Together We Stand: North Africa 1942-1943: Turning the Ti... and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more
  • RRP: £15.99
  • You Save: £1.81 (11%)
FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Together We Stand: North ... has been added to your Basket
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This book is in nice condition, clean with no missing pages and minimal markings. The pages may be slightly dog eared but overall in great shape. It is fulfilled by Amazon which means it is eligible for Amazon Prime and Super Saver Shipping.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Together We Stand: North Africa 1942-1943: Turning the Tide in the West (Mediterranean War 2) Paperback – 6 Feb 2006

9 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£14.18
£4.23 £0.01
£14.18 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 7 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Together We Stand: North Africa 1942-1943: Turning the Tide in the West (Mediterranean War 2) + Fortress Malta: An Island Under Siege 1940-1943 (CASSELL MILITARY PAPERBACKS)
Price For Both: £24.17

Buy the selected items together



Product details

  • Paperback: 880 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Entertainment; 1st Paperback Printing edition (6 Feb. 2006)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0007176465
  • ISBN-13: 978-0007176465
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 4.9 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (9 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 229,331 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

James Holland was born in Salisbury, Wiltshire, and studied history at Durham University. A member of the British Commission for Military History and the Guild of Battlefield Guides, he also regularly contributes reviews and articles in national newspapers and magazines and appears on national radio. His many books include Fortress Malta, Italy's Sorrow, The Battle of Britain and his fictional WW2 series featuring Sergeant Jack Tanner.

His interviews with veterans of the Second World War are available at the Imperial War Museum and are also archived on www.secondworldwarforum.com. He lives near Salisbury with his wife, son and daughter.

Product Description

Review

'Anyone who wants to know how it felt to fight in the desert war should read Holland's book. It represents a remarkable collation of personal experience and sensible historical judgments.'
Sunday Telegraph, Max Hastings

'Holland has produced a wonderful book whose pace…never seems to flag … he is a master at evoking time and place, with haunting descriptions of the desert landscape … If there is a better book on the North African campaign, I haven't read it.'
Daily Telegraph, Saul David

'Using personal testimony and private memoirs as effectively as official archives, he recreates the hardships and challenges faced by ordinary soldiers and reassesses the tactical and strategic innovations that finally gave the allies the upper hand.'
Sunday Times

'as Holland shows, this period saw the realisation of how the war might eventually be won'
BBC History Magazine

'stands out from the crowd’
Literary Review, Nigel Jones

'The book gives the individuals, be they commander-in-chiefs or infantry, space that attests to their bravery and sacrifices … a comprehensive appraisal of the war in North Africa.'
Good Book Guide

'Holland tells the story brilliantly. He has delved into archives for letters and diaries and diligently tracked down survivors … Vividly, intelligently, movingly, Holland's monumental chronicle tells it like it was.'
Patrick Bishop, Mail on Sunday

About the Author

James Holland was born in Salisbury, Wiltshire, and studied history at Durham University. He has worked for several London publishing houses and has written for a number of national newspapers and magazines. He is the author of Fortress Malta: An Island Under Siege, 1940-1943, and a novel, The Burning Blue. Married with a son, he lives near Salisbury.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful By John Richard VINE VOICE on 23 April 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Another epic piece of work from this prodigious young writer. I guess that most of us, of a certain at least, are aware of the outline of events that shaped WW2 around the world but have never taken the trouble to read any historical accounts, either by professional historians or by the generals who tend to publish their own accounts of how they won the war. Well this is something different, written like a novel, with personal accounts by both the generals and other participants, including the humble soldiers of all nations. Numerous reputations are made and damaged here, on the back of his obviously meticulous and copious research, we discover that both Patton and Monty were egotists of epic proportions and did not in fact cover themselves in the glory they claimed. The real genius behind the North Africa campaign we discover was in fact the quiet, unassuming General Alexander assisted in no small way by the chief of air war operations, 'Mary' Coningham, a gritty and talented New Zealander whose handling of aviation assets was vital to the eventual successful outcome. There is so much in this brilliant book that it is difficult to pick out any headline issues, perhaps the most illuminating is the unpreparedness of the allied forces, especially the US, who didn't even possess a modern army at the outset of this campaign, but who completed it with a professional, battle hardened force that has never been surpassed since. A truly remarkable exposure of little known, but important facts that have been obscured for many years by the unfortunate Hollywood version of events.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful By K. Anderson on 19 Feb. 2006
Format: Paperback
James Holland has come from nowhere to produce the best military history book for many years, maybe the best in the last decade. If you enjoy what call “narrative” military history in the tradition of Cornelius Ryan, Max Hasting and the Rick Atkinson then Together We Stand is a must have book. It is better than the books by any of the three mentioned above and they set very high standards.
Together We Stand covers much of the same ground as the excellent An Army At Dawn by Rick Atkinson but starts far earlier in ’42. Sixty percent of the book deals with the fighting in the summer and autumn of ’42 before Torch and the North African landings.
The style is the traditional one of mixing high quality research, operational analysis and person accounts. Only James Holland does this better than even Rick Atkinson, and I am one of those who thought the hype surrounding Rick Atkinson’s An Army At Dawn was fully justified.
James Holland gives greater prominence to the air war than most books and describes that warfare more eloquently than others. But for those more interested in ground warfare, as I am, do not be alarmed as the ground war still gets the majority of the coverage and is covered in great detail.
It is a big book at over 700 pages of main text but never falters. An outstanding mixture of analysis, story telling and page turning thriller all in one. I hope there will be a long line of military histories to come form James Holland. In James Holland military history has a new star.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Teach on 10 Feb. 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
A very comprehensive account, without any glamorization of Rommel. It was after all a harsh theatre of combat.
This covers all the events until the fall of Tunis, including American involvement at El Alamein.
A lot of personal accounts are included, some of which are very moving and drawn from the many different cultures which were the amalgam called the 8th Army.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Big Dave on 3 Jun. 2010
Format: Paperback
I have read many books on the second world war and this definately ranks as one of my favourites. The way Holland combines both the historical facts of the war with the personnal stories of the people fighting it, made this book extremely difficult to put down.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful By Kent Barker on 6 Nov. 2006
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I live in the next village to James Holland and though it would be fun to read a book by him. I went to the libary and was shown the book that was filling a huge slot on the shelf and though oh my god i will never read this. I eventually ran out of books and picked it up and that was it i have read it like a man possed even going to bed at 9pm much to my wifes mirth for a couple of housr of uninterrupted reading. It is a brillent balance of personal account and grand over view giving the book a lovley balance. I much love this book because it really does explain the confilict so much more clearly than many of his contempories eg Antony Beevor do and it is such a large and confusing battle.

Should be compulsery reading for all A leval history students.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback