Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars13
3.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£3.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2010
I'm being kind with three stars, because like most people I have a soft spot for Tommy, who was outstanding at the top of his game. In a way it's quite comforting to watch this kind of thing, if only because it gives the lie to the assertion that light entertainment standards have plummetted. In the 70's and 80's you had to sit through a lot of third rate stuff if you wanted to see your comedy heroes on TV. Even if you went to see them topping the bill at a theatre, you were lucky to get fifteen minutes.

Of course the padding out of TV shows did serve one important purpose - you couldn't pause or record in those days so it was a good time to make the tea! And on another level it's quite a laugh to see what we accepted as entertainment back then.

Tommy isn't on bad form really, it's just that the material's been recycled. I watched this on the back of a DVD of the first series of "The Comedians", which was sadly nowhere near as good as I remembered. When you watch Tommy alongside the average 70's comic, even in his twilight years, you can see that he was head and shoulders above the average.

For the uninitiated, however, I would really go along with other reviewers who recommend a compilation of Tommy's best moments.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
I'm being generous with two stars, and that's only because I love Tommy Cooper so much it'd break my heart to give only one or less.

Don't buy this DVD if you're a Tommy Cooper fan, please, and just trust me on this.

Basically, in each episode, you get 10 minutes of Tommy Cooper, and 20 minutes of Danny Doyle; and the 10 minutes with Tommy Cooper is him slurring, with a sad look in his eyes, his timing is off, his lines are off.

Every episode is the same. Tommy does 1 joke. 10 minutes of boring music/dancing. Tommy does 1 trick. 10 minutes of boring Danny Doyle singing a boring song on his boring guitar to a boring tune. Tommy does 1 last joke. The end.

And that's it, seriously, I'm not even exaggerating here. I just wanted to hug him so much.

Oh it's just a heartbreaking experience to see what happened to my favourite comedian in his later days.

Stick to Tommy Cooper HOUR, or Tommy Cooper Collection or Cooperama.

This DVD won't make you laugh - but it will make you cry; and oh how I cried.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
I must say that for me Tommy Cooper was probably the greatest ever British comedian/magician. You have to love someone who could elicit laughter from an audience by just standing there and saying nothing.

However, this does not contain his best material by far - and to be honest it is quite embarassing at times. There are glimpses of the real Cooper here, but they are few and far between. He is onscreen for only about 12 minutes per show.

The DVD consists of 6 programmes lasting approximately 24 minutes each which were broadcast between 2nd September and 7th October 1980 on ITV. As the other reviewers have written, each programme is padded by guest singers (a resident Danny Doyle, Katie Budd, Jackie Marks, Los Reales de Paraguay, Stephanie Lawrence, Sheeba) and they truly are awful. The dance troupe who do an opening routine in each show are better, and quite sexy/suggestive for 1980.

English subtitles are available, and picture and sound quality are fine. Sadly, due to the writers most of the jokes are not.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
If you're new to Cooper then buy one of the best of dvds. There are a few and they are all great. For me this was the first time to see Mr Cooper's full tv show and it was novel to see how they gave him a full show. It's a hillarious format. Each episode starts with a Pans People style dance group doing a routine. Then Tommy does some sketch or stand up. The show features awful singers and variety acts breaking up 3 or 4 TC routines. I did find myself fast forwarding through some of the acts especially the terrible singers but it's worth it for the Tommy stuff. He's as brilliant as ever.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
We were disappointed that at least a quarter of each half hour is taken up with a regular guest whom we didn't like - but Tommy's great of course!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2008
The most we seem to remember of Tommy Cooper are the bits that end up in those 'tribute to...' shows on the telly. Tommy Cooper deserves his place in those, he was after all one of Britain's best loved comedians and delivered some classic moments. Sadly this DVD is not Tommy Cooper at his best. To be honest it's all a bit embarrassing. It won't make the Classic Cooper collection but nonetheless makes an interesting archive piece that completes the picture of this much loved clown. In some ways I'm divided on whether this should have made it to DVD at all. Yes it makes the record of his TV appearances more complete, but one can't help thinking that it in some way tarnishes our memories of the real Cooper magic.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
would recommend this item very funny and classic, they don't do comedy like this anymore, and had forgotten how funny this man was.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
Great to see Tommy again - so amazing that he makes you laugh just by looking at him!! a great dvd to lighten your evening!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
Brought as present - my grandfather was really pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
This was a Christmas gift for my brother-in-law. He seemed very happy with it as he is a great Tommy Cooper fan.

The packaging was fine.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)