Timberlake Wertenbaker Plays 2: "After Darwin", "Credible... and over 2 million other books are available for Amazon Kindle . Learn more

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Trade in Yours
For a £1.43 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

Start reading Timberlake Wertenbaker Plays 2 on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Timberlake Wertenbaker Plays 2: "After Darwin", "Credible Witness", "The Ash Girl", "Dianeira" v. 2 (Contemporary Classics) [Paperback]

Timberlake Wertenbaker

RRP: £16.99
Price: £12.89 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
You Save: £4.10 (24%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Want it Sunday, 21 Sep.? Choose Express delivery at checkout. Details


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition £12.25  
Paperback £12.89  
Trade In this Item for up to £1.43
Trade in Timberlake Wertenbaker Plays 2: "After Darwin", "Credible Witness", "The Ash Girl", "Dianeira" v. 2 (Contemporary Classics) for an Amazon Gift Card of up to £1.43, which you can then spend on millions of items across the site. Trade-in values may vary (terms apply). Learn more

Book Description

4 Mar 2002 Contemporary Classics
This second collection of Timberlake Wertenbaker's plays contains her work from 1995 to 2001. Diameira is published here for the first time. The collection also includes The Break of Day, After Darwin, Credible Witness and The Ash Girl, and is introduced by the author.

Frequently Bought Together

Timberlake Wertenbaker Plays 2: "After Darwin", "Credible Witness", "The Ash Girl", "Dianeira" v. 2 (Contemporary Classics) + Timberlake Wertenbaker Plays 1: "New Anatomies", "The Grace of Mary Traverse", "Our Country's Good", "The Love of a Nightingale", "Three Birds Alighting on a Field" (Contemporary Classics): 1
Price For Both: £26.48

Buy the selected items together

Product details

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, and more.

Product Description


'A testament to Wertenbaker's considerable talent and daring'. What's On After Darwin: 'The richest, most absorbing piece that the author has yet written'. The Times Credible Witness: 'The most moving, the most compassionate play'. Financial Times The Ash Girl: 'Lyrical and thought-provoking'. Independent on Sunday

About the Author

Timberlake Wertenbaker's plays include New Anatomies (ICA, London, 1982), Abel's Sister (Royal Court Theatre Upstairs, 1984), The Grace of Mary Traverse (Royal Court), which won the Plays and Players Most Promising Playwright Award in 1985, Our Country's Good (Royal Court and Broadway), winner of the Laurence Olivier Play of the Year Award in 1988 and the New York Drama Critics' Circle Award for Best New Foreign Play in 1991, The Love of the Nightingale (RSC's Other Place), which won the 1989 Eileen Anderson Central TV Drama Award, Three Birds Alighting on a Field (Royal Court), which won the Susan Smith Blackburn Award, Writers' Guild Award and London Critics' Circle Award in 1992, The Break of Day (Out of Joint production, Royal Court and tour, 1995), After Darwin (Hampstead Theatre, 1998), The Ash Girl (Birmingham Rep, 2000), Credible Witness (Royal Court, 2001), Galileo's Daughter (Theatre Royal, Bath, 2004), Arden City (NT Connections, 2008) and The Line (Arcola Theatre, 2009). She has written the screenplay of The Children, based on the novel by Edith Wharton, and a BBC2 film entitled Do Not Disturb. Translations and adaptations include Marivaux's La Dispute, Jean Anouilh's Leocadia, Maurice Maeterlinck's Pelleas and Melisande for BBC Radio, Ariane Mnouchkine's Mephisto, adapted for the RSC in 1986, Sophocles's The Theban Plays (RSC, 1991), Euripides' Hecuba (ACT, San Francisco, 1995; BBC Radio 3, 2001) and Hippolytus (Riverside Studios, 2009), Eduardo de Filippo's Filumena (Peter Hall Company at the Piccadilly Theatre, 1998), Pirandello's Come tu mi vuoi, Gabriela Preissova's Jenufa (Arcola Theatre, 2008) and Racine's Brittanicus (Wilton's Music Hall, 2011).

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
The Break of Day was first performed by the Out of Joint company at the Haymarket Theatre, Leicester, on 26 October 1995, and in London at the Royal Court Theatre on 22 November 1995 The cast in order of appearance was as follows: Nina Maria Friedman Read the first page
Explore More
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Customer Discussions

This product's forum
Discussion Replies Latest Post
No discussions yet

Ask questions, Share opinions, Gain insight
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions

Look for similar items by category