Start reading Torpedo Attack on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here or start reading now with a free Kindle Reading App.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Torpedo Attack
 
 

Torpedo Attack [Kindle Edition]

Richard Townsend Bickers
3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: £2.99 includes VAT* & free wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £2.99  
Hardcover --  
Kindle Daily Deal
Kindle Daily Deal: At least 60% off
Each day we unveil a new book deal at a specially discounted price--for that day only. Learn more about the Kindle Daily Deal or sign up for the Kindle Daily Deal Newsletter to receive free e-mail notifications about each day's deal.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Purchase any Kindle Book sold by Amazon.co.uk and receive £1 credit to try out our Digital Music Store. Here's how (terms and conditions apply)

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

The year is 1939.

Britain is a war with an enemy as deadly as she has ever faced.

Flying Officer Alden is desperate to have a crack at the Nazis.

But five years earlier, he had been invalided out of the service after a crash.

Now, desperately short of qualified pilots, the RAF needs him back.

He is posted to a Beaufort squadron at the outbreak of war.

Torpedo bomber units flying Bristol Beauforts, they are tasked with attacking enemy ships.

Shrouded in secrecy, it is the most dangerous unit in the RAF, with only one in five men surviving their first tour of duty, and three in a hundred living through a second.

Alden knows the odds are stacked against him.

Without the flying experience and seniority to match his contemporaries from the RAF College, he is desperate to catch up with them and restore his career -- even it means taking risks.

As he takes command of the 'Torpedo Attack' he must overcome his handicaps and restore his pride -- or die trying.

'Torpedo Attack' is a brilliantly authentic World War Two adventure story. It is an accurate portrayal of a vividly exciting, dauntingly dangerous and technically demanding type of aerial warfare that has received little attention since.

It is perfect for fans of Alistair MacLean and Jack Higgins.

'A thrilling page turner.' - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'Trade Off'.

Richard Townsend Bickers volunteered for the RAF on the outbreak of the second world war and served, with a Permanent Commission, for eighteen years. He wrote a range of military fiction and non-fiction books, including a biography of his friend "Ginger" Lacey, the top-scoring pilot in the Battle of Britain.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3882 KB
  • Print Length: 167 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (14 Oct 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00FWUZLL6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #18,028 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
3.7 out of 5 stars
3.7 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but rough around the edges. 25 July 2014
By Andy
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book has left me rather torn.
As much as i enjoyed reading the book there are a few issues, first being as mentioned in another review, the story ends when every thing seems unfinished. This may be due to a future sequel, but that's not clear so i think it's a valid point. It feels like i'm only a third of the way though and it's over.
The other point is that this book is littered with spelling mistakes, the odd missed speech mark making things a little confusing. It's like the book wasn't proof read.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars a good read but !! 8 Jun 2014
By charlie
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A good read but a very poor finish. It left me thinking that there were pages missing and that the writer had run out of ideas. A pity as this has the potential as a 5 star.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned yarn 8 April 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Reads like a British black and white war movie. What more could you want?
Let's have some more of this author's books on Kindle.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 2.9 out of 5 stars  11 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good solid story, very well written. 18 Nov 2013
By wmcharg - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I generally don't read books that have no reviews. When I saw that this was a book about Coastal Command in WWII, written by a pilot from the time, I had to read it.
The writing is topnotch. I am a fan of old WWII movies, and the dialogue sounds like it could have come from British movies of the period.
The action sequences are well done. There is a love story of sorts, but it does not detract from the story.
I don't often read really well done novels of WWII. Most of them, if written today, have attitudes that are not true to the time. This story suffered from none of that.
A well done story. I went and bought the other book this author has on Amazon, Summer of No Surrender. I hope he writes more.
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasent read. 24 Jun 2014
By robert martin - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
A good read about a little discussed airplane and mission. Better editing would have made for a more conclusive ending. This is true for most of this authors books. Still, it was a pleasent read.
2.0 out of 5 stars suddenly it's over 23 April 2014
By Russell Conklin - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
just getting interesting, start to get involved in characters, and it ends.
would not purchase again if I knew it was going nowhere
5.0 out of 5 stars A Pilots Book 21 Mar 2014
By Richard Pavek - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a great read for anyone who has an interest in world war two aviation, especially that of the Royal Air Force. This particular tale was about the lesser known RAF Coastal Command. It is filled with details of lesser known aircraft, armament, and battles that embellish the sorties of the air crews that manned the aircraft. It was difficult to put down. I recommend it highly to any aviation buff.
Richard
3.0 out of 5 stars New Beginnings 2 Feb 2014
By becquilts - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Would loved to have more explanation for all of the initials. Going to read another of Mr. Vickers books next. It should get better and easier to read. We will see.
Were these reviews helpful?   Let us know
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category