Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars262
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I have 2 of these on pre-order for my nephew and myself for christmas.

Dark side of the moon is ten pounds all by itself so having all 3 in one boxset for fifteen pounds is a complete and total bargain.

I will update the review to inform you of the special features if any that are on the discs although apart from a few audio commentary's by michael bay i dont think there are any extras, but then i never actually watch the extras i buy the dvd's for the movies themselves.

Not everyone loves transformers, im a nerd so i love them, i loved the 1st film, the 2nd one sucked and the 3rd one was fantastic and a great way to end it for now as michael bay has said he wont do anymore.

Mind you this is the decade of the reboots so dont be surprised if someone picks it up in a few years and tries it again.

For the price you cant go wrong and in a few years the boxset will be worth some money.

The choice is yours..

**Update**

Disc 1 Transformers - Special Features - Audio commentary with Michael Bay. Running time 138 minutes.

Disc 2 Revenge of the Fallen - Special features - Audio commentary by Michael bay, Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman. Running time 144 minutes.

Disc 3 Dark of the Moon - Special Features - *None* - Running time 148 minutes.

Also all 3 discs are available to select in the following languages upon disc insertion:

Dansk
Norsk
English
Suomi
Nerderlandstalig
Svenska.
0Comment|70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
The first two transformers movie are amazing, all characters, especially the transformers themselves are fantastic to watch and transform, the first two movies are nice alternatives to other action movies. Both the first and second film have great story-lines and all characters are enjoyable. Even my nephew who is six years old enjoyed these movies! Anyone of any age can easily enjoy these movies.

But the reason for the four stars and not five is because of the final film, 'dark of the moon'.

Sam who was the 'lovable' hero in the first two movies as now turned into a screaming baby, in almost every action scene he's screaming, no exageration. Megan Fox has left the franchise and has been replaced by a trophy girl, she is beautiful but cannot act to save her life and the relationship between her and sam is awful and not interesting in the slightest and all she does in the movie is scream for Sam's help, where as Megan Fox had her own story and unique qualities and had much more of a significance.
The autobots have seemed to have been 'dulled' down, Bumblebee almost seems static! The storyline in theory is quite good but lacks the 'energy' in the first two films.
The film drags on for way too long and the ending is terrible, for literally 45 mins in the film, sam and his girlfriend are trapped in a building, just screaming! The final film is just full of explosions and screaming.

All in all, the first two films are great, story lines, characters everything but the third film is just awful.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
got for partners xmas present ideal for anyone who enjoys that type of film,entertaining and fun. great price very well recieved.delivered in time excellent service as always
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
The Transformers Trilogy, "Transformers" (2007), "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" (2009) and "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" (2011) have been three of some of the highest grossing films of the decade, and at the same time three debateably overrated sci-fi films although many have given the films extreme amounts of criticism, particularly the worst installment out of the three - Revenge of the Fallen. Whilst not familiar with the original series, but knowing that this was just three movies about giant robots I approached the trilogy and have the following reviews on each film.

Transformers: 3 stars
The trilogy begins with a race against time with two races of mechanical beings from Cybertron, Autobots and Decepticons searching for a cube which can rejuvinate their planet, but the humans are caught in the middle and one of them, Sam Witwicky holds the key to the end of a civil war that could destory the human race. Whilst out of the three this is the one many fans support the most, I seriously didn't like it on initial release and with the two sequels now released that opinion has little changed, although the comparison to its immediate sequel puts this one in a better light. Transformers has got excellent CGI, an excellent opening sequence with plenty of intrigue and explosions required. The film as a whole moves at a quicker pace than Revenge of the Fallen and introduces us to the characters in an effective, if extremely tiresome on the part of the humans, manner. But the main problem of the film is recurrent throughout the entire trilogy - and that's that the Transformers, Autobots and Decepticons alike play second fiddle to humans like Sam Witwicky and Lennox. The movie moves at quite a slow pace, although not nearly as slow as its sequels do and the Transformers basically have very little to show, if this is a movie about giant robots, then it fails because they are always shoved aside by the humans who are either unlikeable, vaguely comedic, plain distracting or plot devices. Despite it's many flaws, the dialogue is terrible here for humans and transformers, it makes an OK flick.

