Tigran Mansurian: Quasi p... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Tigran Mansurian: Quasi parlando

4 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £13.14 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
36 new from £8.40 1 used from £12.66
£13.14 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • Tigran Mansurian: Quasi parlando
  • +
  • Meredith Monk: Piano Songs
Total price: £28.13
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Performer: Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Anja Lechner
  • Orchestra: Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  • Conductor: Candida Thompson
  • Composer: Tigran Mansurian
  • Audio CD (31 Mar. 2014)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: ECM New Series
  • ASIN: B00I87XB9O
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 130,565 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Double Concerto for violin, violoncello and string orchestra (1978), I. Largo concentrando - Patricia Kopatchinskaja/Anja Lechner/Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  2. II. Largo sostenuto - Patricia Kopatchinskaja/Anja Lechner/Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  3. Romance for violin and string orchestra (2011)
  4. Quasi parlando for violoncello and string orchestra (2012) - Anja Lechner/Amsterdam Sinfonietta
  5. Concerto No 2 'Four Serious Songs' for violin and string orchestra (2006), I. Andante con moto
  6. II. Andante mosso, agitato
  7. III. Allegro vivace
  8. IV. Con moto, molto semplice

Product Description

Product Description

Quasi Parlando is an important addition to ECM's documentation of the work of Tigran Mansurian, an often breathtaking account of highly original contemporary chamber orchestra music. Issued in the wake of his 75th birthday, the album presents four works for soloists and strings, and marks the ECM debut of the Moldovan violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, winner of the 2013 Gramophone Awards 'Record of the Year'.

It opens with the Armenian composer's fiercely-concentrated Double Concerto for Violin, Cello and String Orchestra, and proceeds to new music performed by its dedicatees: the lyrical Romance, dedicated to Patricia Kopatchinskaja, and the intensely expressive Quasi Parlando, dedicated to German cellist Anja Lechner. Both are world premiere recordings, as is the Violin Concerto No 2, subtitled Four Serious Songs, which concludes the programme. Throughout, the soloists deliver committed performances, as does the Amsterdam Sinfonietta under the direction of Candida Thompson.

In terms of textural density, Mansurian's music has seen some changes in the thirty years that separate the composing of the Double Concerto and the Four Serious Songs, but his aesthetic stance has been consistent, both works sharing an immediacy of expression and rigorous creative will. At the same time, the composer encourages a degree of creative freedom from his music's interpreters: "What is important is what the music needs, not what I need", he said in a talk at the Muziekgebouw Amsterdam, immediately before the recording of these pieces in October 2012.

Tigran Mansurian's music was first heard on ECM with the recording Hayren (released in 2003), where his pieces were brought together with music of his great formative influence, the ethnologist, composer and priest, Komitas. Subsequent Mansurian recordings include Monodia, the String Quartets, and the choral album Ars Poetica.

Personnel: Patricia Kopatchinskaja (violin), Anja Lechner (cello), Amsterdam Sinfonietta, Candida Thompson (leader, conductor)

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
As a couple of earlier ECM discs dedicated to his music attest, Tigran Mansurian really appreciates the colours and opportunities offered up by various string instruments and so it is on this release, featuring the Amsterdam Sinfonietta string ensemble interacting with Anja Lechner’s cello and Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s violin. All take part in the first and oldest (1978) piece, a Double Concerto which comes across as one of those pained, rather somber sounding Soviet-era pieces seeking a way out of some perceived darkness, but in fact the other much more recent pieces sound like that as well, so it’s just Mansurian’s style. He writes these slowish and occasionally abstract sounding pieces that last around 10 to 20 minutes, have the odd ‘sense of wonder’ moment and end quietly.
The Double Concerto has two Largo movements, the first building up to a climax of sorts (the only quicker music on this disc, next to the short Allegro movement in the Violin Concerto); the second featuring a slowly evolving dialogue between violin and cello, in harmony with each other. The next two pieces, respectively for violin and cello next to the ensemble and written within a year of each other, are pretty similar. Both have these seemingly never repeated searching string lines and at times try to convey a sense of mystery. The final composition (his second Violin Concerto) to me is the strongest piece musically, it has some genuinely memorable ideas and that bit more structure to it.
The booklet makes much of the composer’s Armenian background and discovery of its folk music, but any trace of that is well hidden away. This is pure music that is evidently deeply felt and thought out but which can stand on its own legs.
Comment 2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x8bdf9ea0) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8bdfd150) out of 5 stars Give it a try, slowly. 27 Sept. 2015
By O. Torres - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Any work of art should be appreciated individually, so I wouldn't recommend putting the disc on and commencing doing chores. If heard separately, or with some intentionality when combining with other works, these works shine. The Violin Concerto No.2, is a serious and elegant work with excellent playing by all involved. If you have a hard time getting into it, I suggest flipping the first and second movements. It makes for an easier way into the work, and a more satisfying whole. That's the power of hearing it at home I guess. Take your time absorbing these works. The music isn't going anywhere.
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
By Del - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Not as good as I was hoping for but getting betteras I listen more
0 of 17 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x8c94881c) out of 5 stars Four Stars 15 Nov. 2014
By GERHARD R ECKARDT - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?