Shop now Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop Now Shop now
Watch now

Tom Waits -The Complete R... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
Colour:
  • Tom Waits -The Complete Review [DVD] [2012]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
      

Tom Waits -The Complete Review [DVD] [2012]

2 customer reviews

Price: £15.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
21 new from £10.54 3 used from £30.00

LOVEFiLM By Post

£15.99 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 1 left in stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

  • Save £20 on Amazon.co.uk with the aqua Classic card. Get an initial credit line of £250-£1,200 and build your credit rating. Representative 32.9% APR (variable). Subject to term and conditions. Learn more.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Tom Waits -The Complete Review [DVD] [2012]
  • +
  • Tom Waits - An Invitation To The Blues
  • +
  • Romeo Bleeding- Live from Austin [DVD] [2011]
Total price: £32.68
Buy the selected items together

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Product details

  • Format: Colour, DVD-Video, PAL
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 4:3
  • Number of discs: 2
  • Classification: Exempt
  • Studio: Pride
  • DVD Release Date: 6 Feb. 2012
  • Run Time: 178 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 2.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • ASIN: B0064NTZCQ
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 115,674 in DVD & Blu-ray (See Top 100 in DVD & Blu-ray)

Reviews

A review of the musician Tom Waits' career to date, including interviews with friends, colleagues and the artist himself. Tom Waits is one of the most acclaimed singer-songwriters in recent history. Over a career spanning 40 years, Waits has consistently produced challenging and well-received records. With the aid of archive footage and interviews, this documentary aims to bring the story of Waits to life, from his humble beginnings as an aspiring songwriter to the status he enjoys today.

Customer Reviews

2.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful By njbarmstrong on 13 July 2012
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
A good Friday night in for Waits fans. Suffers for the lack of him and his cooperation in the same way as does the Barney Hoskyns book (who is a major contributor here) and everything else. But there's the deal. Note that although said to be 2012 and it has Bad as Me on the sleeve it was finished in 2006 and in fact only goes up to 2004's Real Gone. Orphans was anticipated but had not yet happened.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Lars Strandberg on 5 May 2015
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
If this guy wants to talk about Tom Waits he could have done it on Youtube not on a double DVD that looks like it should
have some concert movies to show.
Don't buy it .
Lars
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 10 reviews
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Amazing 10 Jun. 2013
By sugar for shelly - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
I have listened to all but 3 of Tom's cds. I have read 2 biography's (unauthorized) and 'Waits on Waits' a book of his interviews and numerous magazine articles.
I wasn't sure what to expect of this offering. By now I think I know a little bit about the man in as much as any outsider can. I am very much in tune with his views on life, such as they are, and what is in print. I have only watched the first of this 2 dvd set.
I am pleased with the former musicians featured and their view points. Several others that have worked with Tom are also included. It is an overview of the man. What pieces are left out are compensated for with the use of black and white videos so you can see what Tom saw as an inspiration for his early work. The first dvd ends with Toms working on 'Heart attack & Vine'. In watching this I was moved to tears which did not happen when reading his material. Good clips of Tom at play and how each cd came about. Good commentary. Can't wait to see the other dvd. Highly recommended.
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Overanalysis kills 11 Mar. 2014
By J. E. Butler - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Just like in those classes you took on music and literature, or from talking to people who have to prove their own worth through the analysis of works of art that they could not dream of creating, this production does inform. I learned some things. But this production has no heart and no soul. British voices named Nigel from overstuffed armchairs. This is the CIA / MI5 analysis of Tom Waits. You might want to watch this. Me, I plan to follow it up with a healthy dose of whatever I can get my hands on from my brother Waits. Really, you who produced this need to abandon the sterile, clinical, heartless approach. Get a heart. Get a sense of humor. Get into the groove that Mr. Waits makes so attractive. Leave your Kant on the silver plate with the Butler. Listen to the barker and go into the tent to see Jojo the Dog Boy. Those who speak on this production enjoy Tom Waits in the same way that aficionados of sterilization praise Joseph Lister. Just listen to Tom Waits. It is enough. In this production, justice is not served. Just let Tom speak for himself. It is enough.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Music, Artist development 28 May 2013
By P. Robert Rader - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD Verified Purchase
Another critical review of Tom Waits' work. An addition to "Under the influence...", "Tom Waits Juke Box". All interesting if not artist authorized reviews.
Terrific Set 11 Mar. 2015
By Monty Smith - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD
A terrific double DVD set covering the (almost - finishes about 2008) full career of Tom Waits and includes superb and what i would imagine is very rare footage throughout
One to watch for sure...
Excellent 2 Disc Documentary Set 20 Mar. 2015
By Zoe W - Published on Amazon.com
Format: DVD
An excellent documentary set with 2 DVDs covering virtually the whole career of Tom Waits. Some superb footage is included and features great interviews.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions
   


Look for similar items by category


Feedback