Transformers - Revenge of the Fallen: 2 stars
And then this came up, the worst of the Transformers movies and for a great many viewers of this piece of meandering incoherence, the worst flick of 2009, and for some even further, of all time. The plot is complicated, Sam Witwicky goes to college but the Government want the Transformers off their planet becuase they believe (somehow) that the Decepticons are hunting the autobots and that if they leave, then peace on Earth will occur. But an ancient Decepticon has a plan to rebuild an army through destroying the Sun and therefore Earth's life. It's another race against time to find Sam, protect him, climaxing with a battle in Egypt. Stupid, ludicrous, racist, plain silly, sexist and with a terrible shaky camera which means we can't see who's fighting who or what. The reasons for hating this film are reasonable, whereas the defence is always the same and that's that there's some excellent CGI, yes there is but there's too little of it, every good fight scene has a huge amount of time with bad acting and terrible plot development around it, and when the CGI does come along it's done with a visual effect which presents us from getting barely any good shots. It does get above one star though becuase the CGi is the only thing saving it, but it's not the reason for supporting the movie and giving it four or five out of five, popcorn entertainment yes, but it's still a terrible incoherent, time-wasting film with so many pointless human characters and plot developments, and the fact the Transformers have very few lines.

Transformers: Dark of the Moon - 3 1/2 stars
A political thriller, american comedy and sci-fi thriller, Part 3 of this trilogy reveals that a Transformers ship crashed on the moon and onboard is the Einstein of the Transformdrs, Sentinel Prime, but when he's not all he seems and the at-first welcoming return of their former leader turns into a far more sinister nature then it turns into an all out battle for the future of Earth - and Cybertron. Out of the three this is the one I like the most although it's still incredibly flawed, Michael Bay not only doesn't learn his lesson after the feedback of Revenge of the Fallen, but goes even further by defying both the laws of physics and once again giving us the same badly acted human distractions for at least half the film. Megan Fox having been fired by Michael Bay is replaced by Victoria's Secret model Rosie Huntingdon-Whitely and actually I prefer her, mainly because she does what she;'s meant to do, play hostage and scream - which in the context of the film is less annoying than the works of Fox. Wilst acitng is no better and similar to its predecessor another pointless Government character to slow things down and make things awkward is introduced, Dark of the Moon offers some improvement. he Transformers get much more screentime and develop more, Optimus Prime develops out of a Superman defender into an anti-hero and the Transformers get a little more dignity in battle and out, with the Racist Twins of ROTF gone. The battles are far better staged then in the past with some exceptional shots and a steadier camera.

Coming to the point, one thing that all three films had was potential but it was never utilised effectively, Micahel Bay spent too much time on the humans and their subplots, and not enough on the autobots, but the films had some epic CGI and the best part of all three which adds a star (Revenge of the Fallen gets as high a rating from me probably for this reason more than the CGI) and that's that all three films have beautiful scoring, thanks to Stephen Jablonsky who creates a unique, breathtaking collection of musical themes for all the films and provides some excellent battle music whilst at it. So whilst flawed films, they're worth seeing just to understand how even those with huge budgets can completely ruin a flick, and if you want to go brain dead and enjoy just some terrible scripted CGI, not a bad place to look - in some ways, it stands as an example of one of the greatest cinematic anomalies - that bad films often make loads of money.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
No so bad at the end of the day. Spectacular effects and a certain ability to conceive big scenes and visuals. With some anarchic and funny moments due to Turturro's character and a good mix of irony and action, plus Bay's entertaining skills that make it look cartoonistic sometimes (the fantastic scene when robots hide around the house.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Bought this for my transformers mad son.

Single case, with 3 videos in. Good price if you want to get all 3 in one go.

The production values are sky high and the computer animation/effects are unbelievably good quality.

The humans all seem to talk (well babble loudly, rather than talk), at the same time, and never listen. The constantly argue. - All. The. Time. - Its infuriating to watch them. Maybe thats the idea? Its bad in the first film, but just gets wors in 2 and 3. After film 1, most Transformers start to talk in gangsta speak which is also incredibly annoying.

Most Autobots (with the exception of Optimus and Bumblebee) are nasty, cruel and violent. The decepticons are nasty, cruel and violent. The battles are nasty, cruel and violent. The humans are nasty, cruel and violent. So fairly typical modern 'family' entertainment. You probably guessed I don't like it, but the kids love it. I'd rate it 1 star, they'd rate it 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Films that do their job!
Outstanding special effects, good plot and you get to see Megan Fox. 'Revenge of the Fallen' is my favorite, but they're all great and greater in Blu Ray. Cheap price and worth the Blu Ray upgrade.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Any film crammed with alien robots, major city wide destruction and actresses that look like models is a hell of a film in my opinion. Here you have three of them. I think I prefer the last girl (who's name I don't know) from film three is the better actress and very attractive. Megan Fox is good as well although her acting sometimes makes me want to push pens into my eyes and ears. Shia LaBeouf is a legend. Kinda think his overly chatty ways grow a little thin in the last movie but he is still great.

So really all the films are great, think the first is the best and then it tapers off a little but all three are totally epic action wise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
I loved the transformer films, although they may not tax you on an intelligence level (its fairly obvious whats gonna happen) the graphics and sound are awesome!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2013
I can't get enuff of these films am a massive fan I grew up with the cartoons & fingers in the 80's & av never grown out of them
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.