Buy Used
£1.76
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by massivebooks
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: dust cover slightly creased UK standard delivery for all items (excluding Fulfilled by Amazon) is 3-12 working days. We now ship international. (Please be aware that all deliveries are made by third party carriers and dates shown are estimations based on their delivery schedules. By placing a bid or offer you automatically accept the terms of this delivery). Please note that we do not process orders on the weekend or on national holidays.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Together We Stand: America, Britain, and the Forging of an Alliance Hardcover – Feb 2006


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£43.03 £1.76


Product details

  • Hardcover: 650 pages
  • Publisher: Miramax Books (Feb. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1401352537
  • ISBN-13: 978-1401352530
  • Product Dimensions: 24.2 x 16.3 x 5.5 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 943,460 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

James Holland was born in Salisbury, Wiltshire, and studied history at Durham University. A member of the British Commission for Military History and the Guild of Battlefield Guides, he also regularly contributes reviews and articles in national newspapers and magazines and appears on national radio. His many books include Fortress Malta, Italy's Sorrow, The Battle of Britain and his fictional WW2 series featuring Sergeant Jack Tanner.

His interviews with veterans of the Second World War are available at the Imperial War Museum and are also archived on www.secondworldwarforum.com. He lives near Salisbury with his wife, son and daughter.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mr. G. Lonsdale on 15 Feb. 2011
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I bought "Together We Stand" for my father-in-law who was in the 8th army during the War. He raves about the book, which he says paints an accurate picture of what life in the desert was really like. Both he and I enjoy James Holland's writing style - informed, atmospheric, down to earth and very readable. We've since bought other books by the same author covering other episodes/aspects of the War all of which have been to the same high standard.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 3 reviews
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Outstanding. 19 Feb. 2006
By K. Anderson - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover
James Holland has come from nowhere to produce the best military history book for many years, maybe the best in the last decade. If you enjoy what I call "narrative" military history in the tradition of Cornelius Ryan, Max Hasting and the Rick Atkinson then Together We Stand is a must have book. It is better than the books by any of the three mentioned above and they set very high standards.

Together We Stand covers much of the same ground as the excellent An Army At Dawn by Rick Atkinson but starts far earlier in '42. Sixty percent of the book deals with the fighting in the summer and autumn of '42 before Torch and the North African landings.

The style is the traditional one of mixing high quality research, operational analysis and person accounts. Only James Holland does this better than even Rick Atkinson, and I am one of those who though the hype surrounding Rick Atkinson's An Army At Dawn was fully justified.

James Holland gives greater prominence to the air war than most books and describes that warfare more eloquently than others. But for those more interested in ground warfare, as I am, do not be alarmed as the ground war still gets the majority of the coverage and is covered in great detail.

It is a big book at over 700 pages of main text but never falters. An outstanding mixture of analysis, story telling and page turning thriller all in one. I hope there will be a long line of military histories to come from James Holland. In James Holland military history has a new star.
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Excellent Overview 3 Jun. 2006
By Joseph Rogash - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
James Holland's book, Together We Stand is a very enjoyable read. For those who have read little on the North African front, it is also greatly informative. For those who are more widely read on this topic, it is still very much worth exploring if for nothing else than Holland's writing style which I agree is as absorbing as Ambrose.

In addition Holland does an excellent job synthesizing critical ground, air and naval warfare aspects of the 1942-mid 1943 Mediterranean front in one volume, covering all levels of perspective. For example Holland presents the readers with the personalities, challenges and operational methodologies of such leaders as Churchill, Montgomery and Eisenhower while also describing in detail what fighting the war was like for a typical fighter pilot, tank commander, infantryman and even a submarine officer. He also provides more attention than most other works on the air warfare aspects of the 1942-43 North African/Mediterranean campaign. It is regrettable Holland's books have experienced far less commercial success or publicity, at least in the U.S. compared with similar authors such as Hastings, Ambrose, and Atkinson. His writing abilities are the equal to these gifted historians.

Of course, for some professional historians and certain more highly educated academics, Holland may be considered too much of a "pop historian" with little that is new to offer. But for amateur history enthusiasts such as myself, I highly recommend this book.
Great General History 23 Feb. 2015
By Turk - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
The best overall history of the war in North Africa that I have ever read and I am something of a nut on the subject.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback