cynical marketing exercise.

Did find I got tired of the constant changing of the characters eventually, but the comics did have a good run and there were some exciting stories with clever ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Its a great book glad I got it cant wait for the next book in the series awesome stuff buy it now
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2015
My son was asking for a Transformers book in English for ages (we only have them in Chinese). It's a really good quality book if you have a 6 year old who loves Transformers...much better than anything new Though I have to say the inclusion of Spiderman to sell more copies in one of the early stories is quite bizarre editorial decision!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
When Titan Books released the classic Generation One Transformers comics in trade paperback, it became obvious just how dated some of the artwork and MOST of the colouring was. Not only are single, solid colours (along with the horrific "dot-print" colouring) used exclusively, but Nel Yomtov was infamous for colouring characters wrongly and slapping all background characters with an anonymous block colour.

Skip forward, and IDW have the rights to re-print the old Marvel strips, and proudly announce that this time they'll be "remastered".

Does this mean they'll be coloured in a modern style- similar to the current IDW or Dreamwave strips?
Will characters be coloured correctly?

Er, no.

What you get is permanent flat colour- no "dot-print" here- but the printing on matt paper (as opposed to Titan's gloss) means that lines and text are a lot thicker. Despite IDW's boast that Soundwave is now blue, characters are often STILL coloured incorrectly. And previous colour choices are changed at times, not for the better, to suit the flat colour approach.

Oh, and the murky block colouring of background characters (even one robot literally just behind the other, but still in the foreground!) remains.

A wasted opportunity and not worth it. Seek out Titan's stuff instead.
Overall, it just seems like a gigantic waste of time. Why not redo the colours properly? Generation One could have looked so much better...
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
Transformers are the best and bla bla bla
But seriously, one thing that surprised me most is the fantastic paper and print quality!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse