Trade in your item
Get a £3.27
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Through the Woods Hardcover – 3 Jul 2014


See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£33.60


Product details

  • Hardcover: 208 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber (3 July 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0571288642
  • ISBN-13: 978-0571288649
  • Product Dimensions: 18.6 x 2.1 x 23.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (15 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 192,234 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Beautiful, beguiling and thrillingly eerie. (MICHEL FABER)

Stunning, magical. Hauntingly gothic, it made me feel like a child again, reading Grimm fairy tales. (JANE HARRIS)

Mesmerizes and inspires; a Victorian gothic playground haunted by Mary Shelley & Edward Gorey, awash in the dream-like haze of Odilon Redon, and composed with the poetic elegance of Ukiyo-e. I loved it. (CRAIG THOMPSON)

'A wonderful new collection by the Canadian comic artist and writer Emily Carroll. As Craig Thompson (Blankets, Habibi) has already pointed out, Carroll's talent is immense: the mood of these stories is Brothers Grimm by way of Patricia Highsmith or Stephen King, while her drawings, so fluidly lavish and atmospheric, seem to channel Edward Gorey.' (Rachel Cooke Observer, Graphic Novel of the Month)

'A graphic debut that blends the gothic strangeness of Tim Burton with the macabre illustrations of Edward Gorey to create a wonderfully chilling collection of tales ... Eschewing neat endings, Carroll leaves lingering questions: how much is real and how much is imagination? ... Her eerie tales will haunt you.' (Financial Times)

'The gothic tradition is alive, or perhaps splendidly undead, in Emily Carroll's chilling period folktales Through the Woods. Particularly effective is how Carroll insinuates her handwritten narration within her elegant page designs ... Carroll knows when to shock on the turn of a page and when to leave her horrors lurking.' (Paul Gravett Independent)

'Properly terrifying ... revenge and comeuppance are at the centre of these stories, as ghosts, monsters and demons seek to manipulate ordinary people, folk who have allowed themselves to get involved in unspeakable evil, and to hell with the consequences. Carroll delivers all of this with an understated melancholy and a creeping dread, the narrative bursting into flashes of bloody terror at just the right moment, and she shows the perfect pacing and narrative skill of an accomplished storyteller.' (Doug Johnstone, Big Issue)

Carroll has a mainline to the reader's psychic pressure points, the kind of fears and phobias that go all the way back to the cave. She also has the confidence to let her images do the work when it best serves the story ... [She] might have made her name online, but Through the Woods is a powerful argument for the physical book as fetish object. It's a beautiful artefact, confidently written and lavishly designed. Just don't bring it to bed. (Peter Murphy Irish Times)

Outstanding ... Carroll uses a combination of the rhythmic language of fairy tale and a clear and cartoony art style to make the book's moments of horror genuinely unnerving. (QUADRAPHEME)

'Like all the best Grimm fairy tales, Carroll conjures visions of monsters and terrors that lurk in the darkness and haunt our dreams, bringing them to life with her sinister yet stunning illustrations ... Through The Woods looks and feels like a modern day collector's item. It's a book that should be looked after and treasured, to be brought out on cold winter nights and read by the fire with a mug of steaming hot chocolate. It's a beautifully crafted and poetic book that shows off Carroll's skill as both an artist and a storyteller.' (Culture Fly)

Atmospheric illustrations, saturated in grey, black and slashes of red, provide a spooky backdrop to these five psychologically complex gothic stories ... Carroll eschews easy endings for something darker and deliciously unresolved. (METRO)

Book Description

A fantastically dark and timeless graphic debut, for fans of Grimm Tales, The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy and the works of Neil Gaiman

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Brida TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on 31 Dec. 2014
Format: Hardcover
I bought this book as soon as it came out but it was only last night that I got around to reading it. For a dark, chilly night, it was the perfect companion.
THROUGH THE WOODS contains five tales. To all of them there is a quality which suggests fairy tales; dark fairy tales. All of the tales are told through illustrations as well as words. Very often, the pictures are seemingly simplistic but do not be taken in by this supposed simplicity. They add another layer to the tales, often saying more than a whole paragraph can. And, what tales they are! Despite their short length, the impact that they have is far greater than you may imagine. Perhaps because of the tales being so heavily illustrated, I found that this was a completely different reading experience to reading a novel or a tale with a few illustrations. The tales stay with you after you close the book - and, although I often enjoy reading scary novels before bed, I can honestly say that I had the worst sleep of my life after reading these! If nothing else, I think that is testament to just how well they are produced.

I loved these tales. If you enjoy haunting, dark stories which will give you real tingles up your spine, then I would urge you to take a step into the woods with Emily Carroll, and see what she has to tell you.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By nats on 23 Aug. 2014
Format: Hardcover
brilliant! the images are so expressive that, even without any words, you can almost feel the intensity of the moment. It actually made gasp, and hold my breath at times.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Miss E R Burdfield-Steel on 19 Aug. 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Beautifully drawn and very chilling. The stories stay with you, especially after you turn the lights out.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Casa Cassandra on 21 Jan. 2015
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Hmmmm, please buy this! If you love darker fairy tales, then this is for you! (One of the stories in it really messed me up). If not for the stories, then get it for the art!! Beautiful!
One issue I had is that a lot of stories end in hella questions, but I guess the mystery is supposed to be part of its spookiness. I personally prefer neat endings, but I would still buy this every time if given the choice.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Jared on 12 July 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Beautifully illustrated book of short, quirky stories. You'll come out of it not knowing quite what just happened.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Came very quickly and well packaged. Will definatly purchase from company; page 45 again. The book itself is beautiful. It's a very quick read. The imagery in the book is lovely with the colour schemes really matching the feel of the story. Very pleased and well worth the money.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on 23 July 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Gorgeous and creepy. Love the one about the brother in the hole.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Countess Bathory on 2 Feb. 2015
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Beautiful book. This was a haunting and wonderfully illustrated read.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


Feedback