Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars36
4.7 out of 5 stars
Size: 1|Change
Price:£18.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Tilda rice has to be the best, easily available basmati rice on the market. It has the authenic fragrance of good restaurant rice and it stays firm, clean and loose, just like in the restaurants too.

My tip for cooking basmati is to undercook it by a few minutes. Take it off the heat, strain and rinse it with a kettle full of boiling water. Put it back into the pan for another five minutes where it will cook, off the heat, in its own steam, to perfection. If you don't mind the occasional heart-attack, add a couple of blobs of butter at the same time. Try not to stir the rice during cooking and always use the biggest pan you have, however little rice you're cooking. I think it needs room to move around.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
We have bought this product twice through Amazon, £9.50, in 2011, 12.50 in 2012, and now they want almost £20 for it, yet it is for sale in the shops here in Dublin,(Not a cheap place to buy your messages) for 15.75 euro. It really is getting more and more difficult to get inexpensive stuff on Amazon. Lovely Rice it must be said.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
I have tried other brands of Basmati rice but always come back to Tilda. Consistently the rice grains cook up separate and fluffy whereas some other brands tend to cook up a little sticky. This bag of rice has a Best Before Date of February 2014 (approx. 18 months). I tend to buy a couple of bags when the price is low as it can be pricier than other brands. It comes in a good strong bag with a zip type opening, meaning you can store the rice in the bag. The rice has a lovely flavour just cooked with a little salt.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Package arrived with slight spillage in the box due to small opening in bag but rice was undamaged and is perfectly delicious..buying a large bag is a tremendous saving and it keeps well.. thanks
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2011
I purchased this item when on discount at a very low price, great product, top quality cannot beat the brand or taste, would buy again. order fulfilled fast by Amazon.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
best rice I ever tried,... huge difference in plus to what I bought from supermarket before,..,.
I definitely recommend it :-)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
What a great price and such taste. Tilda has always been a favourite of mine and with a good wash in warm water a couple of times plus double the amount in water and a little salt, the results are predictable and great. Even better with a couple of cloves for curry or saffron for other dishes. A great deal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
This is a great rice but those who say it is too expensive can locate cheaper from a good independent store.
The rice is consistent and that is its strength- prices are going up in the market and Tilda are not able to control this- external factor is the over rider.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
As a diabetic I try to limit the amount of rice I eat due to it's effect on my blood sugar levels. However this rice seems to have a low GI which doesn't spike my BS as much as rice usually does , along with being great tasting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
Excellent value, and a very good rice. Basmati seems to have been getting more and more expensive so I tried economising by buying a supermarket own brand and it was absolutely disgusting and impossible to cook well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)